We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, clean just needs a few tweaks”

K Road City Travelers Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
K Road City Travelers Hostel
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

On first appearances the hostel gives a bad impression as its a tiny grotty looking doorway with not much to tell you this is k road city travellers. Once you haul your luggage up the stairs though you'll see it's a nice little hostel.
Pros: free breakfast consisting of bread, jam peanut butter and ham. Free tea an coffee all day, free wifi no limits. Very well kept, toilets and kitchen lovely and modern, always clean. Plenty of leaflets of things to see an do.
Cons: no clothes line to dry clothes, they should have a clothes horse on the balcony and make most of sunshine as dryer takes two cycles to dry clothes, 6 dollars to dry clothes is a bit much! The washer and dryer are located right beside the tv so u have to do you laundry right there beside people watching tv, and the machines can be quite noisy interrupting the tv room! The kitchen on third floor is far too small, 2 people at a time max but bigger kitchen is locate on 2nd floor. They need a better tv room, they don't have one at the moment just a tv stuck to wall off the kitchen and one couch facing it. Lastly, depending on location of your room it can be very noisy at weekends when your trying to sleep, u can feel the base of the music below if you are located at the front of the building

All in all it's a great place and I'd definately stay again

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jessie045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 42 of 80 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

A bit hard to find and it is a small doorway on the road. Location very good< on a decently busy road>, but ten Auckland is very big! Double room, clean bedding, toilets also clean, service very nice, small kitchen but again for an expensive city, good value for money. A bit far from the intercity bus exchange, (15$ cab ride) but once you are in there (parked all heavy luggage) traveling by bus from there to anywhere is very easy as the location is pretty central with various bus stops nearby

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Goodwin123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Nice Place to stay... Bathrooms very clean And nice.. Rooms with only up to for beds. Location right next to Queen Street downhill into The City.
We had a Great Time... Meeting Lots of People. Enjoying a bbq on The rooftop, making Pasta Night... And simply Sharing our Adventures. Good Place to Kick Off your new Zealand Trip

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tvolpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

We arrived quite late but the guy on reception was friendly and helpful and gave us a tour before showing us to our room. We had a double room which was fairly big, had a desk, hanging rail, wall mounted TV, full length mirror and plenty of sockets. There was free wifi available. The bathrooms and kitchen were very clean and looked new. The kitchen was well equipped and there was plenty of room inside and out to sit and eat. The reception desk offered hair dryers and plug adapters which I haven't seem in a hostel before. There were loads of leaflets available for the whole of New Zealand as well as detailed local info. Other guests were friendly and there was a sense of everyone looking after the hostel. We didnt get to sample the free breakfast as we had an early bus to catch which was a shame! Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed here for 3weeks in September, 2012 initially had single room to myself but soon realised everyone there was really nice and was in a 4 bed dorm room for rest of stay. Rooms clean, staff helpful and really nice, Charles especially!
Free breakfast is great for saving money. Free WiFi and use of computers was brilliant. Would easily stay there again and again. Club a few doors down but it never really bothered me.
Met some good people and will def remain friends.b

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Good value for price, comparing to other hostels in NZ. Variety of food for the breakfast you can use as much as you need, very nice atmoshpehe, clean bathroom and everything. There were some people living there - they work temporarily in Auckland so that I could have useful tips about NZ from them. Location is ok. I only did not like the stairs due to my heavy luggage :-)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wombatWarsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

My bed was super comfortable (which is great after a 30 hour journey), free breakfast (eggs, ham, and toast) was a great bonus. Free wifi was super convenient. Free linens and free towel, also great.

I did not like the stairs up, and I wish it was a little more central in location, but it wasn't too far out of the way. Others have complained about the location, but I didn't have any problems. Though I was never out late, so I can't say.

the place was quite clean. rooms were simple, but sufficient. I had a private double room.

The staff was helpful, but english was not their first language (at least with two of the ladies I dealt with), which limited their ability to understand what I wanted.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay and would recommend it to a friend

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vancouvergirl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.1 mi away
YHA Auckland City
YHA Auckland City
#19 of 131 in Auckland Central
282 reviews
0.1 mi away
BK Hostel
BK Hostel
#50 of 131 in Auckland Central
57 reviews
1.2 mi away
City Garden Lodge
City Garden Lodge
#30 of 131 in Auckland Central
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
YHA Auckland International
YHA Auckland International
#20 of 131 in Auckland Central
276 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lantana Lodge Backpackers
Lantana Lodge Backpackers
#38 of 131 in Auckland Central
119 reviews
0.6 mi away
Base Auckland Central Backpackers
Base Auckland Central Backpacker...
#66 of 131 in Auckland Central
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to K Road City Travelers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about K Road City Travelers Hostel

Address: 146 Karangahape Road | PO Box 68884, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 131 Specialty Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: $18 - $52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — K Road City Travelers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your K Road City Travelers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
k Road City Travelers Hotel Auckland Central
K Road City Travelers Hostel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing