We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SidArt

SidArt
Ranked #2 of 2,201 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $76
Cuisines: International, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: METRO BEST NEW RESTAURANT 2010SIDART Restaurant is a fine dining restaurant located in the Three Lamps Plaza, 283 Ponsonby Road, Ponsonby, Auckland. We are open Tuesday to Saturday for dinner from 6pm and Friday's for lunch. We are closed on Sundays and Mondays.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Really surprising an impressive view once inside and staff are excellent - food is great and always happy to pay the bill as it is the real deal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HJB1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    533
    62
    26
    7
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Chef with a touch of genius”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We were slightly concerned given one or two of the recent reviews that this might be somewhere where presentation won out over taste but we need not have worried. It really is as good as the majority of reviews say. The chef definitely has the gift of creating dishes which are not only different but taste really good. The food combinations are sometimes unusual but not so way out as to be weird. John Dory paired with walnut for example was definitely worth having. We also enjoyed the duck with liquorice, particularly the pieces of confit duck leg - the liquorice was not, in our view, overpowering.

We went on a Friday night where one has the choice of either the ten or five course menu; the five courses being selected from the ten. The menu is discussed individually with allergies and other dietary requirements and tastes being taken care of. We went for five courses, two fish, two meat and a dessert. With three exquisite amuse bouches to start with that was perfect although I suspect that the full ten courses would not be too overpowering.

We also decided to opt for the pairings of wine with the dishes and this added extra enjoyment with a great discussion about each wine with the knowledgeable maitre d'.

This is not an ordinary restaurant. The chef has put together a small team of enthusiasts - friendly service matched the quality of the food - to run a smallish restaurant where he can experiment and produce food which is special. The menu changes each week. Definitely a must if you like fine food and appreciate the work of innovative chefs.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rowan60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“The Emperor's new clothes!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

If I start by saying this is like the fable of the emperor's new clothes you might get an idea where I am going.
I booked Sidart based on the Tripadvisor ratings as number one in Auckland. Looked forward to a great evening of delicious foods. Thought we were lucky to get a table even though I booked 3 months in advance.
Arrived at the shopping mall in Ponsenby and made our way to the first floor restaurant. Small room half full. We proceeded to receive a series of small dishes each made up of multiple ingredients, many of which I had never heard of, some with smoke billowing out of. Various types of fish kissed with the grill on one side. Presentation was great but at the end of the day it’s taste that counts and none of it tasted good. Some was OK and some plain weird and actually made us feel uncomfortable. We felt like we were the one’s mssing the joke as everyone else was oohing and ahhing. Maybe I’m too old or maybe the Sidart acolytes are too frightened to tell Sid it may be very clever but it just doesn’t work. Remember the emperor was nude but no one would tell him!!!!
Perhaps the fact that the restaurant was half full reflects the fact that this style of food is not popular.
I can’t say don’t go as this is a subjective matter. It’s certainly different, a lot of effort is expended by the chefs but it’s not for us.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank DELLAMAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

I had read reviews of Sidart in various places, mainly Trip Advisor, and decided to give it a try. I was definitely not disappointed! The booking process was easy and efficient, even though I booked online from the US. I received immediate response over email and great reminders as well, nearer to the time of the booking. The restaurant is centrally located, and took 5mins from downtown Auckland by taxi. I had pre-sold the quality of the place to my Husband, who likes meticulously prepared, but tasty food and was really looking forward to something special by the time we got here, I am pleased to say that Sidart delivered. We chose the many course tasting menu, and were pleased to discover that they also offered our favorite champagne, Billecart Salmon, on their extensive wine menu. The food was excellent; creative, tasty, every course had a surprise of its' own. The service was also superb; for such a small team, these people know what they are doing and really look after their patrons, ensuring their guests are well informed about the food and wine (they also took care to check for any dietary restrictions or allergies). The view across the city was gorgeous in the evening, and for such a small restaurant, it did not feel cramped or noisy. It was most interesting to see the wide range of folks who were eating there; couples on dates, some business diners, one family -- overall quite a cross section of public - but everyone seemed delighted with their food. We would definitely go back to Sidart, it's a small, intimate, high quality establishment with creative food and excellent, professional staff. Not inexpensive, but worth it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
86 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Pretty food ok taste”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Ok here we go. First it was a lovely looking restaurant and the staff were super friendly. We sat down were asked which wine we would like but not being shown a menu for the tasting for the night it is hard to chose a wine. We told the waitress this. They should offer a wine pairing with the meal. The food: it was pretty but not well balanced at all. Out of the 5 small dishes I liked 1. The steak was excellent and cooked perfect. I scraped all the stuff off of it and ate just the meat. The chef needs to put the foam gun down it was on every dish. We are major foodies. All and all I personally would not have spent the money.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank goldengal11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SidArt also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to SidArt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing