We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

Lone Star New Market
Ranked #913 of 2,271 Restaurants in Auckland
Price range: $21 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: You’ll find the Auckland Lone Star deep in the heart of cultural Newmarket. Known to Maori as “te Ti Tutahi “or “the Sacred Cabbage Tree Stands Alone”, But it actually acquired its name from the cattle markets established there back in the 1850’s.Our Café caters for up to 150 guests, and in addition, we offer a private function room that will comfortably accommodate another 55. We have a projector for sports events, and this room is perfect for that social occasion, corporate needs, or just a loud Thursday.Absolutely no need to worry about finding a park at LoneStar Newmarket- we have 2 parking buildings nearby-one right next door(entry by Khyber Pass) and another across the road on Kent Street.The Rialto and Village cinemas are a stones throw away. Children always welcome.
Auckland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I visited the Hauraki corner property as oart of a group a couple of months ago. We were upstairs, and it was pandemoneum. A large crowd with little room for movement. The drinks were OK and the food was, Bar food. Atmosphere OK

I also visited the Wanaka establishment in November, and there was a completely different event. the interior design is excellent, the drinks and food much the same, however it would get an extra star for ambience, alone.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    48
    34
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“BIG portions for BIG appetities”
Reviewed December 5, 2012

As the subject would suggest, this is exactly wjhat you will get from Lone Star. Expect your food to taste like it has been concocted in a large vat and bulk prepared. It's all just a bit too American-diner for me. The service was average. The drinks are not cheap, nor is the food. I don't rate this place. Avoid.

Helpful?
1 Thank Stickywu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Puke, NZ
Level Contributor
170 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Enjoyed Experience”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Arrived at restaurant late as parking was a problem. Waiting staff were friendly and we were made to feel very welcome. Were with 2 yr old who was looked after extremely well. The food was delicious and we had plenty of it. Most of us couldn't quite finish the meal. Prices seemed reasonable and whole eating experience was a pleasure. Drinks were $8.50 a glass of wine which I have been reminded is Auckland prices!!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cherie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tekapo
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing - North Shore Restaurant”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This review is for the Lone Star at Hauraki Corner.

Went with a group of friends and had an amazing time. Our waitress Penny was amazing. She was very attentive without being in our faces 24/7. Meals were great - huge portions and tasted amazing. I recommend this restaurant to everyone - I will defiantly be back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lost_Haylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Food is always ggod at Lonestar,sometime the service is great as well,although getting a bit tired of the same old food.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Shalima R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lone Star New Market also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Lone Star New Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing