We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Ranked #18 of 68 Hotels in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

The Hotel is amazing, clean apartments and very comfortable rooms. The staff is amazing, helpful and friendly. The Location is not too bad, it's about two minutes walking to the sea, and two minutes walking to Countdown, a 24-hour Super Market. But the only thing I didn't really like is the room service, which is only twice a week!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Anas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    649
    526
    164
    59
    30
See reviews for
522
407
44
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Previous reviews are quite right!. It is within short walk of the rail way station and the waterfront area. good air conditioning and ventilation , .. So there was no traffic noise regardless of the central location of the hotel..good size spacious living room and kitchen.comfortable bathroom with laundry..There is a nice modern lobby area and good breakfast restaurant, . few coffee shops next door and many restaurants a 5 minute walk away. good parking at hotel next door. We took a super shuttle from the airport and got our rental car from Omega the next morning who picked us up by 8 at the hotel. very reasonable rate for 5 star accommodation.Good and very helpfull front desk

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dolan98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

A nice modern apartment, spotlessly clean, well located, nice view. No free wifi however. A little difficult to find somewhere to pull up you car before you organize parking, but that was no big deal. There is a little lane to pull up into if you know where it is, or you may be lucky to get a street park out the front. Parking is at a reasonable cost and lasts the day when you checkout until you drive out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spongebob007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed at Waldorf in the city for 2days for a family holiday. After looking around we picked a modern two bedroom apartment here on the basis of good reviews and excellent pricing.
Overall I thought the apartment was excellent - the value was great (significantly cheaper than other options ) The bedrooms were quite spacious and nicely furnished , good kitchen ,laundry and efficent Air-Com.Everything was clean - no nasty surprises - and the facilities were good.

The hotel staff were .friendly - giving us advice on how to get around, and generally taking an interest. We didn't have to complain about anything which really was a bonus - it doesn't often happen, even in some of the most expensive places I've stayed!
There was not amy of inner-city noise, but that was primarily because there is double glazing & A/cranch .- very nice and good value breakfast supplied.Very central location -great for family stay

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank asslif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We ( 2 adults and 1 teenager) stayed for 14 days ( jan 2013 ) and considered that the standard room was not 4.5 stars, mainly due to the following reasons :

* the second bedroom contained a bed and a wardrobe - there was no side table or reading lamp (the hotel said that it was only provided in the main bedroom !) They did provide these when we complained. You could only fit one side table and that required putting the bed up against one wall. You cannot shut out the light from the main bedroom if that room light is on, ( and vice
versa ) making it totally unsatisfactory if the two sets of occupants want to sleep at different times. We asked about possibly moving rooms but were told that all standard rooms were the same so we didn't bother.

* the main bedroom is a very odd shape, making it very awkward to get around and to access the wardrobe - it's very pokey

*there is nowhere to put suitcases

* no DVD player

* the low backed lounge is very uncomfortable for anyone other than a child, and is also too big a style for the room, encroaching on space

*the cooktop is poorly positioned so as to increase likelihood of burning yourself whilst cooking

*the ironing board cover was so thin you ended up imprinting one's clothes with it

*no basic toiletries were supplied - would have thought for a 14 day stay they could throw in a bit of shampoo and conditioner

*there is not a single piece of microwave cookware

*we only got 2 room services during our stay

Having said all that it is a convenient location and the beds were nice and firm.

Since leaving all the above feedback at the hotel, to date we have not heard from them.

Room Tip: If you are staying just a few nights it would be OK but not comfortable for a longer stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dagny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

This was my second stay at this apartment hotel in Aucklandhotel. Located close the water front,Queen Street

and the railway station it is conveniently located to get around. Easy walking distance to many places to eat (actually spoilt for choice), the harbour, and public transport.
The hotel complex is modern and is well maintained, quiet, and the service is excellent - friendly and efficient. The welcome at check-in late at night was warm, replacing a dodgy room key was no problem. Storing luggage and retrieving it and calling a taxi was done with pleasure.

The apartment was huge and more than adequate. It was actually an upgrade, but I'm not sure from what - perhaps from an apartment with almost no view to one with a pretty decent view.
It was an apartment style room, with everything needed for some self catering. The only thing the room did not have were few more pictures. The breakfast room and the free breakfast were great
The swimming pool is outdoor in an adjoin Waldorf complex but covered. A good size for some exercise laps.Very good professional Gym free entry pass
The only (and minor) quibble is the lift is quite slow. The building has two for lots of floors, with few rooms on each floor. We will come again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186338Kahan7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed here for a week during our holiday, reception staff are like statues and do not offer any help. On the seventh floor of the building was our room, equipped with a mini laundry and kitchenette however there were no simple essentials in the kitchen like a chopping board or even a bottle opener..

I was kept up every night by young teen groups hanging around the bottom floor outside screaming and drinking, I could hear it crystal clear from the seventh floor and I rang reception three times in one night when it was happening and they did nothing. I was visibly tired the next morning and mentioned why to the guy at reception, I was told this is simply something that happens all the time and they did nothing about it..great customer service!

I was also working for two days during our stay and did not get to sleep on those nights either, we actually looked into getting earlier flights to get away from this hotel and fly back home, because of this experience I do not wish to return to auckland again to re experience not sleeping for a week and paying a hotel to do so, what a waste of money and so disappointed in their service

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caitlin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.5 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 68 in Auckland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,135 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,963 reviews
0.7 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 68 in Auckland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel

Property: Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Address: Stadium Apartments 40 Beach Road, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Auckland
#7 Romantic Hotel in Auckland
#13 Family Hotel in Auckland
#17 Luxury Hotel in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Stadium is the Waldorf Group's premiere apartment hotel in New Zealand. Situated in the heart of Auckland City, these luxury self contained apartments offer guests high quality accommodation close to all of the attractions Auckland City has to offer. Self cater in your spacious apartment, with a large 24hr Supermarket located across the road from Waldorf Stadium, or enjoy one of the many dining options Auckland City has to offer. Britomart, just 400m away is Auckland's newest entertainment precinct and is home to boutique and international fashion stores, and some of the best restaurants and bars the city has to offer. Vector Arena Auckland's 12,000 seat venue is a short stroll from Waldorf Stadium, as are the recently developed Waterfront areas, Queen Street and Auckland's Transport Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stadium Waldorf Apartments Auckland
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing