We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as advertised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We were looking forward to the bright room with view as advertised on the website but unfortunately looked straight into the bedroom across the alley and needed lights on during the day. The room was comfortable but wish we had been warned that the carpark was quite a trek before having to haul all our bags back to the hotel after parking. A lot of noise from another carpark right outside bedroom window. Good location though to the CBD and Viaduct.

Room Tip: Ask where the room is situated first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lani H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate both the great comments and the 'no so great comments that our guests provide to us. We are limited for carparks onsite which always have to be booked.Our staff are there 24 hrs a day to provide our guests with options if they are not happy with an apartment & I do appreciate your comments on our proximity to different areas. We do hope to see you again.

Best regards


Kirsty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,414)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

860 - 866 of 1,415 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

we came to New Zealand for a visit. The 2 bedroom room was perfect for our short stay--the room was clean, we had a good view of the City Skyline ., facilities were very good and there was a complimentary parking as well.Excellent value we got via the intenet Everything was convenient. Staff were helpful and friendly. Good location to move around the city. Bus stops were close by. Would consider staying there again in the future!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggielam00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words. It is great to hear your positive feedback about our value, location and staff. We hope to see you again soon!

Yours in Hospitality

Kirsty Denyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

I stayed there for 5 nights and loved it since day one. Despite the hallways being slightly 'dark and creepy/ gray walls with dim lighting' the location, service, friendly staff and room were excellent! As a self-contained unit, I loved the the fact the couch was just was comfy as the bed lol. I kid you not, after working 10hrs a day and coming back to the apartment, passing out on the couch was just as comfy as sleeping on the bed - you really feel at home. In terms of noise from traffic, just close the sliding door and you're sweet. You

All in all, it was a great place to stay on such a short visit and definitely would come back on more business trips as it's walking distance to Countdown, restaurants and central city!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miss_Simata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear valued guest,

I would like to personally thank you for taking time out to write such a review on your experience at Celestion Hotel Apartments. Our hotel is committed to the satisfaction of our guests & we strive to provide a "home away from home" experience for all of our guests, no matter if they are staying for a night, a week, or a month. It sounds like we were able to do just that for you, and we truly value the opinions of our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards

Kirsty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We only had one night in Auckland and stayed at the Celestion. Close to take away spots, a "countdown" for groceries and shopping. Clean facilities and friendly and efficient staff at reception. Was hoping there would be a washing machine in the room, unfortunately not, and only the one bathroom also slightly disappointing. Apart from that was happy with the level of service and facilities.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
Thank 5holdens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. We take the comments of our guests
very seriously, as our goal is to always improve on meeting and exceeding expectations. We do have apartments that have washing machines in them & there are suites with two toilets. I am pleased that you were happy with the service & facilities as we undergo constant change to improve the guest experience and hope to welcome you back in the future to experience this.

Yours in hospitality


Kirsty Denyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The entire experience was misleading - were lead to believe the rooms all had views (ours was of our neighbour's room), "immediate" return of the bond (it actually takes 10 days), and car parking facilities (not actually attached to the building we were in - were a few hundred metres down the road)

I also have had the unfortunate experience of dealing with the manager, who was very rude on the phone when I inquired about the returning of the "bond" - very condescending.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cassierowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

I'm sorry that you didn't receive the service that you expected. When I spoke with you the first time, I did indeed confirm that the $50 pre auth had been released from Celestion.
It is possible that you felt I was rude when I tried to explain the release of a pre auth from one bank to another & that indeed on the odd occasion they can take up to 10 days. I apologize for that.
We appreciate all opportunities to better our property!

Best regards


Kirsty Denyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

So this "hotel" bills itself as such through common booking aggregators like Whotif.com and others, however - the service not to that standard and here is why:

1) Room advertised as a "queen bed" and two singles - double bed sized mattress however used. Fine for some but combination of pretty cheap mattresses and double bed wasn't that great .

2) Provided a wheel chair accessible room , without being advised at check in , have to sit down to shower, water gets all over bahroom floor etc.

3) Rooms apparently only serviced every 3rd day (again not advised during check in) - however we were left a note on day 1 that our room could not be serviced because there were pajamas on the pillow - go figure )

Tip: Ask for a high floor cause lower levels have lots of street noise, level 2 - your opening the curtains and saying high to nearby neighbors and pedestrians.

So while the location is good , central etc . Really a place you need to read the fine print and communication on caveats and service leaves a lot to be desired. With room servicing every 3rd day , means for a weekend stay your making your own bed etc. Yes first world problem , but if your billing yourself as a "Hotel" expect that level of service to be delivered .

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate both the great comments, and the 'no so great'
comments that our valued guests provide to us. I am disappointed that we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay with us. Reception operates 24hrs a day so if a guest wants a different apartment we are always happy to provide options if we are made aware at the time that the room does not meet expectations. The CBD is indeed a busy place & our advantage is that we have two towers that allow people to have a quieter stay.
We do hope that you return to The Celestion Hotel Apartments to experience us in a more positive light.
Best regards

Kirsty Denyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Having stayed at the Waldorf Stadium Apartment Hotel I thought this would be the "little brother". How wrong I was. It stands level with Waldorf Stadium Apartment Hotel in every regard, except the price, which is cheaper here at the Celestion. Location-wise, a bit closer to the city but not too much difference. The 2 bedroom apartment I stayed in was clean and modern. Staff was excellent, and assisted me when I had some trouble with the wi-fi. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves on our friendly staff and their service with a smile, as well as the amenities our hotel has to offer. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Kind regards


Kirsty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#20 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,664 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 65 in Auckland Central
748 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#11 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,160 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 65 in Auckland Central
696 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 65 in Auckland Central
2,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel

Address: 19 - 23 Anzac Avenue | Auckland Cbd, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 132 Specialty Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: $115 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Celestion offers affordable luxury in an ideal inner city location. The industrial chic design of the lobby welcomes you into this stylish apartment hotel with modern furnished apartments offering 4.5-Star self contained accommodation in the heart of Auckland City. Self cater in your spacious apartment, with a large 24hr Supermarket located across the road from Waldorf Celestion, or visit Little India restaurant on our ground floor for delicious traditional North Indian cuisine. Auckland's newest entertainment precinct Britomart is just across the road from Waldorf Celestion and is home to boutique and international fashion stores, and some of the best restaurants and bars the city has to offer. Vector Arena Auckland's 12,000 seat venue is a short stroll from Waldorf Celestion, as are the recently developed Waterfront areas, Queen Street and Auckland's Transport Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing