We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New flavors every week” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Giapo

Giapo
Ranked #1 of 70 Dessert in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Description: New Zealand Ice Cream.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“New flavors every week”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Visited this place maybe 4 times during my stay in Auckland, and loved it every time. They are constantly experimenting with new flavors, so you can always go in for something new or stick to your favorites - mine is Kiss Kiss. You also get surprise toppings! The only thing that bugs me is that after recently redecorating the place, they only have a few seats inside (inconvinient during the winter) and a couple of benches outside (there used to be tables outside, too).

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Arttu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,994 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,539
    324
    93
    29
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The nice small place with friendly staff and a good range of gelato. It was interesting to taste some unusual flavours, but most of choices were too sweet for me. I enjoyed though :)
Must visit for ice cream lovers!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank iovchinnikova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
61 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“If you don't go you are missing out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

So good and so many flavours both 'normal' and quirky to choose from! We love going here everytime we visit the city. This gelato is more memorable than the gelato I've had it in Italy!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dkia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“I don't see the hype”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

I love ice cream, I love gelato but this place Just won't do me any favor. I don't see the hype, I don't taste the yumminess. There are more miss than hit for me. One thing for sure I will always come back for the avocado flavour.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kyothu D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Going where no gelato has gone before”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

When I want to challenge myself in a culinary sense Giapo is a cheap, fun choice. Recently I have tried Kumara and Hokey Pokey Flavour, and Beetroot and Creme Brulee. Both were off-the-chain deeelicious. I dig how they also customise the toppings for each person, adding another depth of confrontation, along with some of the free late night people-watching also available.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tankerette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giapo also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Giapo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing