We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wouldn't return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel
Ranked #10 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wouldn't return”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

On arrival we we found the staff was very rude towards us at first. We had booked 2 nights car park only to be told that only one was booked. We asked for a mini service all this consisted off was replacing new towels, our old towels were not even removed, there was nothing else done within our room.
Our heater was not working when we tried to turn it on, and when making the booking it said that the pool would be available and it was closed.
The parking when booking stated $16 per night we were charged $20 per night on arrival. We paid $150 per night and got really bad service and a lot of attitude.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Jodie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher W, General Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of St Martins.
We were disappointed to hear of your check in experience and we will be discussing this and your mini service issues with the people concerned.

I understand from staff that a replacement heater was requested and supplied to your room. We hope this helped.

Our pool has been closed once this month due to a bottle being dropped from a high floor and glass being in the pool, otherwise our pool is open until the beginning of May but the cover is kept on to keep the pool warm.

Regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    459
    218
    77
    40
See reviews for
510
228
35
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Great location and large room.

Missing air conditioning, small pool full of leaves, need to swipe card to go to other floors making travel with other hard ( I had to climb 6 floors up fire escape to visit family and hope they would let me in),

The Langham was $25 more and much much better

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lambton71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher W, General Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of St Martins

Our Pool is cleaned every morning but unfortunately with an outdoor pool we have no control over the leaves that drop from the surrounding trees in Autumn time. As you can imagine these same trees provide lovely shade in the summer time.

As a security measure your swipe card keys only access your own floor that you are staying on.
Staff are only to happy to provide a solution if you have family on other levels.

Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

I was of the opinion that serviced apartments offered good value compared to traditional hotels, but I'm increasingly of the opinion that I'm wrong. The reviews - inevitably early after opening - are great. Then they go down hill. I suspect the problem is that many are private investments, and the maintenance of the rooms just is too hard. Our room was a 'superior double' and it was grubby. Also it was really cramped and there was no storage so I find it hard to believe people found it useful for long term accommodation (unless they used one bedroom for a wardrobe!).

You can't sleep with windows open (even on the 15th) because of noise. Overly long and dirty curtains hung limply in the corner. The kitchen needed a phone call to reception to work out how to start the oven (why was there no instructions?)

Don't get me wrong -the reception staff were polite and helpful - I think the whole apartment thing has problems long term. Stick to these only if they opened yesterday.

Location wise, this is not bad - you are near K road, but if you want to enjoy the wharf/water area look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking sky city. The rooms on the other side overlook some water views, but als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocky_and_Biglegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher W, General Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of St Martins.

We value your opinion with regard to Serviced Apartment Hotels. All Waldorf Hotels are managed and run by the Waldorf Group with 24 hour reception and security.

We are disappointed that you found your apartment on the 15th floor unsuitable for your needs.

When you stay with us again please do contact reception for any needs or amenities that you may require.

Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

Very unique type of central city accommodation.Modern, spacious well equipped hotel apartments which are leased for few weeks based on weekly very attractive rate.Excellenet solution if you ( like us) need accommodation for few weeks and avid high daily hotel rate or committing to a long term real estate lease. We need an apartment for 3 weeks while refurbishing our home and find this as a great solution.Very reasonable rate, free light breakfast daily, secured and well located

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valous66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

We stayed here as part of an extended family holiday - booked 2 x 2-bedroom apartments. Good quality for the price we paid, with continental breakfast included. Do not expect a lavish breakfast, but it was sufficient for us. Easy walk from the first stop of the Airbus Express (from the airport). About 20 minute walk into the centre of town (a bit longer on the way back as it's uphill). This was the cheapest apartment hotel in Auckland of this standard I could find and worth it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Li_Li
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

Our group was made up of my elderly parents, myself and my teen-aged daughter. We arrived at the habitual check-out time, and as there were no free rooms, staff provided a comfortable seating area and prioritised cleaning so that we cold check-in before the posted check-in time. I'd requested a high floor and received modern, bright, clean rooms on the top floor with sweeping views of the city and waterfront. All amenities for a short stay in an apartment were provided - a useful kitchen with dishwashing liquid and detergent for both the washing machine and dishwasher, as well as salt, pepper and sugar, all in single use and/or hygienic packaging. I particularly appreciated this, in other such places I have stayed, one has had to buy large sizes oneself that cannot be used up during a short stay.
It is situated beside a quaint old cemetery, Auckland's oldest, if I am not mistaken. It is quite close to the commercial district, but due to the many hills that must be negotiated to get around, for walking purposes, it is better suited to people fit, and good on their feet. Having said that, there are many bus stops in the vicinity. The "Inner Link" bus does a circular route from close to the hotel through Ponsonby, teh Custom's House Area, Parnell, New Market and Auckland Domain back to the hotel for $1.90.
The hotel also has a very well-priced arrangement for airport transfer, equal to the cost of the airport express bus for 2 people and even less, for groups of 3 or more.
The 1GB iintwrnet access contingent I purchased was surprisingly exhaused after less than 5 hours of low bandwidth online activity.
Check-out, as check-in, was fast and efficient.
It was an excellent stay that could only have been made even better if there had been free wifi.

Room Tip: Great views of Auckland from the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Glad147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
168 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed here recently as a group of 4 on the weekend that Auckland hosted the NRL Nines. This hotel was fully booked, as were all others in Auckland that weekend, but the staff at Waldorf St Martins processed all the checkins/checkouts so efficiently and were polite & helpful. Pedro was particularly helpful when we realised there had been a mistake with our bedding configuration, he personally attended to it quickly and we very much appreciated this.
The apartment was clean and had a supply of good utensils in the kitchen. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the higher floors to get the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thelawsons_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.9 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,068 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 66 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
0.7 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
1.5 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 66 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel

Property: Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel
Address: St Martins Waldorf Apartments 6-12 St Martins Lane | Grafton, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf St. Martins offers 4.5 Star self-contained apartments on the border of Auckland's Upper Central Business District and Grafton, close to Auckland's two largest tertiary institutions, Auckland City Hospital and Starship Children's Health. Close to Auckland City and Newmarket, Waldorf St. Martins offers high quality secure accommodation at competitive rates. Self-cater in our fully equipped kitchens or dine at one of Auckland's many nearby restaurants and cafes. Nearby are two central Auckland parks, Albert Park with its beautifully manicured gardens and Auckland Domain, home to the Auckland War Memorial Museum and Wintergarden. Easily accessible by car or bus from Waldorf St. Martins are the eclectic suburbs of Newmarket, Ponsonby, Mt. Eden and Kingsland - all popular dining and shopping destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing