We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's OK but for the tariff you can do better in Auckland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Ranked #19 of 67 Hotels in Auckland
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“It's OK but for the tariff you can do better in Auckland”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

My employer put me up here for 5 nights while I worked in Auckland. It's very modern and comfortable but for the cost you can do a lot better in Auckland. Good points: it's very central, the staff are very friendly and attentive, each apartment has a full laundry and a well equipped kitchen, the furnishings are top of the line and very new and the whole complex is very safe and secure. The "not so good points" ; if you are arriving by car the hotel car parking is very difficult to find (and you cannot park out front of the hotel unless you are extremely lucky to find a vacant metered space), once in the parking building it's still a long and awkward walk down then across to reception, no light over the vanity so women will find it difficult to do their makeup, the noise at night is significant ( bars and cafés out the back and the sound bounces upward between the concrete buildings), my paid for late checkout to 1.30pm following my having to work until 4.30am on the last night was disturbed by a staff member waking me at 11.0am wanting to know if I still required a late checkout(???!). Guests should also be aware that this is an apartment complex and the rooms are not serviced daily. All said my stay was enjoyable (despite being in Auckland for work) but I think that for the amount my employer paid to have me stay there I feel that there are better options in Auckland Central.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank John-Vanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    713
    602
    192
    70
    37
See reviews for
588
460
54
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Brilliant 3 nights here in May 2014 as part of a long trip round NZ. Best accommodation of all the ones we stayed in, and we stayed in a LOT! Really central, really quiet and beautifully appointed. Faultless.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Ruthie011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2014

well located 3 bedroom apt is only two bedroom with the 3rd a walk in wardrobe with a window, a single bed for a child,adult legs hang over end of bed, not big enough to put suit case in .windows in apt look straight in to offices next door. people in offices will wave back so not one way glass,jug and dryer don't work, check you card for deposit as 1 mth after stay,found had been charge $220 to fix.very poor standards

Room Tip: don't book 3bedroom apt
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I stayed in the Waldorf Stadium with my wife at the at the start of May 2014. Arriving at the hotel around 6pm, check in was efficient and pleasant. The room was comfortable and realtively spacious with a balcony. The hotel has a Vietnamese noodle shop on the ground level which we tried. The noodles were OK, though nothing special. The carpark is not integral to the hotel, but next door in the Arena carpark, which wasn't an issue as it is only a 1 minute walk. 5 minutes walk from the bottom of Queen Street and of course Britomart, so getting to pretty much anywhere in Auckland is easy even without a car. My only quibble is that the bed was a little on the soft side, fine for most people, but when you have driven from Wellington and have a sore back anyway, it didn't help matters.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMac-NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Well Located - on Beach Road and close to Queens
Friendly, polite and helpful staff
Parking adjacent to the hotel in a car park and hotel guests pay just NZ$ 18 per day
Wi-Fi available but at an extra cost - the connection is good.
Our two bedroom apt. was of a fairly good size but the bedrooms and bathroom were rather small.
The living room and kitchenette were good and well equipped.
The master bedroom was not big enough with a rather small cupboard and no racks for keeping the bags. Lighting too was inadequate.
The second bedroom was extremely small and cramped - more like a closet.
Width of the beds are also too less - not enough for two people to sleep very comfortably.
The bathroom was very cramped. The shower cubicle was small and had absolutely no rack or tray to keep your own soap or shampoo. This was extremely inconvenient. They had the washing machine and drier in the bathroom area and though these were useful, they made the bathroom more cramped.

Room Tip: Opt for a room at the rear side as the front / street side may be a bit noisy. Higher floors may of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BurzinDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2014

we had a great accommodation while staying in Stadium Waldorf apartments in Auckland.Very good central location near most of the areas we wanted to visit. Great 24/7 super market.Very spacious and well kept luxry 2 bedroom hotel apartment with excellent WIFI service. Good security car park. Very attractive rate for that level of luxury hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bondis2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2014

First the good. The apartments are spacious and clean, the checkin smooth, friendly and efficient, parking is close and not too expensive, plus the location is very handy indeed to downtown Auckland and Britomart Quarter.
Now the bad: the noise levels in the surrounding street can be horrendous, particularly if your rooms are facing the busy Customs/Beach St. It is a major truck route to Port of Auckland so they go all night. That would not be an issue if the rooms had properly soundproofed windows, which they do not. So be sure to request a room away from the street if you want any sleep at all.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
1.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#17 of 67 in Auckland
678 reviews
0.5 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland
1,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Grand Millennium Auckland
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,754 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel

Property: Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Address: Stadium Apartments 40 Beach Road, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Auckland
#6 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#12 Family Hotel in Auckland
#18 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Stadium is the Waldorf Group's premiere apartment hotel in New Zealand. Situated in the heart of Auckland City, these luxury self contained apartments offer guests high quality accommodation close to all of the attractions Auckland City has to offer. Self cater in your spacious apartment, with a large 24hr Supermarket located across the road from Waldorf Stadium, or enjoy one of the many dining options Auckland City has to offer. Britomart, just 400m away is Auckland's newest entertainment precinct and is home to boutique and international fashion stores, and some of the best restaurants and bars the city has to offer. Vector Arena Auckland's 12,000 seat venue is a short stroll from Waldorf Stadium, as are the recently developed Waterfront areas, Queen Street and Auckland's Transport Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stadium Waldorf Apartments Auckland
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing