We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal for us” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Ideal for us”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2011

We had a 2BR apartment for 3 nights to begin our New Zealand trip. I really don't think we could have made a better choice. The room had every convenience including a kitchenette with modern appliances. However, there is no wireless internet--a problem if you are using an iPad for your access. There is a computer in the lobby for your use (for a fee). The location was especially convenient and we did not need a car until we left Auckland. The ferry terminal, restaurants, grocery store, and bus stop were a short walk away. A very, very good value.

P.S. We thought the Indian restaurant in the lobby was great--very good food and service. The delicious smell did permeate the lobby, but not the rooms.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank traveldiveski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    500
    584
    175
    76
    26
See reviews for
451
478
51
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2011

I stayed at the Celestion Waldorf Apartments for 5 days during a recent visit to Auckland. I found the location to be very good as it's within walking distance of the central city. The parking situation, however, is very poor. When I arrived by car there was no place to park in front of the hotel other than a very narrow lane down the side which can only accommodate one parked car. I was forced to circle the block until the parking space in the lane became available so I could check in.

My booking at Celestion included free parking, however, the check-in staff were unaware of this and tried to charge me extra. In the end, I was assigned a parking space behind the hotel. It was great to have a parking space right at the hotel (others were assigned parking 5 minutes walk away) but several times during my stay I had to wait before I could park as the small lane used to access the car park was blocked by another car.

Once checked in I found there is only one small elevator in the building, which is also used by the housekeeping staff. I often had to wait up to 5 minutes before the elevator became available.

I found my room to be clean and of a comfortable size (2-bedroom with small living area and kitchen). However, in the main bedroom there was an audible humming sound coming from the ventilation/plumbing system in the ceiling.

Finally, on checking out the reception staff again tried to charge me for parking. They would also not immediately refund the $100 deposit I had made via preauthorization on my credit card, stating that housekeeping were unavailable to inspect the room until later that day. This surprised me as other hotels I have stayed at do this on the spot.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul110969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2011
We sincerely regret the inconvenience caused. Your pre-authorisation was released later in the day and with your feedback we will review our policies on such matters.

Our downtown location does present its own unique parking constraints which we try and manage as best we can. However in this case we have failed to meet expectations and for that I am truly sorry. Thank you for your feedback and we hope that you can give us another opportunity to redeem ourselves.

Regards

Andrew Buenter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2011

Spent a week in an extremely comfortable apartment unit, facing quiet Emily Street. Ideally positioned for financial district, with Shortland Street within a 100m walk. The accommodation is superb, providing far more comfort and space than a 5 star hotel, at far less cost. It's great value. Also located 5 minutes from Britomart Transport Centre (rail & buses) and numerous good pubs and restaurants. I didn't use the kitchen once, as Ima in Fort Street is 200-300m away, and probably the best reasonably priced restaurant I've eaten at in Auckland. Unfortunately, it's only open Tuesday- Friday. Will be staying here for all my regular trips to Auckland.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jeff031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf_APTS_NZ, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Jeff thanks for your comments they do mean a lot to my team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2011

I generally research my trips in a lot of detail before I choose locations in which to stay, and we were certainly not disappointed in any way by the Celestion Waldorf.
I booked directly with the hotel by email for a week in March, and got a better offer than some of the usual global booking sites. We were 'upgraded' to a 2 bedroom suite rather than the requested 1 bed unit, maybe the luck of the draw when we arrived but very useful nevertheless as we were staying in NZ for 3 weeks and the extra room allowed us to store our clothes and stuff better over 2 wardrobes and bedrooms.
The location suited us perfectly, easy walking access to city centre within 5 or 10 minutes. Public transport passed by within a few metres. A very good supermarket only a few minutes away too.
The room was very clean and everything still seemed quite new, with all the facilities mentioned here and elsewhere. Everything functioned well, but the TV had limited stations for a devoted channel flicker like M. In room internet was relatively inexpensive by European and British hotel standards if you choose the option wisely, but any charge for this essential service is one of my pet hates. In fact FOC internet is now a deciding factor for me in choosing locations, at least when I am paying the bill.
We found the staff very helpful and welcoming. If you have a car, as we did for a couple of days, I'd recommend that you give the front desk plenty of notice to get one of the few on site parking spaces (daily charge). Otherwise you have to park off site in one of two parking lots about 5 minutes walk away.
We would definitely stay at the Waldorf Celestion again.
We loved Auckland, walked everywhere and used public transport too across the bay and beyond for the first couple of days before renting a car and daytripping to Coromandel and the Northland regions.

We know what we like and need, YMMV.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pardo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2011

We stayed for two nights in a very comfortable, large suite with a separate bedroom, kitchenette, study, TV sofa, and balcony. The room was very comfortable, clean and great value for money. The immediate city area is dull but it's just 10 minutes walk from the Quay Street quays for plenty of choices for waterfront cafes and restaurants. Even my fussy wife said she'd be happy to stay there again! :)
Highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tobyis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2011

I satyed in a 1 bedroom+study apartment in Waldorf Celestion for 3 nights.It was in a great location and we had a great s[acious accommodation,modern,clean and well serviced.Very secured complex in a great central Auckland City location.Highly recomended by me!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guyrogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2011

Stayed here for week.Got a 2 bedroomed apartment on the 9th floor.Staff were helpful and polite.The location for exploring downtown Auckland and the harbour area couldnt be faulted.For cheap but excellent food try the food hall at the back of the bus terminal-choice of various stalls-main courses round about $12 nz..If you are feeling like a blowout try the angus steakhouse,choose your own cut of beef,choose your sides add a bit of salad-the meat is grilled before your eyes then delivered sizzling hot to your table.We ate there 3 times in the week and the place was packed.
As regards the lobby of the waldorf,yes there is a smell of indian cooking but once in the lift the smell was gone,i wouldnt have thought to be honest that it would be offensive to anyone-in fact if i hadnt have seen the couple of reviews complaining about it i wouldnt have mentioned it.
If you stay there and are looking for a nice coffee and breakfast exit right out of the hotel and about 200 meters up the road on the right opposite the customs building is a lovely cafe serving really good food and the like with some very comfortable sofas and chairs so you can relax.
Would i recommend the waldorf-yes i would-remarkably inexpensive for its location and a great base for exploring Auckland.Only downside would be some nights there can be a bit of noise in the streets below from backpackers making their way back to their hostels but you get that in any city centre worldwide nowadays so its no great issue.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ausspom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,135 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.6 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel

Property: Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel
Address: 19 - 23 Anzac Avenue | Auckland Cbd, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 107 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Celestion offers affordable luxury in an ideal inner city location. The industrial chic design of the lobby welcomes you into this stylish apartment hotel with modern furnished apartments offering 4.5-Star self contained accommodation in the heart of Auckland City. Self cater in your spacious apartment, with a large 24hr Supermarket located across the road from Waldorf Celestion, or visit Little India restaurant on our ground floor for delicious traditional North Indian cuisine. Auckland's newest entertainment precinct Britomart is just across the road from Waldorf Celestion and is home to boutique and international fashion stores, and some of the best restaurants and bars the city has to offer. Vector Arena Auckland's 12,000 seat venue is a short stroll from Waldorf Celestion, as are the recently developed Waterfront areas, Queen Street and Auckland's Transport Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing