We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wouldn't bother”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The entire experience was misleading - were lead to believe the rooms all had views (ours was of our neighbour's room), "immediate" return of the bond (it actually takes 10 days), and car parking facilities (not actually attached to the building we were in - were a few hundred metres down the road)

I also have had the unfortunate experience of dealing with the manager, who was very rude on the phone when I inquired about the returning of the "bond" - very condescending.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cassierowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

I'm sorry that you didn't receive the service that you expected. When I spoke with you the first time, I did indeed confirm that the $50 pre auth had been released from Celestion.
It is possible that you felt I was rude when I tried to explain the release of a pre auth from one bank to another & that indeed on the odd occasion they can take up to 10 days. I apologize for that.
We appreciate all opportunities to better our property!

Best regards


Kirsty Denyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

881 - 887 of 1,432 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

So this "hotel" bills itself as such through common booking aggregators like Whotif.com and others, however - the service not to that standard and here is why:

1) Room advertised as a "queen bed" and two singles - double bed sized mattress however used. Fine for some but combination of pretty cheap mattresses and double bed wasn't that great .

2) Provided a wheel chair accessible room , without being advised at check in , have to sit down to shower, water gets all over bahroom floor etc.

3) Rooms apparently only serviced every 3rd day (again not advised during check in) - however we were left a note on day 1 that our room could not be serviced because there were pajamas on the pillow - go figure )

Tip: Ask for a high floor cause lower levels have lots of street noise, level 2 - your opening the curtains and saying high to nearby neighbors and pedestrians.

So while the location is good , central etc . Really a place you need to read the fine print and communication on caveats and service leaves a lot to be desired. With room servicing every 3rd day , means for a weekend stay your making your own bed etc. Yes first world problem , but if your billing yourself as a "Hotel" expect that level of service to be delivered .

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate both the great comments, and the 'no so great'
comments that our valued guests provide to us. I am disappointed that we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay with us. Reception operates 24hrs a day so if a guest wants a different apartment we are always happy to provide options if we are made aware at the time that the room does not meet expectations. The CBD is indeed a busy place & our advantage is that we have two towers that allow people to have a quieter stay.
We do hope that you return to The Celestion Hotel Apartments to experience us in a more positive light.
Best regards

Kirsty Denyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Having stayed at the Waldorf Stadium Apartment Hotel I thought this would be the "little brother". How wrong I was. It stands level with Waldorf Stadium Apartment Hotel in every regard, except the price, which is cheaper here at the Celestion. Location-wise, a bit closer to the city but not too much difference. The 2 bedroom apartment I stayed in was clean and modern. Staff was excellent, and assisted me when I had some trouble with the wi-fi. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves on our friendly staff and their service with a smile, as well as the amenities our hotel has to offer. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Kind regards


Kirsty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The apartment was really better than we had expected. nice spacious 2 bedroom clean and modern apartment hotel in a great city location.You can enjoy nice coffee and light breakfast in the morning in the Waldorf lounge in Waldorf Stadium have a walk to the water front of Auckland or rhe city in 5 or 6 mins in the afternoon. Enjoyed the big .TV screen, and air conditioning room in the evening. U can get stuff from the large super market near by in just 3 min walk and cook it in the apartment. Very good value and quality for Auckland accommodation What a find in a lovely city such as Auckland

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank odedbavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Guest,


Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your comments on our proximity to different areas. We hope to see you again soon.

Yours in hospitality

Kirsty Denyer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed two nights at the Celestion in September and was pleasantly surprised! After spending a few weeks researching accommodation options in Auckland, I settled on the Celestion, based on unbeatable price and location.

I got the Airbus from the airport,and even though it was about a ten minute hike from the stop, the hotel itself is a short walk to a Countdown (supermarket), Queen Street shops and the harbour. I was fortunate to have been upgraded to a two bedroom apartment which would have easily been big enough for four people. There was no view from the fourth floor but the rooms were clean and well appointed.

As a few reviewers have already mentioned, the reception area is a bit dingy but staff were friendly and helpful.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank Lola_Brooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words. It is great to hear your positive feedback about our value, location and staff. We hope to see you again soon!

Best regards


Kirsty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Had one night at the Celestion Waldorf this july whilst in Auckland on business. Beautiful 1 bedroom+ study , incredibly comfortable bed, spacious room and very attentive staff. being first time in <Auckland i did not know what tto exopect from this hotel. An easy walk into the CBD through the harbour yet a quiet location withselection of restaurants around. The hotel was busy and vibrant the service was ok and well priced. The restaurant does excellent indian veg food and a great place for a dinner or lunch .Definitely I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank goulf6767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your recent review, and your kind words. We take the comments of our guests
very seriously, as our goal is to always improve on meeting and exceeding expectations. Our location is hard to beat & we are proud of our staff at Celestion who are building a reputation of excellence through their hard work and dedication to guest satisfaction in a continuing effort to attract and maintain great customers like yourself.
Yours in hospitality,

Kirsty

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in early September , shuttle bus dropped us straight to the door. Reception staff very friendly , reception area a little dull looking though...
Booked a Wotif mystery deal for studio apartment and to our delight we had been upgraded to 2 bedroom apartment ! Everything we needed ...wonderful, lounge kitchen and bedroom. All well appointed . The only thing I would say apartment needs is a clock and Venetian blinds are in desperate need of a dust . Reception staff even gave us an umbrella as it was raining on our first day , whilst we went for casual walk to see city sights .
Fantastic location , 10-15 minutes walk from harbour precinct and cruises, shopping centres and supermarket . City link bus only $1.90 ! On the day we had to pick up our rental car it was a quick 19 minute walk to get it , I highly recommend this hotel in downtown Auckland .

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Juliej61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#20 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,692 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,293 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
995 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 66 in Auckland Central
724 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel

Address: 19 - 23 Anzac Avenue | Auckland Cbd, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 131 Specialty Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: $107 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Celestion offers affordable luxury in an ideal inner city location. The industrial chic design of the lobby welcomes you into this stylish apartment hotel with modern furnished apartments offering 4.5-Star self contained accommodation in the heart of Auckland City. Self cater in your spacious apartment, with a large 24hr Supermarket located across the road from Waldorf Celestion, or visit Little India restaurant on our ground floor for delicious traditional North Indian cuisine. Auckland's newest entertainment precinct Britomart is just across the road from Waldorf Celestion and is home to boutique and international fashion stores, and some of the best restaurants and bars the city has to offer. Vector Arena Auckland's 12,000 seat venue is a short stroll from Waldorf Celestion, as are the recently developed Waterfront areas, Queen Street and Auckland's Transport Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing