We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay, Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel
Reviewed March 27, 2011

We shared a 2 bedroom/1 bath with our friends (another couple) for two nights and it worked very well. This Waldorf is a 15-20 minute walk to the wharf, the city bus is just outside the door and convenient.. Our apartment was clean, the front desk helpful and knowledgeable about the area, and breakfast was perfect. The apartment had cooking facilities but we did not use them. The LINK bus was just outside the hotel, a good way to see the city. The Waldorf is a great place for a short term stay, not quite an apartment, more a hotel. We were not able to check in until 4 pm. Since it was pouring rain the first night of our stay we ordered pizza from Hell. There was internet available for a fee. We took in the Sky Tower and had a fabulous dinner at the Soul Bistro on the waterfront at Viaduct Harbor. The Super Shuttle from the airport was convenient, reasonable and took us right to the Waldorf. Super Shuttle also took us to the car rental near the airport to pickup our car for our next adventure.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank EHRINCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 5, 2011

Thanks for your review of Waldorf St Martins.

It certainly sounds like you crammed a lot into your short stay with us!

We are happy that the apartment fulfilled your needs and hope that you will return to us on your next visit to Auckland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,176 - 1,182 of 1,319 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2011

Great balcony, providing nice view of Auckland's CBD and bay. All new kitchen and appliances, clean and quiet premises, spacious rooms. Located opposite to Langham and is a much newer and pleasant place to stay, especially if you're lucky to book a top floor!

Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
14  Thank PavelK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 5, 2011

Thanks for your recent review of Waldorf St Martins, although obviously we are not located in Moscow!

We are so pleased that you were happy with the apartment and hope that you will return to visit in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

Modern accomodation parking additional cost so check when booking.Great appliances for washing. Kitchen utensils,pots and pans needs improving.Great location easy walking for central CBD remember the hills. The major drawback is the noise and no air conditioning which makes the nights hot sticky and loud. TV channels also need sorting picture quality poor, and the TV should be lower on the wall for neck comfort.Overall good accomodation and you will be comfortable for your stay in central Auckland.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank tinaTimaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 5, 2011

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay at Waldorf St Martins.

We are glad that you were satisfied with the accommodation.

We do provide parking free of charge on bookings that come via our own website.

Hopefully we will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2011

per title
not bad for the price
decent location - though next to cemetary, hard to find at first if new in town, though auckland's street signs suck!
a few small coffee shops around
extra long walk to CBD if you don't have a car
great clean rooms with good amenities, though no ac in the rooms so on warmer days it will be VERY stuffy; some rooms don't have the washer dryers as advertised because they have broken down and hasn't been replaced. They do have laundry room on the lower floors though not convenient if you have to lug stuff down and up
staff at reception were nice and helpful
overall quite satified

Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
12  Thank travellingcanuck70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 5, 2011

Thanks for your recent review of Waldorf St Martins.

We are pleased that, on the whole, you enjoyed your stay with us.

As the apartments are located at the top of the CBD it is around a 15 minute walk downtown.

We have updated all of our website affiliates with the fact that not all rooms have washer/dryer facilities in them now, but Waldorf does offer alternative city centre properties which do contain these facilities in the room.

Your positive comments on the reception staff are most welcomed.

Hopefully you will return for a visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

I chose this because Auckland was very full and the usual places we stay were not available. it looked pretty good from its own web site and from the Tripadvisor reviews and it is OK if what you are looking for is a high-rise motel. But the service is minimal (rooms are not made up every day) and the two bedroom apartment we had had bedrooms which were not big enough for the beds they had put in them. The decor is awful (why do people use carpet except to hide the dirt) and the kitchen while it has everything is furnished with cheap appliances. The place is basically run on the cheap and while it is new it will remain OK but I'd hate to see it in a couple of years' time. By over-priced Auckland standards it is quite good value so if economy is one of your objects I would recommend it , but we will definitely not stay there again. Having said that, that has been my comment after most Auckland stays so I guess that if you go to Auckland you jsut have to accept sub-standard.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank GeorgehRosenberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 5, 2011

Thanks for your recent review of Waldorf St Martins.

From your review we can see that you are a frequent visitor to Auckland and it seems that you do actually rate the accommodation for the price paid quite highly in relation to other city centre accommodation that is on offer.

We certainly don't claim anywhere to be a full service hotel and wouldn't market ourselves in the hotel division, but we do offer daily mini services for stays of 7 nights or less and 1 mini & 1 full service per week for stays of more than 7 nights.

Waldorf do have several Auckland central properties available so hopefully you can enjoy a stay in an alternative property in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

My husband & I were surprised at the size of the apartment. It had everything Laundry,kitche etccycle . communal washing machine, and very very nice blaconyThe balcony was spacious, but it was quite chilly so we didn't spend that much time outside. It's located close to the Domain and 3 minutes drive from Queen Street Choose a room which front these beuatiful water views if possible.The apartment was well equipped and clean.The breakfast was ok and freee of chrage Our stay was very pleasant, would stay there again if I went back to Auckland . Its very close to CBDwhere all the action is but still at night you can enjoy quite and pleasnt area.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank divgordon00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 5, 2011

Thanks for your recent review of Waldorf St Martins.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the standard of the accommodation and the central location.

The free breakfast that is available by booking directly on our website certainly helps kick start the day!

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

I was only in the "hotel" for one evening, but that was definitely enough. Other than the semi-convenient location (walking distance to the city and Queen Street), this hotel is definitely overrated. First of all the hotel is down a narrow side street and across the street from an old cemetery. There are no pedestrians walking on this street, other than the few other guests staying in the hotel. Coming back late at night can feel a bit eery. The outdoor swimming pool is small and not maintained or clean. The rooms do not have air conditioning, and the temperature in the rooms can be quite unbearable. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Note: This hotel places a guarantee amount on your credit card when you arrive and is supposed to reverse it immediately when you check out. I checked out a week ago and still have it on my credit card.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JL818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 5, 2011

Thanks for your recent review of Waldorf St Martins.

We are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us and your review is certainly out of keeping with the ratings we normally receive.

The swimming pool is offered as an extra benefit for guests, we do not overly advertise the pool as a selling point of the hotel. However, your comments regarding cleanliness have been forwarded to the property management for their action.

St Martins is not advertised as having air conditioned rooms, although you may feel that this should be a pre-requisite for Auckland. We do have alternative air-conditioned city centre accommodation which may suit you for your next visit to Auckland.

We can confirm that the credit card hold is released upon departure but the length of time this takes to show on your statement does depend on your bank unfortunately, there is no way that we can expediate this process.

We do hope that, despite your unhappiness with this stay, you will return to an alternative Waldorf property in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
1.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#20 of 66 in Auckland Central
737 reviews
0.9 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,712 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#36 of 66 in Auckland Central
726 reviews
0.7 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,322 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel

Address: St Martins Waldorf Apartments 6-12 St Martins Lane | Grafton, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 132 Specialty Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: $102 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf St. Martins offers 4.5 Star self-contained apartments on the border of Auckland's Upper Central Business District and Grafton, close to Auckland's two largest tertiary institutions, Auckland City Hospital and Starship Children's Health. Close to Auckland City and Newmarket, Waldorf St. Martins offers high quality secure accommodation at competitive rates. Self-cater in our fully equipped kitchens or dine at one of Auckland's many nearby restaurants and cafes. Nearby are two central Auckland parks, Albert Park with its beautifully manicured gardens and Auckland Domain, home to the Auckland War Memorial Museum and Wintergarden. Easily accessible by car or bus from Waldorf St. Martins are the eclectic suburbs of Newmarket, Ponsonby, Mt. Eden and Kingsland - all popular dining and shopping destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing