We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - if you like Indian”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great hotel - if you like Indian”
Reviewed March 26, 2011

Lovely hotel in a great location, close to everything and very modern. Beautifully appointed rooms, great furnishings and was upgraded on arrival to a 2 bedroom apartment.

Staff were friendly and willing to assist, yet to be brutally honest the whole experience was ruined by the foul smell of indian food from the restaurant in the lobby. If I wanted to see an indian restaurant as the hotel restaurant, I would be IN INDIA. It went through the hotel, up in the elevators and you couldn't sit in the gorgeous bar downstairs with regal chairs and atmosphere, as there was that smell!

If they had a perfumed lobby scent they could try and get the smell out. But sorry, that ruined the deal for me.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Miapeders83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2011
Thank you for the feedback. We have made some very positive strides towards eliminating your concerns and we encourage you to return and enjoy our facilities once again. If you wish to book with us again in the future please do not hesitate to book on our website or call us direct and ask to speak with myself.

Regards

Andrew Buenter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    594
    177
    82
    27
See reviews for
460
488
52
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2011

Stayed here for a few days and it was a great place to explore Auckland from. We had a one bedroom apartment which was great with heaps of room and were able to eat in comfortably..
Only down side was the whole entrance seemed a little dodgy and the restaurant at the bottom was always very pungent. The staff were also a little bit...meh..

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leahcar17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire Uk
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2011

Stayed for a few days at the end of our NZ trip. What a great place, fantastic location and a great price. Really spacious accommodation witha balonies. Great location, being near to everything. The restaurent in the building serves delious food too. Definitely recommend. A small point worth mentioning we had hired a car for the month we were in NZ from Apex and their office is literally around the corner, very convienent as we didn't want our car once we were in Auckland so it was really easy to drop it off.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fazgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2011

I was delighted when we checked in here, the service at reception, the room and general ambiance of these apartments far exceed my expectations. We had a two bed/ one bathroom apartment. The rooms were clean, large enough and very modern. The location is good, walking distance to a supermarket and the city. There is a guest laundry, a great Indian restaurant downstairs and the hotel can arrange parking at around $30 a night. One word of warning though, our car was broken into in the carpark the hotel organised, the Wilson carpark on Anzac. It is better for the hotel to book you into the carpark in Vector Arena, two minutes further to walk but safer for your car.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emmaloocoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2011

After a long flight, this is the perfect place to stay. Quiet, restaurants nearby, kitchenette---all good things.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Beasley123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2011

Beautiful, modern rooms. Nicely equipped kitchen and good bathroom. Very comfortable bed, good TV. We had booked a one-bedroom, but were put into a two-bedroom, so lots of room. Bit of a walk to downtown, but interesting. We walked with luggage and golf clubs to the train station: no problem. Countdown supermarket within easy walk. This was our first hotel in New Zealand and it was perfect for getting over the jet lag.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 154914AlbertaBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Stayed here for two nights prior to joing our cruise. Booked a one bedroomed executive apartment. Very pleased with it as everything seemed brand new and very spacious. There was no information booke in the apartment showing how safe, microwave and dishwasher worked but reception quickly provided one when asked. Perhaps they could leave one in each room. Used Laundry room which was very efficient and cheap. Unlike other reviewers we found the reception staff very helpful. Security aspect to get to your room was very good and felt safe at all times. You could use swimming pool etc at Waldorf aprtments over the road but alas we did not have time. There was a very good supermarket about 5mins away which was very useful. Even though we only stayed two nights we had our room serviced at no extra cost. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Group4people
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2011
Many thanks for your recent positive review of Waldorf Celestion.

We are delighted that the reception staff surpassed your expectations on this occasion and we do get many positive comments about our staff's "can-do" attitude.

We do hope that you will return to us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
0.1 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.5 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel

Property: Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel
Address: 19 - 23 Anzac Avenue | Auckland Cbd, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 113 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Celestion offers affordable luxury in an ideal inner city location. The industrial chic design of the lobby welcomes you into this stylish apartment hotel with modern furnished apartments offering 4.5-Star self contained accommodation in the heart of Auckland City. Self cater in your spacious apartment, with a large 24hr Supermarket located across the road from Waldorf Celestion, or visit Little India restaurant on our ground floor for delicious traditional North Indian cuisine. Auckland's newest entertainment precinct Britomart is just across the road from Waldorf Celestion and is home to boutique and international fashion stores, and some of the best restaurants and bars the city has to offer. Vector Arena Auckland's 12,000 seat venue is a short stroll from Waldorf Celestion, as are the recently developed Waterfront areas, Queen Street and Auckland's Transport Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing