We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You won't find service like this in a normal hotel. Stay here!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eden Villa Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Auckland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Eden Villa Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 54 Auckland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You won't find service like this in a normal hotel. Stay here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

What previous contributors say is all true! The pictures from their website look exactly the same on site. WYSIWYG.

I like to walk around in their back garden with ingredients growing to make a nice salad.

What I also like is their location. Set in a cosy village with cafes, bars, restaurants and shops.

A small track off the road, not too far from the back of the villa, leads you to the top of Mount Eden. It takes a bit of effort to reach the top but it’s worth it for the view of Auckland city! Come down from Mount Eden via the road. Once you reached to the main road, turn left and walk another 5 minutes and you’ll be back in town again. Stop by for coffee at a café in the corner of the cross road. Or a beer at the Belgian Beer Café housed in a former post office. The mussels are very good there.

There are 3 bus services to take you into town that ends at Britomart Transport Centre. The bus stop, in front of a wine shop, has a digital indicator showing the arrival times of the next bus. $1.90 for the 15 minute trip and the bus driver accepts dollar notes and gives you change.

Thanks Christine and Antony, we had a fab time staying with you!

Room Tip: Room at the back has a door leading to the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lorky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edenvilla, Owner at Eden Villa Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Thank you for such a nice review. It was a real pleasure to have you all to stay. We are delighted that we were able to make your stay in Auckland a happy one.
Best Wishes
Christine & Antony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
165
19
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Where can you get a place that provides quality accomodation, friendly host and a place that has the home comforts that truly has character representing Mt Eden village area in Auckland city. This is my impression of Eden Villa after having stayed there for a total of 8 days.

The bed is good enough to make me want to skip breakfast. But you wont want to skip B fast because its amzaing.The living area overlooking the garden is comfy with a wood burning fireplace giving the place plenty of character. There is oveflowing of fruit provided for us in the kitchen which i liked. The formal room in the front, which we also used, is very pleasant with a fireplace. The host, Anthony and Christine, even allowed us to used their quality wine glasses. More importantly, Christine and Antony were very helpful and warm but also provided space for me and my friends to be alone to enjoy the house and garden.

In total - highly recommneded for visitor who likes quality accomodation in a character room but having the facilities of mod-con.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincent K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edenvilla, Owner at Eden Villa Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Vincent - many thanks for your lovely words. We enjoyed your visit and the many humorous moments we shared. Take care and we look forward to welcoming you back at some other time.
Best Wishes
Christine & Antony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We had a lovely stay at Eden Villa when visiting Auckland for one night for a Bledisloe rugby game. Christine and Antony made us very welcome and the rooms were warm and inviting. The bathroom and bedroom were very clean, private and well provisioned. We also particularly enjoyed Christine's homemade muesli and her kind hospitality. We will definitely recommend staying at Eden Villa to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edenvilla, Owner at Eden Villa Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you Jenny . We enjoyed meeting you both and look forward to welcoming you to Eden Villa again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed at Eden Villa most of January while we were in New Zealand for our son's wedding. This was our second time in Auckland and Eden Villa is the place we will definitely go back to whenever we visit in the future! Christine and Anthony made us so welcome to their beautiful home and we will always appreciate how their warmth and humour helped to make our stay really special. The villa and gardens are stunning, all the rooms are fantastic, beautiful and tastefully decorated, and the location is perfect with interesting shops and a great range of restaurants in Mount Eden village 3 - 5 minutes walk from the villa. The views over Auckland from the top of Mount Eden are stunning and it is only a 10 minute bus ride on the regular bus service to central Auckland and the harbour if you want to go into town. We were greeted by Anthony with a very welcome cup of tea after our long flight and felt so much at home from the beginning of our stay. We enjoyed many lovely breakfasts (loved the muesli!) and the company of Anthony and Christine and their amazing range of guests, Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

We enjoyed 2 lovely days at Eden Villa.Christine and Antony were so welcoming,our room was gorgeous,spotlessly clean with the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in.
The room had everything that you could possibly need.We enjoyed a delicious breakfast starting with Christines home made muesli.
Eden Villa is in a great location,nice restaurantsand cafescloseby.It is easy to get into the centre of Auckland by bus,it takes about 10 minutes.
We would highly recommend Eden Villa
Linda & John Griffiths Liverpool England

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GRIFFITHSX1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2012

A beautiful and characterful house, lovely bedroom and very welcoming host in Antony who looked after us very well indeed. We were able to walk from here to climb up and see the views from Mt Eden and then down into the centre of town. There are restaurants just around the corner and the airport bus drops off just at the end of the road.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hanwelldiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Our daughter and her bridesmaids prepared for her wedding at Eden Villa.They were even able to walk to the wedding venue from there. It was an ideal address close by to Mantells where she was married. The bride and bridesmaids were very toasty warm with heat pumps in each room.
Christine and Antony were very accommodating, friendly and kind and nothing was a problem to them. Breakfast was lovely with the table laid out beautifully. Food was especially good.
They even tolerated my grandchildren running through the house and in the garden and chasing
Sweep the beautiful cat. We would highly recommend Eden Villa. Lynne Evans Auckland

Room Tip: All were perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.8 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,977 reviews
2.9 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,142 reviews
1.0 mi away
Eden Park Bed & Breakfast
Eden Park Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 54 in Auckland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ascot Parnell Boutique Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Villa Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Villa Bed & Breakfast

Property: Eden Villa Bed & Breakfast
Address: 16 Poronui Street | Mt Eden, Auckland 1024, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A delightful boutique Bed & Breakfast in a central leafy Auckland suburb. Each room is decorated with tasteful furnishings and luxurious linen. Guests have access to a variety of restaurants, cafes and bars, all within a five minute walk. Guests can relax on the deck overlooking the garden. A truly tranquil and gracious home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Eden Villa Bed & Breakfast Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing