We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice place and great location”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

I spent two nights here recently. There is very little in the way of public areas in the hotel but the rooms were very nice and great value for money in a great location in downtown Auckland - you are only 5-10 mins walk from the main (Britomart) transport hub and the main shopping and eating areas.
The apartment I got had 2 bedrooms, bathroom and a living area with fridge cooker and small kitchen - it was very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyW1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    601
    183
    85
    28
See reviews for
467
498
52
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Great hotel close to train station,ferry terminal and downtown Auckland. Spotlessly clean!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GayeleneNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We booked the Celestion via the Air NZ website and got a 'cheapie' deal for four of us- $195 for one night for a 2-bed apartment. Having never heard of the Celestion and not having used the Air NZ site for accommodation, I was a bit sceptical.
We were very impressed and I would highly recommend the Celestion. It is well proportioned, plenty of space, well-equipped and clean kitchen and appliances, great balcony with plenty of room. We were on the 15th floor and had a peak of Rangitoto and the harbour. We experienced the usual city traffic and pedestrian noises when were on the balcony, but no noise inside. Beds were comfy, blackout curtains very effective.
We were going to an event at Vector Arena. We could see it from the balcony. It took about 10 minutes to saunter over, but you could run there in about 3 minutes if you had to, it was that close.

We were so impressed with the Celestion that my husband swapped the accommodation he had booked at another hotel for a conference three weeks' later to the Celestion.

There was nothing to complain about at all during our stay, but there are three things I would warn prospective customers about:
1: Checking in; DON'T GO TO EMILY PLACE! We were given instructions to Emily Place and found a locked gate and a notice with lots of phone numbers which we had to phone. All we had to do was walk down the steps next to the locked gate onto Anzac Place and we would have been right at reception, but there is no sign telling you this. (There may be advice to this effect on the Celestion website, but as we didn't book through it, we didn't know.)
2: The front bedroom (Queen bed) got really hot, really quickly in the morning. The blackout curtains are great, but the heat woke us early. (Damn that Auckland sun!) Our friends said their room (the internal King bed) next door was also really hot. There is a heat pump in the apartment and DVS (internal air-circulation/ ventilation system), so we'd advise leaving the heat pump on air con/ cool overnight to circulate the cooler air and keep the bedrooms cooler.
3: Only one bathroom/ toilet and no bath. It didn't effect us, but it's always good to know these things.

Room Tip: Request a higher level/ floor to get a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sumden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf_APTS_NZ, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Thank you Sumden, for your review of our Property. We were thrilled to see your stay was an enjoyable one. It must be a coincidence but we have placed signs on our EMILY Gates advising the location of Reception on Anzac Ave. It is hard for us when other websites do get the address of the property wrong.

We have informed the Website you booked through to avoid this happening to any other guest. Looking forward to see you stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Comfortable facility within a ~10 min walk of the main areas of the city. The unit layout is very bizarre, our unit had what is essentially a 2nd bedroom without a bed. The room is relatively useless though as it has only a couch and small desk. Sort of a waste of space for what could be a very nice two bedroom unit. Kitchen with dishwasher is great. The internet was provided in the room free and was relatively fast, whereas most other hotels we’ve stayed in in New Zealand charge for internet and have slower connections than this.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf_APTS_NZ, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Ed T, thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. It sounds like you were in one of our one bedroom executive rooms. These rooms are popular with travellers who like a room seperate to work from and have luggage away from the rest of their apartment. Thank you again for your exact description of our apartment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at Waldorf Celestion - got a great deal by booking in advance. Checking in was slightly slow as there was only 1 staff member on the desk and they were tied up with a phone call, but otherwise the process was smooth and friendly.

The room was nice and clean - air conditioned and really quiet. The bed was comfortable and made for relaxing sleep. The only thing we didn't really enjoy was the shower - the water pressure was a little low and the shower head spray was a little narrow so you had to stand really close to it. Other than that, everything was fantastic.

Location was great - really close to Britomart, which was convenient for buses and trains to the Super Rugby, and quite a few good places to eat nearby.

Would definitely return - in fact, have booked again for May. Highly recommend this place!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joannelin137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

We got a great deal on the price so I wasn't sure what to expect. The room was spectacular! Had 2 bedrooms (one king, one queen), separate living room, well equipped kitchen, and a nice bathroom. It's a little farther from some of the main attractions in Auckland but it's an easy walk (might have been a different story if it had rained). The room had a balcony with a table so you could enjoy breakfast or a late night drink while overlooking the city. The staff was very accommodating. Tip - if you are planning to take a taxi back to the airport, the staff can arrange one for you at a very reduced rate but only if you have cash. Bring cash - it's worth it for the savings!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolinagirl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff was very helpful with all our questions regarding where to eat, what to see, etc. Good location, close to everything. Grocery store is only a 2 minute walk.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,257 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,077 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 67 in Auckland
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel

Property: Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel
Address: 19 - 23 Anzac Avenue | Auckland Cbd, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Celestion offers affordable luxury in an ideal inner city location. The industrial chic design of the lobby welcomes you into this stylish apartment hotel with modern furnished apartments offering 4.5-Star self contained accommodation in the heart of Auckland City. Self cater in your spacious apartment, with a large 24hr Supermarket located across the road from Waldorf Celestion, or visit Little India restaurant on our ground floor for delicious traditional North Indian cuisine. Auckland's newest entertainment precinct Britomart is just across the road from Waldorf Celestion and is home to boutique and international fashion stores, and some of the best restaurants and bars the city has to offer. Vector Arena Auckland's 12,000 seat venue is a short stroll from Waldorf Celestion, as are the recently developed Waterfront areas, Queen Street and Auckland's Transport Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing