We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good stay for self-catering”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bianco off Queen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bianco off Queen
Ranked #61 of 66 Hotels in Auckland
new zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A good stay for self-catering”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

The studio room I stayed in was rather tight and compact, but appeared to have a good facilities for self-catering needs. The washing machine with accompanying powder was very useful. Wifi was free and worked well. The real draw-back is the $25 charge for carparking which really accelerates the cost of staying. Staff were friendly and helpful. A heater was brought in as the room felt cold.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilayJani, Manager at Bianco off Queen, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for the wonderful feedback. We are so glad to see that you liked and enjoyed what we offer here at our property. It is great that our friendly and efficient staff helped in making your stay better. I can also assure you that our car parking charges are among the lowest you could find in the central city.

Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Kind regards

Nilay Jani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    218
    136
    95
    140
See reviews for
220
162
50
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

After reading some reviews from tripadvisor, I felt worry about the cleanness of the room. However, after I checked in, I found that the room was clean with full facilities: washing machine, dryer etc. Moreover, I found no problem with the speed of the internet. The location was nice too. Many interesting places are in the walking distance. All in all, good place with reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilayJani, Manager at Bianco off Queen, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is great to hear that you were able to take advantage of our central location and explored the City. We are so glad to see that you embraced what we offer here at our property. Great rooms, Great price, Great location with Complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi. We truly appreciate it. I am so proud of our team and how they continue to perform to a high service level. Although we maintain a high level of standard here at Bianco off Queen Serviced Apartment Hotel, Auckland.

Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Kind regards

Nilay Jani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

A small apartment. It was a little cold and although there was no heater to be found, I'm sure that one might have been provided if requested. Very clean and quite well presented. Extremely comfortable large bed and small single for our daughter in the 2nd (very small) bedroom. Our other daughter was going to spend the night there with us and if she had it might have been a bit cramped with the sofa bed in the lounge area as the 4th person's bed. Functional kitchen area and bathroom. Perfectly fine for one night in the city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobynR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilayJani, Manager at Bianco off Queen, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

It is great to hear that you had a first class stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We are so glad to see that you embraced what we offer here at our property. Thanks for giving us good marks for cleanliness and cooking facility. It is wonderful that you were able to take advantage of our central location and explored the City. We appreciate your feedback.

Take care and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Nilay Jani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 6 nights for a conference at Auckland uni. Overall, this place is pretty good and was only 13 min walk to uni, 22 mins to harbour.

- clean one bedroom apartment, but room shows a bit of wear and tear, it's fairly new but the room looked like it had had 'tough love'. There were a number of walls that had a4 sized sticky residue on the wall like a poster had been taken off.

The rooms are not heated centrally, only a portable heater, which admittedly did work fairly well in July.

There are two towers, a and b. tower a is closest to the front road and even from level 5-6 myself and my colleagues could hear noise at night. Lots of noise!! Trucks, alarms, garbage trucks, young revellers - very loud and clear. I am not one to be bothered by noise but this was probably the worst I've had. I was surprised as I didn't remember it from other reviews. But,for less than$400 for five nights in the city of Auckland, it was pretty good value. The area has some steep hills which makes for tricky parking (due to steepness). The front of the hotel seems to be in the backstreets of student residences and yha (maybe where the noise is from) there are a number of paid carparks around also for city workers. Not very pretty.

The staff were friendly mostly but often only one person was at the busy desk which made assistance slow. If you needed anything you generally had to ask twice- e.g refill breakfast, more soap.

The breakfast included could do with some improving. 2x yoghurt, 2x kiwi, 2x muesli bars, 2x juices with preservatives and additives galore and 2x pieces of butter cake which were seemingly stale, all products and flavours were the same every day. Breakfast is delivered to your room everyday if the staff remember to fill up your supplies. I would have preferred a variety of fruit at reception and a range of jams and sliced bread. There is a kettle, toaster, large fridge, microwave, cooktop, dishwasher and crockery in the kitchen, so it is easy to go to nearby convenience store for supplies. Lots of Korean/Asian restaurants nearby.

Bed was average for comfort, two TVs in room a surprise, would stay here again if needing to be in the area and not wanting to spend more. Average place which could be excellent with a bit more attention to detail.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inkypinkgizmo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilayJani, Manager at Bianco off Queen, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is great to hear that you were able to take advantage of our central location and explored the City. We are so glad to see that you embraced what we offer here at our property. Great rooms, Great price, Great location with Complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi. We truly appreciate it.

Further, we are in Central Auckland, some amount of minimalistic noise is to be expected when opening up your balcony door. I am happy to say that our rooms are well insulated in general and therefore retain heat well and keep away most sounds. None the less, we will do some investigation to see what can be done to limit these sounds in the future.

We hope to see you welcome back in the near future.

Take care and safe travels back to Australia.

Kind regards

Nilay Jani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great rooms, great views. Very quiet and spacious. TV has many chanels and the free wifi is a bonus.
Kitchens fully stocked in a two bedroom appartment, door does not lock to the room unless you lock it with your key.

Dont park in their carpark if you have a big car or are not the best driver as its a tight fit

The service of the staff is awfull, at check in they were demanding and told us our breakfast would be bought up...the free breakfast was a. Yoghurt and a mango juice box. There was old kiwifruits and some sort of cake in an opened container in the room....this was breakfast. We complained as the photo on booking.com showed a cereal, milk, bottle of orange juice and two pieces of bread (which is an actual breakfast!), the staff member argued and told me if i could show him the photo he would go out and personally buy it (bit of a smart attitude) i showed him the photo and he told us he would waive the $25 carpark cost on our account (ha! Didnt want to go out obviously). He said the photos on booking.com were not correct.

The next day the reception was packed at 10am (checkout) and took over 15 minutes to be served, the staff claimed there was nothing about a waived carpark fee...after a bit of a heated conversation they waived it.

Great rooms and quiet, but I wouldnt return here on the principal of rude obnoxious staff!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Clayt0n_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilayJani, Manager at Bianco off Queen, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are happy that you enjoyed free Wi-Fi and facility of your room. We appreciate all of your thoughts and concerns. Without constructive feedback we will not be able to improve as a property. I am thankful that you have brought some issues to my attention that I can now take a proactive approach in fixing.

I am disappointed that you did not enjoy our complimentary light continental in room breakfast pack, which is made up of fresh fruit, freshly baked muffin, fruit juice, spreads, premium tea coffee including Moccana and Dilmah, fresh yogurt and a New Zealand made muesli bar. This is designed as a kick start to the day instead of a comprehensive breakfast as may have been expected, I apologies for any confusion caused.

However, I do appreciate your frustration and apologies for the way it was communicated to you. This is something we can look at as staff training on the matter.

I would love to have you come back and give us another chance to prove that this is not usual for our hotel. Do not hesitate to contact me directly at boq.fom@vrhotels.co.nz if you might reconsider staying with us again in the future so I can ensure you a more comfortable stay.
Take care and I hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Nilay Jani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essen
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Not sure what all the bad reviews are about - this place was very good for what it is - a very central self catering apartment. I asked to be moved from the potentially noisy ground floor and was upgraded to a palatial top floor apartment for just $10 a day more - terrific!! All clean and quiet enough for my tastes. Great kitchen. Yes the 'breakfast' is a bit unusual and would be better marketed as a 'courtesy extra' but there are plenty of nearby eating options. As for the grimy location, this really just is the way central Auckland is - unlike other cities in the world the CBD is NOT, in any way, a tourist attraction!! Even the locals stay away! If this bothers you stay in one of the further out areas.

My only real complaint was the internet - terrible cutting in and out despite apparently great signal. I did get someone up to look at it but they didn't fix the problem and I ended up sitting on the floor in the corridor, directly under the signal booster, just to get basic emailing done. VERY frustrating!! I would very happily recommend Bianco for anyone needing a centrally located self catering apartment except for the WiFi issue.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ratmousey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilayJani, Manager at Bianco off Queen, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. It is good to see that you had an overall good stay. We value your feedback as every feedback is a guide for us to improve. Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Kind regards

Nilay Jani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

Disappointing given the reviews. However having experienced the clientele understand why they would rate it as they do.
The room was poorly cleaned, curtains were grey with dirt and the bed linen was disgusting. With dirty marks on the sheets and pillowcases. The bed cover had "stains" all over it that were very suspect. Carpet was dirty as were the walls. The so called included breakfast was a joke. Delivered to your room the afternoon before. Bathroom had dirty "spills?" all over the walls and the floor was not clean. Guests were ill mannered and inconsiderate, noisy all night and shouting in the passageways. Management was ineffective and not of a standard I would associate with a first world country. Will never stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid Bianco off Queen, unless you have extremely low standards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 277John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NilayJani, Manager at Bianco off Queen, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with Bianco off Queen Serviced Apartments Hotel, Auckland city and I greatly appreciate you taking time to share with us your feedback. I would love for you to contact me directly at boq.fom@vrhotels.co.nz as there a number of issues you have raised in your review that are a real concern to me.

Please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us. This was clearly not the standard of service that we strive to offer our guests and I would like to reiterate my most sincere apologies.

I have addressed the concerned departments with your inconvenience, and we will be attending to the issues.
I am sorry again that we did not meet your expectations throughout your stay.

Kind regards

Nilay Jani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Auckland hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.2 mi away
Crown on Cintra Lane
Crown on Cintra Lane
#48 of 66 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.3 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#34 of 66 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apollo Hotel Auckland
Apollo Hotel Auckland
#37 of 66 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#21 of 66 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 524 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ascotia off Queen
Ascotia off Queen
#54 of 66 in Auckland
3.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 66 in Auckland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bianco off Queen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bianco off Queen

Property: Bianco off Queen
Address: Bianco Off Queen 2 White Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Bianco off Queen 4.5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether travelling to Auckland for business or pleasure, Bianco off Queen serviced apartments offer the perfect location for your stay. Superbly positioned within minutes of Auckland ’s business, retail and entertainment districts. This is a serviced apartment hotel that will exceed expectation.All of Bianco off Queen’s spacious studio, one, two and three bedroom apartments feature fully equipped kitchens, washing machines & dryers and large balconies. Limited onsite car parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Bianco off Queen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bianco Off Queen Hotel Auckland Central
Bianco Off Queen Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing