We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mission Bay Cafe

Mission Bay Cafe
Ranked #135 of 2,198 Restaurants in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand, International, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We took the bus out here from the city and stopped here for brunch. The place was very busy, being a sunny Sunday morning. The food was prompt and service was very good. Would recommend sitting outside if possible, as we were squashed up next to another couples table, which made it hard to hear and have a conversation.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carstina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    53
    18
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Level Contributor
154 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Slow service but the food is good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

This is the second time I visited this restaurant. The first time was a weekday around 10am so not particularly busy but it took nearly 30 minutes to get a scone and coffee. The last time was Saturday night around 7pm.
I was seated immediately but it took 15 minutes to get a glass of wine. The water came quickly but only once and after that I needed to fill the water glass myself (which I did four times during the dinner).
The food was good and the waitress went to a lot of trouble to accommodate my food allergies.
It was perfect when it came and to be fair, she did offer me coffee. I wasn't in a rush so it didn't matter that it was slow but I suggest that if you have a schedule you might want to tell them

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DebHnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“THE place to go in Mission Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Consistently fabulous. One of those places that once you find it you will stop experimenting along the strip and become a regular.

Great coffee, warm and welcoming staff, tasty and beautifully presented food, service quick and efficient.

Top class.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ItsL1keTh1s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
“Great taste, Great Value, A good night out.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Nice atmosphere, the service was warm and friendly, the chef is quick & the food tastes good. I have been here 3 times and every time was good.

I can recommend the Eggs Benedict, The Salt & Pepper Calamari & Seafood Saute.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Renata K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
177 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Consistent and Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Of all the little cafes in this area the Mission Bay Cafe is always the busiest. I had a great steak salad and my family loves the eggs Benedict served on fresh focaccia bread with homemade hollandaise sauce. I never had dinner here...but, can highly recommend breakfast and lunch.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KMM043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mission Bay Cafe also viewed

Mission Bay, Auckland Region
Mission Bay, Auckland Region
 
Auckland Region, North Island
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Mission Bay Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing