We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“She box not on a shoe string”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tudor Court Motor Lodge
Ranked #35 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
Gisborne
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“She box not on a shoe string”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

I had booked a twin deluxe room. The only good thing about the room was that it was clean. It was so small there was no room to put our suitcases except on the small 'dinning table' which was the size of a suitcase and the floor where the entrance sliding glass door was. The two single beds were so close together you couldn't get out in the middle of them - you could easily hold hands from one bed to the other. The "kitchen area' was almost unusable because of lack of space. On arrival the young girl at reception did not seem to know any English except for "Visa card' and pay now before even getting to the room. Not good service for tourists wanting some information. Reception smelled like urine, probably from the turtle in the tank on the counter.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank november089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    35
    28
    3
    2
See reviews for
5
32
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
tauranga
Level Contributor
214 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Like alot of New Zealand Motels it needs a overhaul the rooms are dated the toilet bathroon needs modernizing
the road noise is constant
and the train seems to run thru the bathroom
would I stay again probably not

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lampardTauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Barrier Island, New Zealand
Level Contributor
149 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed here recently on business, would normally stay in the CBD however all that was booked out ! The Tudor Court is in a good location, easy to find, has clean rooms albeit a bit small. One thing I didn't like was the thin walls which meant you could here whats going on in the adjoining rooms. Breakfast menu was a good simple selection at a good price. The beds were also good and comfy, overall I would stay here again, because of the location to Newmarket etc.

Room Tip: see if there is one with only 1 adjoining room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IJArchibald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

My flight was delayed and I arrived in Tudor Court Motor Lodge a few hours later than I had expected. The staff, however, were present to check us in during the evening and I was resting in my room 5-7 minutes after check-in.

Rooms were quite clean, and the ensuite toilet was also spotlessly clean. Both the toilet and the room, however, were not air-conditioned and (luckily) I was there in Autumn so the nights were pretty cool (cold, even).

They also have a common area where laundry can be done, complete with an ironing board. There is also a table and some chairs for smokers to congregate for a smoke.

In the morning, I just walked to the adjoining property on the left for a nice breakfast - no hassle.

Overall, this lodging is quite decent for a motel / motor lodge - just don't expect too much and you will be sufficiently happy.

Room Tip: Walls are thin, but not a problem if you are a moderate-heavy sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jewemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tga
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed at Tudor Court because it was close to a meeting we attended. Tidy clean rooms. Great service and pleasant staff. A compact room with a good bed. Good value for money.
I would stay again but get a slightly bigger room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Rooms were very clean & serviced daily. Great location, & price not too bad either. Room was very small and so was the kitchen, but was sufficient for us. I am unsure of how "brand new" the bed was (as is stated on the website) but it was comfortable enough. Brand new to me would mean straight out of the packaging, but I am pretty sure we weren't the first to be sleeping on this particular bed. It was really hot in the room with no fan or aircon. I had the windows open overnight for this reason & ended up with unsightly mosquito bites all over...... that was the downfall of the 2 night stay really. Would probably stay somewhere else in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piarimu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed just overnight, as it was handy for me and at $ 109 was cheap.

But no aircondition was a killer so muggy in Auckland had to leave windows open so got eaten by Mosquitos

Room is tiny, just enough room to walk around, bathroom was Ok clean and good water pressure, did have tea and coffee making stuff and a couple of biscuits.

But better hotel nearby same price

Room Tip: All small do not bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greggynewzeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auckland
2.0 mi away
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
#33 of 66 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Surrey Hotel
The Surrey Hotel
#43 of 66 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Devereux Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Greenlane Suites
Greenlane Suites
#3 of 8 in Greenlane
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oaktree Motel
Oaktree Motel
#38 of 66 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.4 mi away
Auckland Newmarket Motel
Auckland Newmarket Motel
#60 of 66 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor Court Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Court Motor Lodge

Property: Tudor Court Motor Lodge
Address: 108 Great South Road | Epsom, Auckland, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tudor Court Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience our brand new Qualmark 4.5 star motel offers you “Contemporary Charm” accommodation; a truly home away from home.FULLY REFURBISHED in June 2012. All rooms are BRAND NEW from top to bottom. FREE Off-street Parking, FREE Newspaper, FREE Wi-Fi. 18 all ground floor rooms best for corporate travelers, couples, families and tourists. All units are designated non-smoking with en-suite bathrooms. Rooms feature brand new “Sleepyhead” beds with thick mattress topper makes you feel sleeping on the cloud. Tea/Coffee making facilities, Toaster, Fridge, Heating, HD LCD TV with Freeview, Sky Movie and Sky Sports are standard in all rooms; while our Kitchenette rooms equipped with Hobs and Microwave oven. Guest Laundry onsite, Continental and Full Breakfast available. We are located in the centre of Auckland with easy access to both Southern and Northern motorways. 10 mins to Downtown Auckland; 20 mins from Airport; 3 mins to Newmarket and ASB showground. Main attractions such as Auckland Domain and Museum, Ellerslie and Alexandra Racecourse, One Tree Hill and Cornwall Park are all within 5 mins drive. Auckland hospital, Greenlane hospital and Mercy Ascot hospital are also within 5 mins drive. Bus stop just cross the street and train station is 500m away that will take you to anywhere in Auckland. Easy walking distance to local shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tudor Court Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tudor Court Motor Lodge Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing