We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sensational dining experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of SidArt

SidArt
Ranked #2 of 2,198 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $76
Cuisines: International, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: METRO BEST NEW RESTAURANT 2010SIDART Restaurant is a fine dining restaurant located in the Three Lamps Plaza, 283 Ponsonby Road, Ponsonby, Auckland. We are open Tuesday to Saturday for dinner from 6pm and Friday's for lunch. We are closed on Sundays and Mondays.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sensational dining experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

I had the pleasure of dining here last Saturday night. We had the 10 course degustation meal with matched wines. I cannot praise this restaurant highly enough. The staff were welcoming, friendly and attentive. The dining room was intimate and not overcrowded. We were seated next to the window and enjoyed a view out across Auckland which was most welcome on our first visit to Auckland. And the food...
From the first of three amuse bouche all the way through to the second, and last, dessert every dish was a "win". We have tried other fine dining degustation menus and have often found one or two dishes fall short but that was not our experience at SidArt. Every course was a delight with each element on the plate being thought out and complementing each other excellently.
The overall dining experience was exceptional and really well priced in our experience (mainly of Australian fine dining). I can't wait to return (I would've gone back the next night but it is not open Sundays).

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank FloraWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    533
    62
    26
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
105 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, great view of the Auckland skyline!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

Had my wife's birthday dinner here after seeing all the great reviews of this place and we were not disappointed at all!

Reservation was super easy and done through the website with a confirmation call coming from the restaurant on the same day.

From the moment we enter the restaurant, we were greeted politely by the waiter and waitress on duty. Throughout our time there service level was kept at a very high level with attentive staff attending to our needs.

Food was brilliant. The menu changes every week and we went with the full 10 course meal. Each course was explained in detailed to us by our waiter and each of them taste great!

We were also served a nice little chocolate mud cake on top of our meal for my wife's birthday and each table was given complimentary maccaroons to take away.

Overall, this is probably the best tasting restaurant in Auckland that I have tried and is on par with some of the great restaurants I have tried in Europe.

Will definitely be back again in the future. Anyone eager for a night of fine dining in Auckland, this is the right place for you!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank win4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Read the other reviews!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Because they're right, this is the #1 fine dining restaurant in Auckland... New Zealand even. Being an experienced Aussie diner, this restaurant would easily be three hats (an Australian rating) if it was in Australia and would be on par with the likes of Quay, Attica or Vue De Monde. Ingenious dishes that brings back the meaning to fine food, it reminds you that dining is not just about the food but the experience as a whole. Recommended to all enthusiatic diners and picky critics, it will not disappoint!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Every little bit as good as expected - time and again.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

I travel a lot for work and eat in restaurants all the time - and SidArt is tied for first place on my list of 'best restaurants in the world'. What Sid and his team are doing with food is incredible.

Eating at Sidart is not merely fine dining, it is more than that. Where other places follow the formula of "let's take a classic dish, add a twist and/or deconstruct it, then prepare it with great attention to detail and using high quality ingredients" for making upmarket food, at Sidart they embark on a completely different mission, leaving conventions behind and seeing a dish as a layered combination of flavours and textures. The food at Sidart oozes scientific understanding and the ability to think outside the box, but is never gimmicky and never reeks of "molecular for the sake of molecular".

Service is top notch too, every staff member I've ever met was friendly and knowledgeable.

I went here for the 4th time a couple of weeks ago, did the Tuesday Test Kitchen, paid $340 for dinner for two and don't regret a thing.

If you like fine dining, you owe it to yourself to give this place a try, you will not leave un-satisfied or un-amazed.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Dominik A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The highlight of our weekend!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

We booked the 9 course degustation with matching wines for 7pm however due to a mix up with time zones we ended up being late, we called ahead to advise and appreciated that we were not made to feel uncomfortable in any way for not arriving at the time we had specified for our booking.

My husband wasn't feeling well, so after the first course he decided to forgo the matched wines which was a shame as I thoroughly enjoyed every drop. Each course was delicious, well presented and full of flavour, and the wines were very well matched to each course. As each course was placed in front of us, there was so much to take in, colours, textures, aromas and the explanation from our server of what the different elements were and how they all married together had you salivating before you had even placed a morsel in your mouth. And it all tasted as good as you imagined.

Our waiter was fantastic, the right combination of light conversation, knowledge and attentiveness. I would recommend SidArt to anyone who is heading to Auckland, it is expensive, but it is most definitely worthy.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SJM111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SidArt also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to SidArt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing