We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy setting for high tea”
Review of Brownstone Restaurant - CLOSED

Brownstone Restaurant
Price range: $20 - $70
Cuisines: European, French, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: ...A return to a finer past...
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Classy setting for high tea”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Saturday afternoon high tea - one of the best in Auckland. Yummy ciabatta open sandwiches, scones and mini desserts. Good at catering to individual requirements. Setting was very 1920s, gave a classy setting for the whole afternoon. Went on a 2-for-1 voucher but would happily pay full price.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emms_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    14
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
“What a wonderful place!”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

This restaurant is beautiful. The styling is impeccable which creates a beautiful environment for a romantic dinner.

The staff were wonderful. I couldn't fault them if I tried. Friendly and attentive.

It is rare for me to really struggle on what to order. In this instance there were so many delicious sounding dishes, I really struggled to decide what to have!

My entree was the seared ostrich. Delicious. Generous portion. Very enjoyable
My main was duck breast. Beautifully cooked and very satisfying. I am often disappointed with portion size in fine dining restaurants. In this instance I was very satisfied to the point where I had no room for dessert!

It is clear that this restaurant is making a real effort to increase its exposure, from the invitations, beautifully designed in a pack of playing cards, for high tea to the review and feedback requests with the bill. This is what prompted me to write a review as I believe it is important to give credit to great venues such as this. We will most definitely be back and highly recommend to anyone who enjoys good food and a great atmosphere!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Satisfied tummies”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Nostalgia is expensive, but well worth the visit if you're not counting pennies. We had 3 courses here and were super pleased with both the flavours and generous portion sizes of the dishes.

The crab bisque tortellini and seafood chowder for our entrees were jam packed with flavour and the bread, hot and fresh. There are irks = there wasn't much more than 4 tablespoons of the chowder soup - luckily the pile of fresh and tasty seafood made up for it, and the crab bisque was cold.

We both had the fresh market fish for our mains, which was snapper. Huge portion of food for our mains compared to some of the other fancy restaurants we've been to. The snapper was cooked perfectly, however the chorizo brought the standard of the dish down... was more like cheap sausage. Not sure where they source their chorizo from, but should consider leaving it off the dish, or getting it elsewhere.

We had to share dessert - was already so full... but the chocolate marquise was rich and delicious. The licorice ice-cream was flavorful, delicate and a nice contrast to the heavy chocolate.

The service was okay, but had to ask for water and drinks on two occasions.

We got a voucher when we left for a complimentary High Tea, so we look forward to coming back for afternoon tea.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A great experience!”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We recently went to this restaurant having received a gift voucher. We weren't sure about going to a themed restaurant but it was a most enjoyable experience from the friendly greeting on arrival until we left. The food is absolutely amazing and although the menu is a bit limited the presentation and flavours are great. However, prices are at the high end of the market but having a gift voucher eased that situation. Parking can be a problem early on a weekday evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeeBee1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not so Nostalgic”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

As noted by other reviewers this restaurant was previously named Prohibition - which we visited and reviewed extremely positively previously in 2010 and 2011.

This month we returned again - twice - and while the food is still excellent the service has slipped dramatically. Noticeably too, there is now no live music which diminishes the whole experience.

Our most recent visit was marked by a very poor level of service from the waiters:
* no explanation of the menu was offered, nor any advice as to the "fish of the day". We had to ask.
* a waiter attempted to top up our water glasses from a jug of tap water - when it was clear we had a bottle of sparkling water on the table
* after the plates were cleared from our main course we did not see another waiter - absolutely no enquiry as to whether we wanted desserts, coffeee, liqueurs etc. so we left
* when the bill was presented it had a significant error - the waiter did not appear very happy when this was pointed out. A simple "sorry" would have sufficed.

All in all a very disappointing experience from a service aspect..

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PeteWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduard G, Owner at Brownstone Restaurant, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you, Peter, for bringing the service issues to the attention of the owner`s. We take constructive criticism extremely seriously. We also appreciate your previous positive reviews of Nostalgia Restaurant (then Prohibition) on Tripadvisor and hope that, despite the issues during your last visit, you will continue to be our guest and will witness the improvement in our service systems. Please accept our apologies. Eduard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brownstone Restaurant also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing