We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price, top location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We stayed in a two bedroonm apartment with our 2 children. Spacious bedrooms, great linen, good bathroom (especially the power shower). Perfect set-up for a city break with kids. Although we did have our car with us ($18 a day for parking) there is really no need to have your own transport and the location is perfect - 5 minutes walk to Britomart where you can catch a bus or train anywhere you need. Facilities are great, service left a little to be desired, but I can live with that for location and price - we paid $160 per night.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joey1671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you enjoyed our large and clean rooms. We hope to see you again soon. I have passed on your feedback to staff as it helps to make us better. We now have the opportunity to implement changes and I hope to welcome you back in the future to experience this for yourself.

Yours in Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

807 - 813 of 1,415 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stayed in a two bedroom apartment in Dec 13. Centrally located, the apartment is well equipped with basic amenities. The views were okay and the car park was only a few minutes away. Added attraction was a nice Indian restaurant in the complex!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank mukurp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your comments on our value & proximity to different areas. We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment on the 10th floor. We loved the fact that this apartment had balconies and fresh air unlike many city hotels where you breath in air conditioned air. The bedrooms were spacious with the kitchen/dining/television area being more compact. The apartment and complex's facilities were excellent - everything you could need was here, well stocked kitchen, dishwasher, guest laundry (our room had a washing machine), gym/pool access etc. The apartment was in a central location close to Queen Street and the port shopping precincts. Our only complaint with this accommodation was that the building ventilation system made a humming noise at times during the night. This didn't effect my sleep but did bother other members of my family who are lighter sleepers. I'm not sure where the ventilation system motor is located and this may not be an issue for other apartments.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Rosemaryg10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind words. It is great to hear your positive feedback about our value, location and amenities.We really appreciate that you took time to give us valuable
feedback. I apologize for the 'Fresh Air Ventilation System' issues that you had. We are currently having them serviced which will make a substantial difference.We look forward to having another opportunity to have you as our guest the next time your are in Auckland.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed here twice - 26/12/13 and 5/1/14 at the start and end of a family holiday to NZ. First room 907 was at the back of the building with no view. We found it noisy with the balcony door open, although perhaps this was due to Boxing Day family catch ups? Second room 1603 was at the top of the building with a great view over the harbour and cbd. We found 1603 more spacious. The rooms had everything we needed for a one night stay, however, are not luxurious. Location is central and we used the carparking next to Countdown (Woolworth's for Aussies) which was handy.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachaburi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Our goal is to always improve on meeting guests expectations. We do pride ourselves on undergoing constant change to improve the guest experience and I hope to welcome you back in the future to experience this for yourself.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

My 3 night stay was a very pleasant and good value experience. The 16th floor apartment provided fairly good city & harbour views. It was spacious offering a main bedroom and separate study. The living/kitchen area was more compact but well designed and comfortable. The main bedroom bed is large and very comfortable. Wi-Fi is available for a reasonable fee.

The apartment hotel's location is good, with a few minutes walk to Queen Street (the main CBD shopping street), and only a couple of minutes walk to a supermarket, Quay Street and the Britomart complex offering many cafes and restaurants. There is a public bus stop just across the road.

A couple of suggestions for hotel management: a luggage rack stand for the main bedroom would be welcome as would shampoo & conditioner supplies in the bathroom. And watch out for the metal edge of the tiled bathroom floor where it meets the hallway carpet. It's overly elevated and rather painful on bare feet.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FarmrsMarktsFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate both the great comments, and the 'no so great'
comments that our valued guests provide to us. It is based on this feedback, that we are able to deal with issues & implement changes.
We look forward to having you back to our hotel in the near future, where you will be able to utilise Clothes Airers for guests washing & complimentary shampoos & conditioners. It is another investment in our property, to enhance our guest experience!

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed at the Waldorf Celestion twice at the start and finish of our family holiday in NZ. Here are a few points to help families:
- there are washing machines in some, but not all two bedroom apartments, apartment1006 had a washing machine, but not room 5006. None of the apartments has a dryer or a clothes line, so it is difficult to dry washed clothing.
- the single toilet is in the single bathroom, so there can be a queue for the shower and toilet in the mornings for a family of 4 adults like ours
- the rooms are not serviced for stays of 3 days or less as these are apartments, not serviced apartments. Only one towel per person per stay is provided so you need to hang the towels over the balcony chairs to get them dry each day.
- supplies in the apartments are limited e.g. We were given 1 roll of toilet paper for 4 adults for a 2 day stay. But another roll was promptly provided when we asked.
- no soap or shampoo is provided, only a body wash dispenser in the shower and beside the hand basin. On our first visit, the dispenser in the shower was empty but replenished when we asked.
- the location of the apartments is very close to Britomart, shopping and the ferry terminal, and about a 15 minute uphill walk to the Sky Tower, so very convenient as a base for sightseeing. Lots of restaurants close by ranging from budget to upscale. Lots of convenience stores also close by and a large New World supermarket only 3 blocks away.
- we discovered by accident the great farmers market which takes place every Saturday morning 2 blocks away between the Britomart and Westpac building - great food and produce at very cheap prices but only operates until 12 noon.
- front desk staff very helpful and courteous.
- if you have your own car, be aware that the parking provided offsite about 3 blocks away in the Britomart car park is expensive at $18.50 per day and charged extra. You cannot park in the street outside the apartments to check in or out as it faces a busy clear way. There is a very narrow side driveway that fits only 1 car, and if this is already occupied there is nowhere else to park to unload or load luggage and people.
- would rate the apartments 3 star rather than 4 star.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate the time it takes to write a review. The feedback you have provided has been very instrumental in implementing changes at Celestion.

We look forward to having you back to our hotel in the near future, where you will experience complimentary shampoos & conditioners & Clothes Airers for guests to dry washing.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Nice and good value modern apartment stay during our 2 days in Auckland. The unit is spacious with excellent kitchen facilities and have 2 separate bedrooms. Living and dining area is spacious and clean. Perfect for a family. Close to the waterfront area, britomart and amenities. Only minor issue is that carparking is across the road at the britomart centre, but parking is secured. Great location

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Afoo306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,


Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you enjoyed our large and clean rooms. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#20 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,664 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 65 in Auckland Central
749 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#11 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,164 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 65 in Auckland Central
698 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel

Address: 19 - 23 Anzac Avenue | Auckland Cbd, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 132 Specialty Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: $115 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Celestion offers affordable luxury in an ideal inner city location. The industrial chic design of the lobby welcomes you into this stylish apartment hotel with modern furnished apartments offering 4.5-Star self contained accommodation in the heart of Auckland City. Self cater in your spacious apartment, with a large 24hr Supermarket located across the road from Waldorf Celestion, or visit Little India restaurant on our ground floor for delicious traditional North Indian cuisine. Auckland's newest entertainment precinct Britomart is just across the road from Waldorf Celestion and is home to boutique and international fashion stores, and some of the best restaurants and bars the city has to offer. Vector Arena Auckland's 12,000 seat venue is a short stroll from Waldorf Celestion, as are the recently developed Waterfront areas, Queen Street and Auckland's Transport Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing