We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful break”
Review of Devonport

Devonport
Book In Advance
More Info
$71.77*
and up
Half-Day Auckland North Head Guided Kayaking Tour
Ranked #9 of 264 things to do in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful break”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

The ferry trip over was magnificent . We were here for a quake break from Christchurch and just enjoyed the beautiful homes and the fantastic beaches.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank pam255118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,633
    1,348
    213
    25
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cromer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Slow the Pace Down”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We went over on one of Fuller's Fast Ferries. Cheap clean and very easily accessed with my wifes wheelchair.Ten minutes or so later we were docking at Devonport reasonably flat after pushing a wheelchair around Auckland! The peace and slow pace sweep over you and it is a real chill out location I had wanted to visit the Maritime Museum but instead we sat out at a pavement restaurant enjoyed a leisurely lunch and couple of beers and people-watched . Plenty of seemingly good eateries and interesting book shops etc. With more time we would re-visit for sure.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Devonport”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Take a ferry from downtown Auckland and within a few minutes you will be there. You get great views of Auckland's skyline from the shores. Nice Cafes and a great fish n Chip shop are located there. Climb the hill to the top for a better view of Auckland

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
83 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Navy Museum”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Across the Harbour from Auckland is the lovely town of Devonport and like Plymouth in the UK Devonport is home to the Navy. I went over one day when i didn't have much to do so thought i would cross over and visit the RNZN Museum. When i got there i was surprised the small town was very nice and plenty to pass the time with shops cafes and art galleries to look around. I got to the Navy museum after about an hour of ambling around the shops etc. It is a pleasant place small but i wanted to see around it and stayed there for a couple of hours chatting etc with staff. Once back into the town i stopped for fish and chips which is cooked fresh and very nice and sat and ate. I took at taxi up to the view point on Victoria which offered fantastic views over Auckland harbour and the city its self. Before long it was time for me to leave, If i had known, i would have gone over earlier in the day and gone to look at the Maori forts and the tunnels, gun emplacements and gone swimming. I plan to do this when i go back later in the year. I enjoyed myself but feel i missed so much there, wish i had researched it better.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank swanseasailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City
Level Contributor
164 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Easy ferry service; great views from Mt. Victoria”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Took the ferry for a lunchtime visit to the village and hike to the top of Mt. Victoria. We anticipated more art / shops; however many more cafés / food / etc. No complaints mind you - just adjusting expectations.

The hike to top of Mt. Victoria is highly recommended if you are able to (you can drive to it also). Also be sure to see the Moreton Bay Fig Tree (Old Albert) and it's neighbor. Amazing roots and silhouette!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank JKandAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Devonport also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Devonport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing