We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and good value for money.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We booked a 2 bedroom apartment which can accommodate a maximum of 5 adults for 6 nights. The apartment has a full kitchen and located around 15 minutes to the center and very accessible to public transport. It included a free light breakfast. The service in the breakfast room was prompt and friendly. There is also a pancake machine, which was quite popular for all ages, although it broke down once in a while. The booked accommodation also included free internet access - but this depends on the type of booking made. The hotel is also very near restaurants, cafes and shopping areas which made it convenient for self-caterers.

One night, we were awakened abruptly by the fire alarm. We thought that we might have triggered it, and after contacting the reception we were requested to leave the building via the stairs. It was quite a shock. A lot of people were already out on the street and the fire brigade has already arrived. Apparently, it was just a false alarm, so we were allowed back to the building after about half an hour. It was amazing how well the whole affair was managed - no panic at all.

We can surely recommend this apartment hotel to families.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Exelcis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf_APTS_NZ, Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2013

Exelcis. Thank you for your review of St Martins and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Our staff have been instructed on how to deal with a fire alarm and I am pleased that this training has paid off
Jeannette
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,257)
There are newer reviews for Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,026 - 1,032 of 1,257 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

We ended up at the Waldorf due to having a sick child at starship hospital. The location to the hospital is outstanding, it’s a nice little walk across the Grafton bridge and then you are virtually there. We were there for 2 weeks and found the Waldorf very comfortable and suited our family function well. We found the reception staff are helpful and friendly. Down stairs there are some vending machines for cold cokes and drinks and nibbles for those hot summer days. There is also a Jasons DLE stand displaying the things to do around Auckland that would certainly give visitors and tourists some great ideas and good information.

The rooms are clean and the kitchenette has the amenities to cook some basic meals. As mention above all the basics are in the room to function well. The rooms were a little warm in the evenings but fans are supplied, we also need to remember it is the middle of summer. As with most spots in Auckland, parking is a premium so this needs to be booked.

It’s not in the middle of the city but we certainly enjoyed going to evening walks down to Queen St which takes about 10 min with kids. But certainly perfect location if you need access to hospitals.

Value for money we think it is good especially for you take advantage of the weekly rates.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike and Annema... G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf_APTS_NZ, Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Mike and Annema....Thank you for your comprehensive description of what St Martins has to offer. We appreciate the feedback. We hope your child is progressing well and look forward to you staying with us again in the future.

Jeannette
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed a night in an appartment before heading home and found the hotel to be in a fair location not too far from shopping areas and a short cab $15 to viaduct area. Rooms are modern and have all the required bits and bobs to be comfortable. Parking overnight in area next to hotel begins at 4pm for $8 if no hotel parking is available.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarrynF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf_APTS_NZ, Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

DarrynF. Thank you for your review and we look forward to having you stay with us in the future.

Jeannette
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Called the day before check in to book parking, was told the car park was full, didn't check my booking or take name, nothing, On arrival we were more than happy turns out they pre allocated a space when we booked so they could have just checked the booking and put minds at rest, non the less, requested a room with a view and got the top floor facing the city skyline, excellent! Lovely room everything you could ask for inside, one gripe was the broken grill, reported to maid, on day 4 still not repaired, checked with reception, apparently it wasn't recorded. Asked why we hadn't had a room service or fresh towels by the 4th day, got told if you have a complaint write it on your room comment card! Asked if someone could at least take our rubbish away, yes they replied someone will be up straight away! The rubbish was still there when we checked out a day later. To summarise, nice hotel, good facilities, great views, poor service, appalling staff attitudes.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D14URY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf_APTS_NZ, Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

D14URY Thank you for your review. As you know you raised these issues with myself on check out and I have discussed your concerns with the relevant staff.

Jeannette
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Like some other travellers I was disappointed by the apartments after viewing the web and seeing the brochures. My biggest complaint was that on a very warm and humid Auckland evening there was no air conditioning and when we asked at reception were told that there was a fan in the room. 1 fan for 2 bedrooms and the only other option was leaving the door open to hear the traffic noise.
The bathroom itself was tiny with getting in and out of the shower a bit of a struggle. The rest was adequate, with a reasonable amount of space and fittings that were fine. Overall I was disappointed with the staff attitude as they were less than helpful and the entire expeience was to hot and stuffy for my liking.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PterW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf_APTS_NZ, Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

PterW. Unfortunately we do not have air conditioning and this is an area to be investigated in 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

We (2 adults, 2 children aged 8 and 12) stayed 4 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment. The apartment was good value, clean and had a district view. It wasn't huge but it adequately accommodated our family. It contained a washing machine.
I was not very optomistic about the location of the apartment when I booked it, but the location is much better than it appears on a map. It is in a nice, leafy part of Auckland, near the hospital and university. There is a cemetery across the street, but it is very old, historic and actually quite beautiful. There are places to eat close by.
The breakfast provided by Waldorf was quite good - fruit, cereal, bread/toast, fresh pancakes, juice, tea and coffee. It was also exceptionally good value.
We thought that the reception staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeahSydney01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf_APTS_NZ, Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

LeahSydney01. You are correct when you say that the cemetary across the road ius very old as it is one of the original ones in Auckland where all the VIPs were laid to rest. It is beautiful with all the trees isn't it.
We are glad that you all enjoyed the great value breakfast.
Our location is fairly central with 10 bus stops including the airport bus within a 5 minute walk.
Thank you for your comments about staff. It is appreciated.

Jeannette
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

The brochures and websites look amazing but I was quite disappointed with the reality.The rooms were tiny, kitchen was very poorly equipped, with the knives being blunt enough to make cutting strawberries a nightmare.The bathroom was alright but the lock was not working .The staff seemed to be inexperienced and helpless in certain situations . There was no washing machine in the apartment and the fact that we had to pay two dollars for every wash at a communal laundry service in the basement was very infuriating.Looking at the good aspects of the stay, beds and sheets were immaculate and there were lots of coffee and tea sachets :)
I would recommend this place only if you are someone who is looking for a comfortable bed and a competent price .

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank Tarun C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf_APTS_NZ, Manager at Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

TarunC. I am sorry that you found our fully equipped kitchens insifficient to your needs. I will also ask staff to check the knives in the kitchen drawers.
I am concerned that you had to pay $2 for laundry tokens as these are free to hotel guests.
We are pleased that you found our bedding, cleanliness and other facilities acceptable.

Jeannette
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.9 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#19 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,658 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 66 in Auckland Central
688 reviews
0.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
965 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#13 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 66 in Auckland Central
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel

Address: St Martins Waldorf Apartments 6-12 St Martins Lane | Grafton, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 131 Specialty Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: $96 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf St. Martins offers 4.5 Star self-contained apartments on the border of Auckland's Upper Central Business District and Grafton, close to Auckland's two largest tertiary institutions, Auckland City Hospital and Starship Children's Health. Close to Auckland City and Newmarket, Waldorf St. Martins offers high quality secure accommodation at competitive rates. Self-cater in our fully equipped kitchens or dine at one of Auckland's many nearby restaurants and cafes. Nearby are two central Auckland parks, Albert Park with its beautifully manicured gardens and Auckland Domain, home to the Auckland War Memorial Museum and Wintergarden. Easily accessible by car or bus from Waldorf St. Martins are the eclectic suburbs of Newmarket, Ponsonby, Mt. Eden and Kingsland - all popular dining and shopping destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing