We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well located, nice and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed at the Celestion for 4 days on our trip to Auckland. We arrived at the hotel at 6am, and of course we expected that our room wasn´t to be ready at that time. Surprisingly, the room was ready, and they even upgrated us to a bigger room! We were only two and we got 2 bedrooms, living room, dining room, kitchen and a big bathroom. It is very nice that they give you salt, pepper, sugar, coffee, tea, and even dishwasher soap. The bathroom is very equipped as well.
We also asked for a parking space and there was no problem (for a surcharge). If they don´t have a space, they would give you a ticket to park in a nearby parking lot, just half block away.
Location is perfect, you can walk around the whole city. There is an indian restaurant almost inside the hotel. Don´t let this fool you because you might think it´s a little awkward.
The hotel is trendy, very modern although a little bit dark. Always clean and no noises.
We had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leoandmaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Celestion's location to the CBD and other attractions is one of its biggest Draw cards. You are only minutes away from it all. I am pleased that the staffs were able to accommodate you on your early arrival. We do try to accommodate where possible. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,409)
There are newer reviews for Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,065 - 1,071 of 1,409 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2012

Clean apartments, reasonably priced, a short walk from anything in the city centre. It's not luxurious, but you won't regret staying here.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank snarfley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Appreciate you Comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

The entrance to the building is a bit understated, and at first glance the foyer and corridors look a bit uncared for. However, on closer inspection you realise it is actually a design feature with holes in walls to reveal bits of construction!
We had a 2 bed apartment which was great. Big beds, lovely bathroom, and a kitchen/living area with all mod cons. There was a small balcony, but not much to look at! The apartment was very quiet, and there is a great Indian restaurant on the ground floor.
The area immediately outside the building is not the best, but it's only 5 minutes walk from the waterfront, and airport drop off stop.
The staff were professional and helpful, and overall this was an excellent apart/hotel which I would happily recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank old-age-bikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. Our building is unique and the industrial finish does get a lot of people talking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights with my husband on a 3 week trip around NZ.
We were very impressed with the Waldorf hotel.
It is in an excellent location 5 minutes walk from the wharf and the city centre.

On arrival we had flown through the night and arrived at 8am. Expecting jsut to drop our bags off we were very happy with the fact we were upgraded and given a room right away!

The room is decent size and clean and comfotable.

We were impressed and would definately stay again. In AUS there is no way you could get such a great hotel at $100NZ a night!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachfoster1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

I am delighted to read that our team was able to accommodate you on your early checkin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

This is a great place to stay if you are going to an event at Vector arena, as it is only about a 5 minute walk away. We stayed for three nights in a one bedroom apartment, it was warm, clean, and there was hardley any street noise. The king size bed was really comfortable and our room was serviced daily. We really enjoyed our stay, it was so close to everything.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChristchurchFlower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Celestions Location to Vector makes it a great hotel to stay in one, two or more nights. The rooms do make you feel comfortable and we thank you for sharing your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed for our first two nights in New Zealand from the UK and again for our last night before flying on to Brisbane. We expected an hotel room and we found we had a suite with two bedrooms, living room, bathroom and a well equipped kitchen. A family of four could quite happily have self catered in comfort.

The decor in the rooms is pleasing and well maintained. The decor in the public areas is in a shabby chic "Blade Runner" style and takes a bit of getting used to :-)

Our only minor grouse was that the small single elevator struggled to cope with the traffic at times.

The centre of Auckland is five minutes walk away and we had no problem travelling to and from the airport using the shuttle bus or reaching the hotel from the railway station and the ferry terminal.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick_Roche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

The rooms at Celestion are spacious and very comfortable. We appreciate your comments and thank you for acknowledging the close proximity we have to the CBD.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

After a 27 hour flight from London this apartment was a welcoming place to get our heads together before really starting our trip. It is easily found from where the airport bus drop off, it is very central to get around to see the sights of Auckland and is very spacious and comfortable.
There is a super market just around the corner where you can stock up for your stay (they have some good NZ Vino in stock). There is also a very good Indian Restaurant on site where if you are a guest to receive a discount on your bill.
In all a very comfortable stay and if I were to go back to Auckland in the near future would defiantly return to these apartments.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StubStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Countdown is the 24hr supermarket mentioned and this provides great opportunities for our guests who stay for a few nights or a starting their NZ travels. We also minutes from Britomart and the CBD. Celestion's location and convenience to many attractions is one of its strongest attributes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#19 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,658 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#5 of 67 in Auckland Central
710 reviews
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#3 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,858 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#12 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,126 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 67 in Auckland Central
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel

Address: 19 - 23 Anzac Avenue | Auckland Cbd, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 129 Specialty Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: $101 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Celestion offers affordable luxury in an ideal inner city location. The industrial chic design of the lobby welcomes you into this stylish apartment hotel with modern furnished apartments offering 4.5-Star self contained accommodation in the heart of Auckland City. Self cater in your spacious apartment, with a large 24hr Supermarket located across the road from Waldorf Celestion, or visit Little India restaurant on our ground floor for delicious traditional North Indian cuisine. Auckland's newest entertainment precinct Britomart is just across the road from Waldorf Celestion and is home to boutique and international fashion stores, and some of the best restaurants and bars the city has to offer. Vector Arena Auckland's 12,000 seat venue is a short stroll from Waldorf Celestion, as are the recently developed Waterfront areas, Queen Street and Auckland's Transport Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing