We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'd do it again in a heartbeat!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Explore - America's Cup Sail Auckland

Explore - America's Cup Sail Auckland
Book In Advance
More Info
$122.05*
and up
America's Cup Sailing on Auckland's Waitemata Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Feel the thrill of sailing an authentic America's Cup yacht. Take the helm to help steer on course or work hard on the grinders to hoist the mainsail during this hands on sailing adventure on Auckland's Waitemata Harbour.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“I'd do it again in a heartbeat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

This will go down in history as one of our most amazing vacation experiences. Our crew was fantastic. We had so much fun. We probably broke a few rules (went out into the Hauraki Gulf, raced the other yacht, stayed out a bit over time) but we were having incredible fun in amazing weather. Learned a LOT. Those interested need to know that the yacht can't sail without YOU - you will be part of the crew. But there's still a lot of time for getting to know others, enjoying the experience and taking tons of photos. We'd do this trip again and recommend it highly to everyone. If you don't take or wear a rain jacket the crew will get one for you if needed. Choose shoes wisely and hold on tight. Crew was very entertaining. It was educational and tons of fun.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    13
    2
    4
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Husbands 50th present”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

Crew were very informative but sensed a little tension between one of the guys and the girl that was on the ropes. She didn't seem to like him telling her what to do and muttered a few times under her breath. The trip itself was very good and we had a good day for sailing. They provided sunblock but I do suggest that you take a water bottle and my husband and I got thirsty especially if you intend to do the grinding. Overall we were pretty happy.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hayleyb71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Must-do”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

The smiles stretched across the faces of all on board as soon as the engine was cut and the sail was up. Amazing how these racing boats get up to a high speed almost instantly (max speed 14 knots) and glide through the water. We were under sail and racing for close to 2.5 hours, which for the money seems like excellent value, this was no momentary buzz, it was a sustained thrill and one that will not be forgotten. Great crew, plenty on hands on action (on the wheel and grinders) and accommodating for my father-in-law who has limited mobility. Highly recommended.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
“America's Cup Match Racing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

Getting out on the water in the "City of Sails" is the best way to enjoy this city, and match racing two America's Cup yachts really adds some adrenaline to the whole experience. It is very hands on with a chance to grind, pull in the spinnaker & take the wheel. A good thing to do with a few mates. A great day out.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank NattyJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bumped off for a corperate booking”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

My boyfriend booked this as a treat. He turned up on the schedule day and was told that there was not enough wind to sail. On walking past 15 minutes later he saw a big company booking boarding the America's Cup boats, we later saw them sailing in the harbour when driving through. Very disappointed.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nzl4041, Manager at Explore - America's Cup Sail Auckland, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Hi Christina H,

We are very sorry to hear about your experience of our America’s Cup Sailing Experience.

We believe that on the day you are referring to weather conditions were very light and unfavourable for sailing.

Unfortunately due to the nature of our sailing trips we are entirely dependent on the weather and sometimes we have less than ideal sailing conditions despite thorough weather checks before every trip.

Our morning trip was cut short due to the conditions being unsatisfactory and we considered cancelling the afternoon trips accordingly, including the corporate charter. The client, however, made the decision to go out regardless knowing the risk that there wouldn’t be enough wind.

I hope this will help you to understand how our operation works and why in this case we were not able to deliver the experience. We will review our operating procedures for days such as this when there is no or very little wind and we appreciate your feedback.

Can you please confirm the date you had booked for so that we can confirm that the above was the case and look in to this matter further for you.

Regards

John Allison
Digital Content & Web Projects
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Explore - America's Cup Sail Auckland also viewed

 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Explore - America's Cup Sail Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing