We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocker - steer clear of it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment. The bedrooms were the size of dogs box, you couldn't move. One bathroom which had the washing machine wedged against the shower which meant you couldn't open the shower door fully. The kitchen floor was sticky and and generally the apartment was dirty. The staff were unhelpful and were not very knowledgeable about things to do in Auckland. one of the worst places Ive stayed. Steer clear if you're discerning about value for money and why you choose an apartment instead of the usual hotel room style accommodation

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Rachael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I am disappointed that we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay with us. I have passed on your feedback from your stay with us in November to staff & I would welcome the opportunity to create a better experience.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,409)
There are newer reviews for Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

799 - 805 of 1,409 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014

We booked a one bedroom apartment which was very roomy, was great as we were here for four days. Clean, well appointed and had enough kitchen facilities. Great location, five minute walk to Britomart and Viaduct Harbour. Front desk staff very helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bernice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves on our friendly staff and their service with a smile, as well as the amenities & proximity to so many attractions our hotel has to offer. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed in a two bedroonm apartment with our 2 children. Spacious bedrooms, great linen, good bathroom (especially the power shower). Perfect set-up for a city break with kids. Although we did have our car with us ($18 a day for parking) there is really no need to have your own transport and the location is perfect - 5 minutes walk to Britomart where you can catch a bus or train anywhere you need. Facilities are great, service left a little to be desired, but I can live with that for location and price - we paid $160 per night.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joey1671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you enjoyed our large and clean rooms. We hope to see you again soon. I have passed on your feedback to staff as it helps to make us better. We now have the opportunity to implement changes and I hope to welcome you back in the future to experience this for yourself.

Yours in Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stayed in a two bedroom apartment in Dec 13. Centrally located, the apartment is well equipped with basic amenities. The views were okay and the car park was only a few minutes away. Added attraction was a nice Indian restaurant in the complex!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank mukurp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your comments on our value & proximity to different areas. We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment on the 10th floor. We loved the fact that this apartment had balconies and fresh air unlike many city hotels where you breath in air conditioned air. The bedrooms were spacious with the kitchen/dining/television area being more compact. The apartment and complex's facilities were excellent - everything you could need was here, well stocked kitchen, dishwasher, guest laundry (our room had a washing machine), gym/pool access etc. The apartment was in a central location close to Queen Street and the port shopping precincts. Our only complaint with this accommodation was that the building ventilation system made a humming noise at times during the night. This didn't effect my sleep but did bother other members of my family who are lighter sleepers. I'm not sure where the ventilation system motor is located and this may not be an issue for other apartments.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Rosemaryg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind words. It is great to hear your positive feedback about our value, location and amenities.We really appreciate that you took time to give us valuable
feedback. I apologize for the 'Fresh Air Ventilation System' issues that you had. We are currently having them serviced which will make a substantial difference.We look forward to having another opportunity to have you as our guest the next time your are in Auckland.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed here twice - 26/12/13 and 5/1/14 at the start and end of a family holiday to NZ. First room 907 was at the back of the building with no view. We found it noisy with the balcony door open, although perhaps this was due to Boxing Day family catch ups? Second room 1603 was at the top of the building with a great view over the harbour and cbd. We found 1603 more spacious. The rooms had everything we needed for a one night stay, however, are not luxurious. Location is central and we used the carparking next to Countdown (Woolworth's for Aussies) which was handy.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachaburi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Our goal is to always improve on meeting guests expectations. We do pride ourselves on undergoing constant change to improve the guest experience and I hope to welcome you back in the future to experience this for yourself.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

My 3 night stay was a very pleasant and good value experience. The 16th floor apartment provided fairly good city & harbour views. It was spacious offering a main bedroom and separate study. The living/kitchen area was more compact but well designed and comfortable. The main bedroom bed is large and very comfortable. Wi-Fi is available for a reasonable fee.

The apartment hotel's location is good, with a few minutes walk to Queen Street (the main CBD shopping street), and only a couple of minutes walk to a supermarket, Quay Street and the Britomart complex offering many cafes and restaurants. There is a public bus stop just across the road.

A couple of suggestions for hotel management: a luggage rack stand for the main bedroom would be welcome as would shampoo & conditioner supplies in the bathroom. And watch out for the metal edge of the tiled bathroom floor where it meets the hallway carpet. It's overly elevated and rather painful on bare feet.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FarmrsMarktsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate both the great comments, and the 'no so great'
comments that our valued guests provide to us. It is based on this feedback, that we are able to deal with issues & implement changes.
We look forward to having you back to our hotel in the near future, where you will be able to utilise Clothes Airers for guests washing & complimentary shampoos & conditioners. It is another investment in our property, to enhance our guest experience!

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#19 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,658 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
712 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,860 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#11 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,127 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 66 in Auckland Central
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel

Address: 19 - 23 Anzac Avenue | Auckland Cbd, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 130 Specialty Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: $102 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Celestion offers affordable luxury in an ideal inner city location. The industrial chic design of the lobby welcomes you into this stylish apartment hotel with modern furnished apartments offering 4.5-Star self contained accommodation in the heart of Auckland City. Self cater in your spacious apartment, with a large 24hr Supermarket located across the road from Waldorf Celestion, or visit Little India restaurant on our ground floor for delicious traditional North Indian cuisine. Auckland's newest entertainment precinct Britomart is just across the road from Waldorf Celestion and is home to boutique and international fashion stores, and some of the best restaurants and bars the city has to offer. Vector Arena Auckland's 12,000 seat venue is a short stroll from Waldorf Celestion, as are the recently developed Waterfront areas, Queen Street and Auckland's Transport Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing