We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent rooms, wonderful service and great locations!!”
Review of Metro Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Metro Suites
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Rooms, especially the views from the rooms are just wonderful.The rooms are clean and well maintained. The service was excellent,,, would definitely come back.The rooms facing the harbour side are great. The hotel in located in the heart of the city, so you can walk down to almost every shopping destinations or train station and bus stops.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jhon255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
There are newer reviews for Metro Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 112 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

Room and facilities were good - mini-kitchen, sitting area and bedroom and the gym/pool looked OK.

Finding the way in was less-than-obvious, even if the reception had been staffed - this complex must have been designed by an architect in isolation from the management (or even basic guest experience!). The related(?) hotel reception is quite bleak and staff there, while helpful, have little awareness of the appartment details which are handled in the shop-front office under the building in a mini-mall that is apparently Courthouse Lane or a part of it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIDLANDS-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We wanted a apartment with all amenities as we wanted to do all our washing before we went home after our 3 week trip apartment on 29th floor great views of Aucland facing harbour the suite wasd a good size clean and had all the things we needed .
The condition of the furniture is past its best and a lot needs replacing I dont hing they more than 2 pieces of cutlery or dinner service that matchted and it had a 6 serving set up.
overall a good setup but needs updating staff at reception very helpful

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevetoogos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Booked a studio apartment with kitchen facilities, 29th floor, amazing views over Auckland. Parking pd extra and they were happy to let us keep the car park for 2 hours after we checked out. Friendly staff at reception. great situation if you want a hotel in downtown Auckland. Slight negative - when we checked in and entered the lift, there was a notice that there would be no water from 10 pm till 5 am. The receptionist failed to tell us when we booked in. Creative thinking required on our part.. Worked out well though. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizmidd2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We booked a 2 bedroom apartment for $320 for the bride and bridesmaids two nights before our friends wedding. Initially we were very impressed with the spacious apartment and fantastic city views. Unfortunately on closer inspection we found several things wrong with the room. One bedroom door fell off its runners when I tried to slide it closed and remained stuck for the night leaving a small gap for us to sneak around. Curtains in the bedroom and living area were hanging off their rails and the kitchen cupboards did not open or close properly. With only two wine glasses provided we called to request more and were told that we were not allowed extra glassware for the room. The dirty marks on the walls and ceiling were typical of general wear and tear but the sticky pink goo smeared on the door frame of the bathroom really should have been cleaned away from the previous guests. I raised these issues with a staff member at reception and was assured someone would get in touch with me via email to offer some sort of compensation. I still haven't been contacted and would suggest you think twice about booking with them if you want value for money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rachael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Excellent location, well appointed rooms and we had every thing in the room like dishwasher, dryer and laundry facilities, my room was overlooking stunning harbour which was eye appealing.
love to stay here again.
Negative : Awkward positioning of reception/ office area as sometimes it's very hard to find otherwise good place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for deluxe room with harbour or park view
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhon255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

great location - close to shops, restaurans, tranport, ferries etc
We had a 1 bedroom (2909) apartment that had great views over the city and harbour and was very spacious.

The main downfall was the poor up keep of the apartment. I left a A4 list for them filled with maintenance tasks to be completed. Refrigerator didn't work properly, dishwasher failed constantly, hardly any plates and cutlery etc...

Also no free internet and paid was minimum $25 a day. Not good enough when you are paying $300 a night!

Room Tip: xx09 on the high floors have a great view
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony488324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland Central
1,266 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#5 of 67 in Auckland Central
710 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#12 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,522 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stamford Plaza Auckland
Stamford Plaza Auckland
#15 of 67 in Auckland Central
2,136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#23 of 67 in Auckland Central
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Suites

Address: 40 Kitchener Street | Metropolis Building, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 129 Specialty Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: $120 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Metro Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metro-Suites Apartment Hotel is located in a luxurious 5 star Metropolis Building, located in the heart of Auckland's Central Business District. The hotel offers luxurious apartment style accommodation with stunning views over the "City of Sails". Each of our spacious, elegantly designed one & two bedroom apartments are furnished with natural timber, stone and marble and come with a fully equipped kitchen, laundry facilities and home entertainment system. Whether on business or holiday, experience home away from home atmosphere, while being looked after by our friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metro Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Suites Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing