We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Americas Cup Re-enactment”

Explore - America's Cup Sail Auckland
Book In Advance
More Info
$122.03*
and up
America's Cup Sailing on Auckland's Waitemata Harbour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Feel the thrill of sailing an authentic America's Cup yacht. Take the helm to help steer on course or work hard on the grinders to hoist the mainsail during this hands on sailing adventure on Auckland's Waitemata Harbour.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Americas Cup Re-enactment”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

There weren't sufficient people for a match race so we went for a 2 hour sail up Auckland Harbour followed by a run before the wind back to Viaduct Harbour.
Our young crew were friendly,energetic & knowledgeable.
They had to be because like some sailing days things did not go according to plan. First something broke, blocking the path of the jib as it was hoisted. Two of our crew combined skilfully, one being hoisted in the chair up the mast to clear the offending object & we were working windward.
On our run before the wind we found the genika was tangled so it was stowed below & quickly replaced by our jib.
Very good crew team work handling things that can happen when one is out on the water.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank gabriel f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    14
    2
    4
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Booked this but must confess my was not looking forward to it. It was a truly great experience. Learnt a lot about sailing and was amazed at the sipped we made under sail. A must do experience whilst in NZ

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Pritchp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great way to spend a couple of hours on the water”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Trip slated for two hours - almost all of it is on the water. Fun staff and you can do as much or as little as you like. Loved it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tax-exile-NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
108 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great fun!!!”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We went out on the old racing yacht NZL41 and it was a fun and enjoyable experience. The crew tell you some information about the history of the Americas Cup and of the yacht you are in . The safety brief is clear and well done , and they let you get in thier and act as grinder and take the wheel if you wish for a while. Though we did not have the other yacht out at the same time( they have two ) to race with it was still a lot of fun and would highly recommend it to anyone. All in all a top crew, great fun and experience , and to see the view of Auckland from the water is nice too.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Munchkin740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Level Contributor
202 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“A must for sailors”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

You do not have to be a sailor to love this experience, but it helps. Perhaps because of the history, but also because you can appreciate all that is happening. For others it is a wonderful way to be on the water and see the City from a different perspective. And it is just fun!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pamelavail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Explore - America's Cup Sail Auckland also viewed

 

Been to Explore - America's Cup Sail Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing