We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, inexpensive, clean, convenient!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel
Reviewed March 27, 2011

We stayed at Waldorf Celestion on March 13 after a long flight from the U.S. We got there around 11 a.m. and our room was not ready. As it was hot and humid I was warm and humid too and the staff showed me to the lobby restroom and even offered the option of a shower as one of the rooms hadt a shower! Amazing. Did this set the tone of our visit? You bet, especially having read a few reviews with the only criticism being the staff was somewhat indifferent After checking in so that all we had to do upon our return was to pick up the key, we left our bags and toured the lovely nearby waterfront area (about 5 min. walk) and took a harbor cruise. When we got back we found that not only did we have a nice room with kitchen but that we had been upgraded to a two-bedroom. While we didn't need the extra room the gesture was appreciated. We slept in the very comfortable bed with no street noise (we had a room that looked out on another building but a view was not necessary to a good night's sleep) and recovered from our major jet-lag. We booked through Expedia.com and got a great rate. In the morning, we inquired about a place to get breakfast (being 6:30 a.m.. as we needed to get to the airport for an early flight to the South Island) and were informed that there really weren't any but were given directions to the local supermarket. As we just about turned the corner onto Customs Street (#54) we encountered a gentleman putting the sign out for the General Store Food Market which was a coffee place with a section of gourmet foods. They really didn't open until 7 but they welcomed us in and served us amazing coffee and my husband had a good muesli breakfast and I a great cooked breakfast. Highly recommended! I definitely recommend the Waldorf Celestion as a place to stay while in Auckland.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NotatHome014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,274 - 1,280 of 1,432 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2011

Lovely hotel in a great location, close to everything and very modern. Beautifully appointed rooms, great furnishings and was upgraded on arrival to a 2 bedroom apartment.

Staff were friendly and willing to assist, yet to be brutally honest the whole experience was ruined by the foul smell of indian food from the restaurant in the lobby. If I wanted to see an indian restaurant as the hotel restaurant, I would be IN INDIA. It went through the hotel, up in the elevators and you couldn't sit in the gorgeous bar downstairs with regal chairs and atmosphere, as there was that smell!

If they had a perfumed lobby scent they could try and get the smell out. But sorry, that ruined the deal for me.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Miapeders83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 3, 2011

Thank you for the feedback. We have made some very positive strides towards eliminating your concerns and we encourage you to return and enjoy our facilities once again. If you wish to book with us again in the future please do not hesitate to book on our website or call us direct and ask to speak with myself.

Regards

Andrew Buenter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2011

Stayed here for a few days and it was a great place to explore Auckland from. We had a one bedroom apartment which was great with heaps of room and were able to eat in comfortably..
Only down side was the whole entrance seemed a little dodgy and the restaurant at the bottom was always very pungent. The staff were also a little bit...meh..

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leahcar17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

Stayed for a few days at the end of our NZ trip. What a great place, fantastic location and a great price. Really spacious accommodation witha balonies. Great location, being near to everything. The restaurent in the building serves delious food too. Definitely recommend. A small point worth mentioning we had hired a car for the month we were in NZ from Apex and their office is literally around the corner, very convienent as we didn't want our car once we were in Auckland so it was really easy to drop it off.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Fazgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2011

I was delighted when we checked in here, the service at reception, the room and general ambiance of these apartments far exceed my expectations. We had a two bed/ one bathroom apartment. The rooms were clean, large enough and very modern. The location is good, walking distance to a supermarket and the city. There is a guest laundry, a great Indian restaurant downstairs and the hotel can arrange parking at around $30 a night. One word of warning though, our car was broken into in the carpark the hotel organised, the Wilson carpark on Anzac. It is better for the hotel to book you into the carpark in Vector Arena, two minutes further to walk but safer for your car.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Emmaloocoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2011

After a long flight, this is the perfect place to stay. Quiet, restaurants nearby, kitchenette---all good things.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Beasley123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2011

Beautiful, modern rooms. Nicely equipped kitchen and good bathroom. Very comfortable bed, good TV. We had booked a one-bedroom, but were put into a two-bedroom, so lots of room. Bit of a walk to downtown, but interesting. We walked with luggage and golf clubs to the train station: no problem. Countdown supermarket within easy walk. This was our first hotel in New Zealand and it was perfect for getting over the jet lag.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 154914AlbertaBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#20 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,690 reviews
1.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 66 in Auckland Central
723 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,291 reviews
0.7 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
994 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel

Address: 19 - 23 Anzac Avenue | Auckland Cbd, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 131 Specialty Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: $107 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Celestion offers affordable luxury in an ideal inner city location. The industrial chic design of the lobby welcomes you into this stylish apartment hotel with modern furnished apartments offering 4.5-Star self contained accommodation in the heart of Auckland City. Self cater in your spacious apartment, with a large 24hr Supermarket located across the road from Waldorf Celestion, or visit Little India restaurant on our ground floor for delicious traditional North Indian cuisine. Auckland's newest entertainment precinct Britomart is just across the road from Waldorf Celestion and is home to boutique and international fashion stores, and some of the best restaurants and bars the city has to offer. Vector Arena Auckland's 12,000 seat venue is a short stroll from Waldorf Celestion, as are the recently developed Waterfront areas, Queen Street and Auckland's Transport Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing