We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here before and will be back again”
Review of Metro Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Metro Suites
Ranked #18 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Stayed here before and will be back again”
Reviewed July 12, 2011

First you must be careful when you book... there are two properties within the Metropolis building... the Apartments at Metropolis and the Metro Suites. The Metro Suites reception is around the corner from Kitchener Street and closes around 7pm. The Apartments run more like a hotel and have 24 hour reception. Having said that, and having stayed in both, the rooms are almost identical. My preference is for the Metro Suites as you get higher floors which equals better views. They are serviced apartments so there is no room service except for housekeeping (ie extra towels, pillows etc). But, they are well equipped and have a kitchen and laundry. Ideal if you are staying for a longer time. The property is very central and is just off Queen Street. If you don't want to self cater there is a cafe just downstairs that does a good breakfast and Wagamama right next door for dinner. There is an abundance of good restaurants within 500m of the property. It is only a 10 minute walk to the Quay or to the Skytower, so it is well located.
The downside is the parking which is $25 NZD per night and the internet rate which cost us $29.90 for 2 days!! The gym and pool are shared by both properties and are free to use.
When I am in Auckland for a longer time and feel the need to self-cater and do some washing, this has become my property of choice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becca3189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    42
    15
    7
    2
See reviews for
13
51
10
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

We loved this place - stylish, spotlessly clean, great facilities, great location, great view. The sparse and mixed reviews on Tripadvisor made me hesitant about booking, but the facilities and location swayed me to take a chance, and we were not disappointed. We had a deluxe one-bedroom suite on 29th floor. We wanted for nothing, had acres of space, a fantastic view and loved the cafe quarter nearby as well as the 24 hour cafe at the foot of the apartment block and the beautiful park across the road. The awkwardly located and slighly down-at-heel reception is mentioned by everyone - maybe worth a re-think by the owners? But otherwise, lots of plus-points, so I hope more people will have a similar experience to us and write it up to give this place the boost in ratings we feel it deserves. We wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank katiekiteflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2010

I arrived here at 430am. Rang the mobile number posted on the door. No one answered. Went to the Metropolis hotel next door. Spoke to the night font desk manager, who rang the contact. I asked what should I do till )830. She was not the least bit understanding. I was told I would have to wait till 0830 until she arrived. So I had to wait 4 hours after a 13 hour flight to get a room. This has apparently happened to 4 others times in the past month according to the night front desk manager of the hotel next door. I must commend him he was so helpful and very accomodating, even though I was not a guest at his hotel.

At 0800 I went back to the Metro Suites office to wait for her to arrive. She arrived at 0830 gave me the room. But was not apologetic or in anyway that I had to wait 4 hours in another hotel for her to give me the room. I just found the whole situation very unprofessional and if you have such a business one should have someone on call to accomodate people who arrive early or after 5pm.

The location was great. The rooms were good too. Just the professionalism was disappointing.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClaudAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2010

We booked our apartment at the Metropolis with Metro Suites Agency via Hotelclub. Was difficult to find their reception tucked away on a lower floor than the main Metropolis Reception. Apartment very nice, lovely view from the 30th floor, and enjoyed having separate bedroom, lounge with kitchen and laundry facilities, balcony and a safe. The downsides were the decor was worn, the servicing of the room a little haphazard, and inadequate crockery and cutlery. Location very good, right next to Albert Park, and about 5-10 minutes walk to Britomart Transport Centre and Ferry Terminus. Also had use of the swimming pool and hot tub on with key card access.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,257 reviews
0.3 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,492 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,769 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,077 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Suites

Property: Metro Suites
Address: 40 Kitchener Street | Metropolis Building, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Metro Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metro-Suites Apartment Hotel is located in a luxurious 5 star Metropolis Building, located in the heart of Auckland's Central Business District. The hotel offers luxurious apartment style accommodation with stunning views over the "City of Sails". Each of our spacious, elegantly designed one & two bedroom apartments are furnished with natural timber, stone and marble and come with a fully equipped kitchen, laundry facilities and home entertainment system. Whether on business or holiday, experience home away from home atmosphere, while being looked after by our friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metro Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Suites Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing