We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location and great value for money”
Review of Bianco off Queen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bianco off Queen
Ranked #59 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We chose this place based on price and we were not disappointed. Can't think of a better location - off the main road so it was quieter than on Queen St itself and we had a great sleep in a very comfortable bed. This hotel is a few minutes walk from the heart of the city: galleries, nightclubs, theatres, cinemas, restaurants and all. It is also near transport links and has a stop for the airport bus just a minute away.
The room was great - warm, air-conditioned and all the facilities we needed - including dishwasher, washing machine and drier, oven, stove top and all the usual. We had our own private balcony, and the unit provided all the comfort and space we needed. I guess if we had decided to stay in the room for hours on end we may have started to feel that it was a little compact, but I imagine that for the majority of tourists/visitors the rooms would be ideal.
We were pleased with all aspects of our room service over our three days there, and the team at reception were friendly, helpful and always cheerful no matter what the hour. However we did find it unusual that the complementary snacks provided daily to each room, provided just one of everything - one yoghurt, one apple etc., when it was a double room with two guests.
I'd definitely stay there again and have already recommended it to friends and family.

Room Tip: rooms on the upper floors, west side have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bevan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilayJani, Manager at Bianco off Queen, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is great to hear that you were able to take advantage of our central location and explored the City. We are very glad to hear that you had a very positive experience. We pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient staff, so it is wonderful to hear that they assisted in making your stay even more enjoyable. Such encouraging reviews ensure that we work hard to maintain our standards. Thank you for your support. Your feed back has been passed on to the team.

Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Kind regards

Nilay Jani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (736)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

317 - 323 of 736 reviews

Reviewed August 6, 2013

From reading other reviews, and experiencing this place for myself, I think it's quite clear the hotel need to get rid of whatever team they have servicing these apartments, otherwise they would be fabulous!
My partner and I were so pleased with it, the city view, the spacious room, the generous balcony, two bathrooms, kitchen and utilities, free wifi, and right in the middle of Auckland for a price lower than many other hotels.
The downfalls were again the cleanliness. We stayed for four nights, and after eating at the dining table the first night, the crumbs had still not been vacuumed up on the day we left, so no suprise that we found ants crawling around on the carpet.
The breakfast was as commented previously, a little weak. We kept being given bananas, which neither of us like, but were never given a choice to anything else.
We did really enjoy staying here though. The front desk staff were happy and polite, navigating around Auckland from here was a breeze, and friends and family back home were made jealous with pictures of our city views.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views. Lower floors tend to pick up more street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pirate-princess2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilayJani, Manager at Bianco off Queen, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is great to hear that you were able to take advantage of our central location and explored the City. We are so glad to see that you embraced what we offer here at our property. Great rooms, Great price, Great location with Complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi. We truly appreciate it. I have passed on your recommendations and feedback to the relevant department heads to address.

We hope to see you welcome back in the near future.

Take care and safe travels back to Birmingham.

Kind regards

Nilay Jani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Location was very convenient but parking was a problem as it was too congested and expensive. Apartment we had was a 2 bedroom and we had to adjust the furniture slightly to place our luggages.
Saw many students staying there, Service was average only when we complained about incomplete cutlery as per their listing etc. One night the ground floor near the lifts smelled as someone threw up.
Otherwise it was reasonable if you just wanted a place to sleep and are outdoors most of the time .Free wifi and breakfast( generic cereals and free kiwifruit) were given to us. No heating in the upstairs bedroom.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tan_Peg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilayJani, Manager at Bianco off Queen, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback. It is great to hear that you were able to take advantage of our central location and explored the City. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better. There are a number of issues raised in your feedback that will help us improve as a property. I have passed on your recommendations and feedback to the relevant department heads to address.

We hope to see you back in the near future, thank you for your support.

Kind regards

Nilay Jani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We booked for 2 nights and held out for 1 - this is supposedly a 4-star Qualmark establishment. The room stank when we got there and had to have all windows open to get rid of the smell (stale cigarette smoke?). The carpet was filthy. We wore socks the whole time. We requested that the carpet be cleaned (had not even been vacuumed) as it was so dirty - stuff had been spilt onto the carpet and not cleaned etc. We left the room at 10am and arrived back at 4pm. Nothing had been done. The self service coffee / tea etc had not been replenished either. The complimentary "light continental breakfast" is a joke. We so disgusted that we packed our bags and left. To their credit they refunded 1 night's carpark fee ($25). Would definitely NOT recommend. Oh and the bed is like sleeping on a plank it is so hard...

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adelaborde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilayJani, Manager at Bianco off Queen, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

I thank you for taking the time to share the experience during your last stay.

We pride ourselves in offering a high level of service. I am very disappointed that we were not able to meet your expectations during your stay and we apologies that your experience was less than top notch.

There are a number of issues raised in your feedback that will help us improve as a property. I have passed on your recommendations and feedback to the relevant department heads to address

We would very much like the opportunity to discuss the points you have raised further, therefore can I kindly ask you, to contact me on boq.fom@vrhotels.co.nz at your convenience.

I would love to have you come back and give us another chance to prove that this is not usual for our hotel. Do not hesitate to contact me directly at boq.fom@vrhotels.co.nz if you might reconsider staying with us again in the future so I can ensure you a more comfortable stay.

Kind Regards,

Nilay Jani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Not bad, not 5 star though.

We needed somewhere cheap and easy to sleep, these apartments fit the bill. Staff were helpful, there was good amount of carparking. Rooms are well spec'd but the TVs were very small. If TV is importnat to you then these are not for you.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buds_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilayJani, Manager at Bianco off Queen, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review of our property and your positive comments on our location, friendly and helpful staff, hotel and room.

Take care and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Nilay Jani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights to see the city, the appartments are very close to city. The first thing I saw when I opened the door to the room was the carpet it was so dirty, the furniture in the main room very basic and shabby. The bed was clean and comfortable. The noise from the air-con motors of the building next door kept me awake most of the night. Large balcony. Kitchen was well equiped with a couple of extra guests (cockroaches). Shower was ok, washing machine and dryer handy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simcart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilayJani, Manager at Bianco off Queen, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is great to hear that you were able to take advantage of our central location and explored the City. We appreciate all of your thoughts and concerns. I am happy that you enjoyed the facility and cleanliness of your room. We appreciate your feedback; it will assist us in improving our services for future guests.

I have addressed your concerns with relevant department heads; will follow up personally to understand what we can do better as a property.


Further, we are in Central Auckland, some amount of minimalistic noise is to be expected when opening up your balcony door. I am happy to say that our rooms are well insulated in general and therefore retain heat well and keep away most sounds. None the less, we will do some investigation to see what can be done to limit these sounds in the future.

Please stay in touch with us via Facebook and Twitter so we can provide you with our best rates for your return! !


Kind regards

Nilay Jani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The studio room I stayed in was rather tight and compact, but appeared to have a good facilities for self-catering needs. The washing machine with accompanying powder was very useful. Wifi was free and worked well. The real draw-back is the $25 charge for carparking which really accelerates the cost of staying. Staff were friendly and helpful. A heater was brought in as the room felt cold.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilayJani, Manager at Bianco off Queen, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for the wonderful feedback. We are so glad to see that you liked and enjoyed what we offer here at our property. It is great that our friendly and efficient staff helped in making your stay better. I can also assure you that our car parking charges are among the lowest you could find in the central city.

Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Kind regards

Nilay Jani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.2 mi away
Ascotia off Queen
Ascotia off Queen
#53 of 66 in Auckland Central
581 reviews
0.4 mi away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#51 of 66 in Auckland Central
349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crown on Cintra Lane
Crown on Cintra Lane
#42 of 66 in Auckland Central
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#39 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,170 reviews
1.5 mi away
Alpers Lodge
Alpers Lodge
#56 of 66 in Auckland Central
103 reviews
0.2 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#23 of 66 in Auckland Central
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bianco off Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bianco off Queen

Address: Bianco Off Queen 2 White Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $69 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bianco off Queen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether travelling to Auckland for business or pleasure, Bianco off Queen serviced apartments offer the perfect location for your stay. Superbly positioned within minutes of Auckland ’s business, retail and entertainment districts. This is a serviced apartment hotel that will exceed expectation.All of Bianco off Queen’s spacious studio, one, two and three bedroom apartments feature fully equipped kitchens, washing machines & dryers and large balconies. Limited onsite car parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bianco off Queen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bianco Off Queen Hotel Auckland Central
Bianco Off Queen Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing