We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Eden Villa Bed & Breakfast
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
SKYCITY Grand Hotel(Auckland Central)
$162
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Crowne Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)
$139
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Pullman Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$115
$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Auckland(Auckland Central)
$274
$267
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$122
$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Fitness center
  • Free Internet
Grand Millennium Auckland(Auckland Central)
$128
$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
SKYCITY Hotel(Auckland Central)
$153
$136
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
CityLife Auckland(Auckland Central)
$190
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Quality Hotel Parnell(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$110
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
$121
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (304)
Filter reviews
304 results
Traveler rating
296
6
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
296
6
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bperfect hostsbed and breakfastnew zealandmueslifrench doorsone tree hillquiet streethome away from homewonderful hospitalityguest loungefriendly hostsbreakfast was deliciousother guestsensuite bathrooma short bus riderestaurants within walking distance
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
205 - 210 of 304 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2012

It was my first trip to New Zealand and I have found heartfelt Kiwi hospitality in this B & B.

I believe if there is important thing to share about this B & B on top of its beautiful pictures posted by anyone else here, it should be Christine and Anthony's warm personalities and great services.

The facilities -- clean, comfortable and beautiful rooms, air-conditioned, each with ensuite bathroom, NZ made toiletries, chandelier and fireplace in living rooms, wifi, bedwarmer, green and well maintained gardens with lovely daisy every where, and yes, the fresh air and lovely bird singing every morning too.

Every morning my breakfast was hearty yet perfect, with freshly baked croissants, eggs, home-made muesli, jams, toasts, NZ comb honey (nice!) on blue-and-white english dinnerware -- lovely. Definitely worth staying with truly heartwarming experience of Auckland lifestyle.

Location-wise, it is 15 mins from Auckland city centre by Britomart (Bus services) with friendly bus drivers providing change even though you do not have exact amount. Mount Eden is nearby, at the top you could view unblocked scenery of Auckland city (Skytower, Devonport, Mt. Rangitoto, etc). Popular eateries are nearby (Molten, Fraser, De Post Belgian Cafe) and were crowded with people on weekends.

I travel mostly for work hence accustomed to hotels. Even though this time I travelled for leisure, instead of being awkward, I had experienced truly heartwarming accommodation in Auckland.

Unforgettable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ThomasBYLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edenvilla, Owner at Eden Villa Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thomas - Thank you for your review, and many thanks for the fun we shared whilst you were staying with us. We both look forward to your next visit to NZ.
Best Wishes
Christine & Antony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Fabulous place to stay. Large and very comfortable property maintained by Christine and Anthony (and the long suffering cats).
Awesome healthful breakfast prepared with care. No cheap foods here.
Bedrooms tastefully furnished. I loved the comfort. Crisp, clean white linen on a beautiful queen sized bed.
The ensuite was just brilliant with underfloor heating. White, fluffy better that hotel quality towels (and plenty of them).
I should have bought the skin products that were in the bathroom, just superb quality....damn!
Exceptional value for money, great service by very special people.

All the best
Ann H

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sirrah-The-Awesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edenvilla, Owner at Eden Villa Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you Ann. we look forward to welcoming you to Eden Villa again. it was our pleasure to have you to stay
Kind regards
Christine & Antony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

What previous contributors say is all true! The pictures from their website look exactly the same on site. WYSIWYG.

I like to walk around in their back garden with ingredients growing to make a nice salad.

What I also like is their location. Set in a cosy village with cafes, bars, restaurants and shops.

A small track off the road, not too far from the back of the villa, leads you to the top of Mount Eden. It takes a bit of effort to reach the top but it’s worth it for the view of Auckland city! Come down from Mount Eden via the road. Once you reached to the main road, turn left and walk another 5 minutes and you’ll be back in town again. Stop by for coffee at a café in the corner of the cross road. Or a beer at the Belgian Beer Café housed in a former post office. The mussels are very good there.

There are 3 bus services to take you into town that ends at Britomart Transport Centre. The bus stop, in front of a wine shop, has a digital indicator showing the arrival times of the next bus. $1.90 for the 15 minute trip and the bus driver accepts dollar notes and gives you change.

Thanks Christine and Antony, we had a fab time staying with you!

Room Tip: Room at the back has a door leading to the garden.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edenvilla, Owner at Eden Villa Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for such a nice review. It was a real pleasure to have you all to stay. We are delighted that we were able to make your stay in Auckland a happy one.
Best Wishes
Christine & Antony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Where can you get a place that provides quality accomodation, friendly host and a place that has the home comforts that truly has character representing Mt Eden village area in Auckland city. This is my impression of Eden Villa after having stayed there for a total of 8 days.

The bed is good enough to make me want to skip breakfast. But you wont want to skip B fast because its amzaing.The living area overlooking the garden is comfy with a wood burning fireplace giving the place plenty of character. There is oveflowing of fruit provided for us in the kitchen which i liked. The formal room in the front, which we also used, is very pleasant with a fireplace. The host, Anthony and Christine, even allowed us to used their quality wine glasses. More importantly, Christine and Antony were very helpful and warm but also provided space for me and my friends to be alone to enjoy the house and garden.

In total - highly recommneded for visitor who likes quality accomodation in a character room but having the facilities of mod-con.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vincent K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edenvilla, Owner at Eden Villa Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Vincent - many thanks for your lovely words. We enjoyed your visit and the many humorous moments we shared. Take care and we look forward to welcoming you back at some other time.
Best Wishes
Christine & Antony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We had a lovely stay at Eden Villa when visiting Auckland for one night for a Bledisloe rugby game. Christine and Antony made us very welcome and the rooms were warm and inviting. The bathroom and bedroom were very clean, private and well provisioned. We also particularly enjoyed Christine's homemade muesli and her kind hospitality. We will definitely recommend staying at Eden Villa to others.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edenvilla, Owner at Eden Villa Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Thank you Jenny . We enjoyed meeting you both and look forward to welcoming you to Eden Villa again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews