We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“quite good auckland accommodationoption”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel
Moscow, Russia
1 review
“quite good auckland accommodationoption”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights never having stayed at a Waldorf property before and were very pleasantly surprised.
Our 1 bedroom hotel apartment on the 15th floor was spotlessly clean and well-equipped with a huge bed, TV, balcony, washing machine and tumble dryer and a small kitchen. We had views up and down on the city skyline It was pretty much perfect for us.Internet servicewas speedyand the reception stafvery polite
Both days we had the complemntry breakfast. ..breakfast were great and the serving staff and cook in the restaurant were friendly and helpful.
We were so pleased with this thishotelthat we made a point of staying with them everywhere we could while on our trip around the North Island in our current| NZ visit

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charoolily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf_APTS_NZ, Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Charoolily thank you for your positive review of St Martins. I have passed your comments about the cleanliness of the rooms onto housekeeping as they work hard to ensure that rooms are spotlessly clean. We feel that we present a quality experience and it is great to have this backed up by satisfied guests. It is also great that you used our recommended accommodation partners on your travels in the North Island.
Jeannette, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    470
    229
    78
    42
See reviews for
520
233
35
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Was recently up in Auckland at a conference and all participants were booked into the St. Martins Waldorf Apartment Hotel. The room I stayed in was clean, sleek and contemporary with every amenity. On leaving I inadvertently left my GHD Hair Straighteners in the room and discovered it the next morning on my return to the Kapiti Coast so I rang and enquired...was put on to the General Manager, Kit who arranged to have them posted back to me. A friendly email later informed me that because the cost of postage was under $10, no money would be deducted from my credit card. How awesomely cool of them!!!
Maria

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MARIA E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf_APTS_NZ, Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Maria thank you for your good review of St Martins. It was our pleasure to return your GHD Hair Straighteners to you. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.
Jeannette Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

OK location, decent staff but really all this could not overcome the terrible grading I have to give as per the uncleaned room, poor & uneven lighting and my heavy suspicion of bed bugs from dirty linen. The duvets were obviously dirty.

Unfortunately this was not a novel experience just for me as my other colleagues who also stayed during the same weekend had similar experiences.

Heavily disappointing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abduljaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf_APTS_NZ, Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you Abduljaba for your review of St Martins. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I am surprised by your comments of unclean rooms and bedding as all rooms are completely cleaned and all bed linen replaced with freshly laundered stock when each guest checks out and before a new guest checks in. As to your reference of bed bugs - all of our mattresses are steam cleaned on a regular basis as per suppliers recommendations to ensure that this does not happen. It is unfortunate that you did not discuss your issues with management prior to leaving.
Jeannette Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Had three wicked nights at this location with my daughter and her partner. Very centrally located. Wicked view on the 16th floor. All staff very hospitable. Tight parking for a very big vehicle, but we managed okay. Full kitchen facilities which suited our stay. Would recommend and would love the opportunity to stay again. Even had our own washing machine, so the kids were able to return overseas with clean clothes. Staff even left the Heat Pump on when they serviced our room so that the kids clothes could dry while we were out for the day. Well done and thank You.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf_APTS_NZ, Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Helen C, thank you for your positive review of St Martins. We are really pleased that you enjoyed the three night accommodation and views from your superior rooms with your daughter and partner before they returned overseas.
I agree the entrance to the car park is challenging at first but it does get easier each time you enter or exit. A number of our rooms do have washing machines and our communal laundry downstairs which is free to hotel guests also has commercial size driers. We look forward to you being our guest again in the future. Jeannette Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We had a two bedroom apartment with kitchenette which was excellent value for money - great location - handy to downtown Auckland. Lovely clean facilities and great service. Breakfasts were only $10 per person and good value. Highly recommend...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf_APTS_NZ, Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you Fiona M for the review of your recent stay at St Martins. We agree that our location is a good one and central to a number of venues, activities and locations as well as being central to a major bus network for the city. We are pleased you found our breakfast and accommodation rates value for money. We look forward to seeing you again in the future when you next visit Auckland.
Jeannette Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
219 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I write this as I am sitting in the apartment that myself and my colleague rented for a work visit to Auckland. Today is the last night of a 9 night stay. We decided to rent an apartment over staying in a hotel since we were going to be in Auckland for a number of nights.
This has been great value for us, renting a 2 bedroom apartment at $140/night. The location was particularly convenient for us since it was rather close for us to go visit clients. But for holiday makers, it is in the upper part of the central city and a pleasant stroll down Queen St. to the waterfront (but I call 20-25 minutes a pleasant stroll). It is also a pleasant stroll to Newmarket which is a good area to shop and dine.
The apartment has a great view of the city (if not of the endless traffic and the traffic noise of Auckland) and close to many places to eat. There isn't really a grocery shop close by however and you will have to walk a bit. The apartment itself is well equipped with a kitchen and it is comfortable and has a modern decor. The building is quiet and I slept very well.
I am guessing since these are apartments, they don't come by everyday to clean the rooms, which I am fine with. We had someone come by once during the stay for cleaning, but they came by more often to give fresh towels and replace toilet paper and other such things.
The front reception desk was helpful and pleasant.
The only overpriced item I would say is the internet rates, although I don't think it's out of line with what other accommodation in Auckland charge. As we discovered upon payment, we are charged every time you need to reconnect to the wifi. For some reason, it had forced us to log in twice on the first day and it will charge you each time you need to do this. We explained to the front desk that it would have been impossible for us to already pass our week's internet limit within a few hours since we had been out almost the whole of our first day in Auckland and they kindly charged us only for the standard week of internet.
Overall, this was a great stay. I may have to come to Auckland again later this year and I will definitely be booking to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GloJul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf_APTS_NZ, Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
GloJul Thank you for your review. We agree that the great thing about our location is that it is in close proximity to both the Central City and Newmarket. Both provide good shopping and cafes. The stroll down hill to Queen Street and on to the Viaduct is a relaxing walk but did you realise that you can catch a "red bus" back up the hill? This lets you off in "K" Road and then it is a 5 minute flat ground walk to St Martins.
There is a grocery store close by in "K" Road opposite the bus stop that provides fresh meat, fruit and vegetables amongst other items.
Our apartments are fully cleaned every fourth day of a stay with replacement of towels, empty of rubbish every second day.
I am pleased that your WIFI charge was sorted out satisfactorily and we look forward to greeting you again in the near future.
Jeannette Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The Waldorf apartments are just a small walk to the main city highlights. Although we booked a one bed apartment we were given a two bed which had heaps of space, plenty for two adults and an infant (with porta cot). The main bed was a king and was very comfortable. It also had a little kitchenette if you wanted to prepare anything. Apartment was also modern and very clean and shower was great. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lu_rvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf_APTS_NZ, Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
lu_rvs thank you for your review of St Martins. We were pleased to give you a complimentary upgrade to a two bedroom apartment. Guests often comment on the comfort of our beds and we are glad that you have found it to be so also. The nice difference between a hotel and self contained apartments is the self sufficiency aspect that a lot of guests appreciate. When you return for your next stay with us please feel free to ask staff if you require or are not sure of anything.
Jeannette Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.9 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,132 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.7 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
1.5 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#1 of 67 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel

Property: Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel
Address: St Martins Waldorf Apartments 6-12 St Martins Lane | Grafton, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 113 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf St. Martins offers 4.5 Star self-contained apartments on the border of Auckland's Upper Central Business District and Grafton, close to Auckland's two largest tertiary institutions, Auckland City Hospital and Starship Children's Health. Close to Auckland City and Newmarket, Waldorf St. Martins offers high quality secure accommodation at competitive rates. Self-cater in our fully equipped kitchens or dine at one of Auckland's many nearby restaurants and cafes. Nearby are two central Auckland parks, Albert Park with its beautifully manicured gardens and Auckland Domain, home to the Auckland War Memorial Museum and Wintergarden. Easily accessible by car or bus from Waldorf St. Martins are the eclectic suburbs of Newmarket, Ponsonby, Mt. Eden and Kingsland - all popular dining and shopping destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing