We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, good rate but...”
Review of Oaktree Motel

Oaktree Motel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oaktree Motel
Ranked #47 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed November 17, 2011

I'm writing this review at 6am because I can't sleep. There's a constant dripping sound coming fom the floor above and it's really annoying. What a shame! Because this is otherwise a very pleasant motel in a great location - and the rates and quite reasonable.

Our room on the first floor is nicely presented and well provisioned. It's a tidy room with modern furnishings and a new bathroom.

But the dripping continues... my mother always told me that if you take care of the little things the big things will look after themselves. I'll pass this wisdom on to Ray, the proprietor.

I must say this location is terrific. Just south of the city and within walking distance of the Newmarket shopping precinct. We left the car here last night and caught the bus into town. The bus stop is opposite the motel.

Hey the dripping has stopped and therefore so has this review. I'm going back to bed.

Room Tip: Get a back room away from Great South Road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PANTHER029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (41)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 41 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2011

Major road closures meant I couldn't get from the north to Auckland easily.
I cancelled late with them - stayed where I was to ride out the storm - this motel could have charged me but they didn't. Stayed the next night even though not booked to support them.
Getting hooked on writing reviews if you get good service or kindness.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexandjoynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

We spent our first night in Auckland, New Zealand in this hotel and were pleasantly surprised. The New Zealanders, in general, keep everything clean and this hotel was the introductory example. When we arrived, the driveway and parking area was being swept with a broom, not an irritating leaf blower. We were supposed to pick up our travel documents at the Thrifty Rental Car counter at the airport, but they said they didn't have them. We thought maybe they would be at the hotel. They weren't. However, the proprietor eagerly assisted us with phone calls and coordination with our travel agent. Kudos for their incredible service.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oreo54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2010

Ray Lee and Oaktree Motel at first seemed a good place to send our secondary school netball team who were attending the North Island Championships. However, after booking in May for an August stay, 3 weeks prior to tournament I received a call from Ray saying that he had re-arranged his motel and could no longer accomodate us. Okay. He said he was very sorry but did not offer any other solution to our team in 3 weeks not having anywhere to stay. Nealy 2 months on (and after having to find alternative accomodation myself) he has still not returned the initial deposit paid to secure the booking back in May/June. He is full of excuses and is now not returning phone calls and emails as I continue to request the return of our money. What a joke!

Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
2  Thank ruthcol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

Ray Lee is a very obliging host and couldnt do enough for us whenever any problems arose. Has great wireless internet. If you have an issue, Ray will work with you, not against you. He also has 'hookups' with the motel (Tudor) next door. His attitude is more Kiwi than most Kiwis. Big Ups 2 Ray!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tawhiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2010

When we walked into the fairly dark and dated room of this motel the very first thing my wife noticed was, that there were a number, not just 1 or 2, semen stains on the bedspread. As disgusted as we were with that, we did decide to stay anyway as it was fairly late in the afternoon and we needed a bed. Upon closer inspection we noticed that the motel backed onto the railway line and that in turn was located between the motel and the freeway. After extremely little sleep due to the noise we were very happy to leave this place behind very early the following morning vowing never ever to return.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisNarreWarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2009

If you want a motel in Wellington you are pretty much forced to go to the strip south of Newmarket. We checked out at least 6 of them - most were depressing as hell, smelly & dirty, tiny, or decorated so dismally you might want to ring the Samaritans. The Oak Tree was the first cheerful, decently priced we viewed. The room was small but not tiny, decently furnished with a tiny bathroom but was airy. We bargained a good price for the room by initially walking out! The management were extremely friendly and helpful once we were staying there.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
2.3 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#51 of 66 in Auckland Central
353 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alpers Lodge
Alpers Lodge
#56 of 66 in Auckland Central
105 reviews
2 mi away
Ascotia off Queen
Ascotia off Queen
#53 of 66 in Auckland Central
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Tudor Court Motor Lodge
Tudor Court Motor Lodge
#38 of 66 in Auckland Central
82 reviews
6.3 mi away
New Haven Motel
New Haven Motel
#33 of 66 in Auckland Central
58 reviews
1.4 mi away
Mount Eden Motel
Mount Eden Motel
#57 of 66 in Auckland Central
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaktree Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaktree Motel

Address: 104 Great South Road | Newmarket, Auckland Central, Auckland, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $99 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaktree Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oaktree Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaktree Motel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing