We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Combo Tour - Auckland + Gannet Colony” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of NZBR Day Tours - CLOSED

NZBR Day Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We at NZBR offer tours in small groups enabling you to interact more with your guide. If you are in New Zealand for only a short period of time we do recommend one of our day tours from Auckland. Our most popular day tours are to Rotorua, the Bay of Islands, Coromandel Peninsula or around the Auckland City and Muriwai Beach. For all our tours we provide free pick up from your City Centre Hotel.
Greenwood, Indiana
Level Contributor
527 reviews
253 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Good Combo Tour - Auckland + Gannet Colony”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We had just one day in Auckland during our cruise stop. We chose NZBR Tours from the good reviews on Tripavdisor and were not disappointed. All payment details were handled on the internet prior to arrival, so we could hit the deck running. We met our guide promptly at 10AM at the designated spot and were off. After a brief drive-by of some handsome buildings and churches, we ascended Mt Eden, a dormant volcano, for a splendid view of the city. We then drove to and through Cornwall Park and ascended One Tree Hill. Our guide was afraid the van we had was too wide for the drive, so we walked to the monument to Sir John Logan Campbell at the summit. Again, a splendid view. We then visited a large war memorial and horticulture center with extensive greenhouses and walking paths.
Auckland sits on a fairly narrow isthmus and is one of the few cities in the world that has port facilities in two major seas, the Tasman Sea and the Pacific Ocean, so its a short drive to see the Gannet Colony!
It was cold and windy out on the point - but it was fabulous to see these birds up close!
I recommend binoculars and/or a good zoom lens on your camera when you visit the gannet Colony.
On our way back to Auckland, we stopped by a winery for a tasting.
Our guide delivered us back to the pier right on time and we bid adieu. We had a very good tour and saw all that was promised. But there was always a feeling of guide-client, nothing more.
Would I use NZBR again? Yes, no question! They did a very good job!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank BoilerMakerBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlavioNZBR, Owner at NZBR Day Tours, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your great review here on TA and glad that you have enjoyed our 3-hour Auckland city tour. Will most definitely pass it onto Bill (your driver/guide), who is always going the extra mile to provide the best possible service. Cornwall Park, for example, is not in the itinerary, but when time allows we also visit this beautiful park in Auckland. Or if our clients prefer, they can stay a bit longer walking in Parnell visiting its shops and cafes. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    8
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Big Lake, Minnesota
1 review
“A Taste of New Zealand”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

This tour allowed a friend and me to see and experience so many things in the limited amount of time we had planed to stay in NZ (3 days total). It was a semi-long but beautiful drive down to the thermal village, and the tour guide incorporates in stops to interesting places for pictures and time to stretch your legs. The day is packed with incredible places! My personal favorite was the Zorbing! My friend and I were placed in this giant ball and rolled down a hill together. It was definitely a highlight in my trip to NZ :)

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlavioNZBR, Owner at NZBR Day Tours, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
We are happy that you've had a great time during your day trip to Rotorua from Auckland. Zorbing is indeed lot's of fun. Because we work with small groups we allocate some time for our clients who wish to experience it. Thank you for the lovely review. And the picture looks great by the way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“3 hour tour of Auckland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had a lay over in Auckland and took a personal tour with Flavio, it was a quick tour but very enjoyable, especially the gardens.
Bridgette Holmes

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bridgette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlavioNZBR, Owner at NZBR Day Tours, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for the lovely review here on TA. It was a pleasure taking you on our Auckland city tour. It's a 3-hour tour where we manage to visit the main attractions Auckland has to offer. Thanks again and all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Auckland City Day tour with NZBR”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

It was a wonderful experience having day tour around the city. I enjoyed a lot of sceneries even for a short period of time. The timing is just enough for those who wants to have a quick glimpse of the city. I hope I could have another tour in other parts of NZ next year. Looking forward...

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlavioNZBR, Owner at NZBR Day Tours, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Many thanks for the review here on TA. We are happy that you have enjoyed our Auckland city tour. Auckland is a beautiful city with several attractions, but we still manage to select the highlights so we can offer our clients a great tour. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rotorua and Waitomo Caves”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We were picked up by Flavio in Auckland right on time and our tour began almost immediately. With only four people on the tour it felt very personal. Flavio had a wealth of information on New Zealand in general. It was a long day but there were plenty of comfort breaks with time for a quick coffee and muffin. My brother had not visited NZ before and I thought this an ideal trip to see some of the countryside as well as the fascinating Rotorua. Te Whakerewarewa was very interesting with a local guide to explain everyhting as we went around the village. We then went on to visit the kiwis, a short stop,but my first sighting of the birds. Waitomo caves were well worth a visit. I would certainly recommend this tour to anyone who doesn't have a lot of time to go exploring as we packed in a lot for one day.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlavioNZBR, Owner at NZBR Day Tours, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
We are very happy that you've enjoyed your tour. Many thanks also for the lovely review here on TA! That's the advantage of working with small groups: the tour gets more personal and we all have the opportunity to interact more. And certainly the Maori Village and the Glowworm Caves as you have mentioned, are the highlights of the day. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed NZBR Day Tours also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing