We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel and good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel
Umina Beach, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“nice hotel and good location”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed 3 nights mid October and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel which is in a very good location to access the various attractions in the Auckland CBD. Our apartment was very clean and comfortable and easily enough space for us with the kitchenette very well presented. We utilized the kitchenette for breakfast every morning and also lunch and dinner. It was nice to enjoy the comforts of home eating particularly breakfast.
Our bed was extremely comfortable and we enjoyed a very good night's sleep.We were on the 16th floor at the back of building and although no great views from the balcony as such, it was definitely quiet and relaxing for us.The hotel reception staff were all friendly and always assisted us with any queries and in fact gave us some great advice on a couple of instances which made out daily travels much more enjoyable and stress free.
The hotel is within very easy flat walking distance to the Viaduct Harbor and its many cafes and restaurants. It is also similar distance to Queen Street and surrounds with the various retail outlets and the many lovely cafes and eateries that are on offer around the CBD including Vulcan Lane. We enjoyed a lovely across-harbor ferry trip to Devonport which I would recommend and also enjoyed a ferry trip and walk at Mount Rangitoto. From the hotel it is also comfortable walking to the Auckland Tower and Mt Albert Gardens.
If you catch the airport shuttle into the CBD stay until the last stop which is at the Old Ferry Building and it is then a comfortable walk to the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tigers2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. We take the comments of our guests
very seriously, as our goal is to always improve on meeting and exceeding expectations. We
are very proud of our staff at Celestion, as they are building a reputation of excellence through their hard work and dedication to guest satisfaction,in a continuing effort to attract and maintain customers like yourself.
Yours in hospitality,

Kirsty Denyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    600
    183
    84
    28
See reviews for
465
498
52
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mittagong, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We spent 4 nights in the Waldorf Celestion in September 2013. I agree with other comments regarding the rather dark areas of the reception area however the staff were very welcoming and helpful in every way.

Our apartment was on a higher floor and was clean and comfortable with a separate Bedroom, kitchen / lounge area, an office that we used to stow our luggage and 2 Balconies.

The kitchen was well equipped to service 2 people and the furnishings comfortable. The room had a good internet connection. There were convenience stores, liquor stores and a supermarket and many inexpensive cafes/restaurants in easy walking distance as was the harbour and the centre of the city.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelerTrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Our hotel is definitely a unique look! I can only agree with you that our proximity to 24 hr supermarket, shops cafes & bars is very hard to beat! I have passed on your comments to the reception team & look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back!

Kind regards


Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We are retired USA and stayed two nights in nov. The room was large and clean and had two bedrooms.the staff was friendly and helpful.Very good location.The grey color scheme could use some cheering up along with some wall decorations.I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words. It is great to hear your positive feedback about our value, location and staff. We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards


Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We have stayed in the hotel in late October 2013 for 4 nights and wish to express our thank to management for the great time we had as well as the help provided by the front desk in a time we were quite stressed as a result of difficult family situation. The location was very central and suitable for our family visit and the apartment was very spacious , clean and modern with great kitchen facility and veranda for my bad smoking habit. The daily charge was very good considering the quality of the accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gailmasour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves on our friendly staff and their service with a smile, as well as the amenities our hotel has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Yours in hospitality

Kirsty Denyer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed as two families. The reception is narrow and rather characterless. While the reception hostess was pleasant, we struggled to grasp her English. The area that follows the reception on the way to the lifts is dark and rather seedy in feeling. A disused bar with dark leather chairs. Definitely needs brightening up to feel welcoming.
The two bedroom room was neutrally decorated. Again, a bit soulless. A decorator's touch would enhance. The kitchen was serviceable with fridge-freezer, and a good supply of cooking equipment. Bathroom was clean and modern. Beds were comfortable.
However, modern travellers expect FREE wifi and the little extras that more modest accommodation provides in our country: e.g. Plunger and proper coffee, a selection of teas, bars of soap and mini shampoo and conditioner. And there were no facecloths! Only the minimum of towels was provided and these had to last or we could pay for more so the information told us. No way! The couple in the main bedroom said the hotel ventilation was noisy and kept them awake. Good thing we had a limited stay. Would we return? Most probably not.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate both the great comments, and the 'no so great'
comments that our valued guests provide to us. It is based on this feedback, that we are able to deal with issues & implement change. We are very happy to provide any amenities needed by a guest which includes, soap, shampoo, conditioner, coffee plunger which are all a phone call to reception takes to deliver these items as well as extra towels. The hotel has an industrial look that is unique & grows on a lot of people.
We hope to see you again soon to try a different experience in our other tower.

Kind regards

Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Hard to find.
On one of the websites it states that there is car parking available right behind the hotel. When we got there we were told that the car park was full and that we had to park around the corner near the supermarket. When I mentioned this was not what was advertised, the guy behind the desk was rude and said that I should have called to book a space.
Staff are unfriendly and unhelpful. English is definitely a second language for all staff we dealt with.
The only coffee was the cheap stuff in packets. Shower pressure was poor. Towels were small and 'hard'. The main bedroom is so small that you have to walk through the lounge to get the the other side of the bed.
The only good thing was that the beds very comfortable.
Never again!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlio8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am so sorry that we did not meet your expectations and I apologise for any negative experience you had with parking offsite. We only have 10 carspaces on site & unfortunately they must be booked in advance as the demand is very high especially when we have events on.We pride ourselves in great customer service and our Front Office Manager will share your feedback with the team as this is not the level of customer service we strive to deliver.

Kind regards


Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This hotel is near the Viaduct. It has nice family rooms with living, kitchenette, 2 bedrooms and bathroom. Able to cook breakfast without a problem and there is a Countdown around the corner within walking distance. The hotel staff was very accommodating. The pool was across the street in a gym complex and the kids enjoyed it. Little India in the lobby of the hotel is excellent!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your comments on our proximity to different areas. We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards


Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland
1,247 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
678 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel

Property: Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel
Address: 19 - 23 Anzac Avenue | Auckland Cbd, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 120 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Celestion offers affordable luxury in an ideal inner city location. The industrial chic design of the lobby welcomes you into this stylish apartment hotel with modern furnished apartments offering 4.5-Star self contained accommodation in the heart of Auckland City. Self cater in your spacious apartment, with a large 24hr Supermarket located across the road from Waldorf Celestion, or visit Little India restaurant on our ground floor for delicious traditional North Indian cuisine. Auckland's newest entertainment precinct Britomart is just across the road from Waldorf Celestion and is home to boutique and international fashion stores, and some of the best restaurants and bars the city has to offer. Vector Arena Auckland's 12,000 seat venue is a short stroll from Waldorf Celestion, as are the recently developed Waterfront areas, Queen Street and Auckland's Transport Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing