We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
City Travellers Auckland
Ranked #72 of 114 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We have just had a week in City Travellers, and paid around $50 a night on a 7 night deal directly through their website. The location is the best thing about this place. It is close to Queen Street and the harbour, only about 5 mins walk, and Britomart, which is what we needed to be close to. And for the amount we paid in such a central location, we can't complain about the facilities.
We stayed in a studio which was fairly spacious, with an ensuite, kitchen and tv. The shower was really good, but falling apart, and the bed was pretty big and comfortable. However, none of the facilities worked properly, we had to ask them to fix the tv almost everyday and the stove top took ages to heat up. But it was a comfortable stay for the week. If you don't mind average facilities or having the cleanest of rooms, then this place will be no problem. If you do book this place, check out the offers on their website, they usually have deals for 3 or 7 night stays.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandA1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    17
    21
    11
    24
See reviews for
10
30
31
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

Our stay at this place was ok since its location was very good with easy access to everywhere. We stayed in a studio so we had a coach and small kitchennete to cook so need to east out. But it was so noisy!! I didn't sleep.comfortable during our whole stay. Elevator did not working for several days and we moved alk our stuff to.third floor!!! But the point is it almost worth for what you pay in a place like auckland

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank AzadehTehran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Auckland hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Found this place by chance after leaving our previously booked accommodation on arrival - and so glad we did! Viewed a studio room before agreeing to 9 nights stay in March. We found this room to be a good size with basic facilities but had everything we needed, and generally quite clean. Useful laundry facilities, and great location to go and explore - huge countdown grocery shop only a few minutes walk so no need to rely on smaller independent shops nearby. Good reduced rates directly on their website - you get what you pay for, and would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BailS89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Deutschland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

I dont know who took the pictures but he must have been a good photographer....the rooms dont look like that at all! We paid 90 dollars and the shower was moldy and fell apart when i tried to close it. The room itself is so dirty i wouldnt pay a cent to stay there if i hadnt already paid online. When we arrived there was noone at the reception even if we arrived within office hours. After an hour we finally found out to push a button outside the hostel so someone would come and check us in....we didnt get wifi even if we paid for it....all in all a terrible place only the location is a plus.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Struggling to give this place even 1 star, but the one good thing about it was the location (5 min walk to Vector Arena which is why we chose it). Other than that, this place is a dive and doesn't look much like what you see on their website at all. We had a studio apartment which had half the shower door missing, no bathmat, no soap/shampoo/conditioner provided as implied by the photos, washbasin was rotten and had been painted over, phone was broken and wires hanging out, kitchen dirty, 2 thin pillows provided and no spares, hallway reeked of cigarette smoke, thin curtains - I could go on. We had booked for 3 nights but left after 1 night to another nearby establishment which was the best decision.
Do not stay here! Even for its low price, its not worth the money and you couldn't pay us to stay there ever again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

I booked a four bed dorm and got put in a three bed. Pictures of this place are just plainly WRONG. It is dark and dank. There were flies around dirty dishes on the bench, with a note on top of them saying 'boys please do your dishes you are not at home.' There was grit on bathroom floor, with mouldy basins and holes in the walls. I got a trial at a gym nearby just so I didn't have to shower there - for fear of catching some skin disease. Constant noise from other guests because the walls are so paper thin - there was no enforcement of party rules, and smoke from the balcony (where smoking is banned) would filter into the room - the window had to be open because it was so hot. Traffic noise also bad. Very lax security - there seemed to be a man sleeping in the common room every night (I was there for 8 nights) - who left very early in the morning, I suspect homeless. No change of linen, despite my long stay. Overall a terrible experience - I had booked two other stays but have now cancelled and booked elsewhere as City Travellers was so horrible. If you value your sleep and hygiene - go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Do not choose a room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F_K_C2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Good location in Aucklands university area, good base to explore Auckland from
Hostel is clean and has decent facilities.
It is broken into a series of self contained apartments which can make socialising a bit difficult for anybody looking to meet people.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SGFstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.5 mi away
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
#30 of 67 in Auckland
214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
0.1 mi away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Mercure Auckland
Grand Mercure Auckland
#28 of 67 in Auckland
19 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pullman Auckland
Pullman Auckland
#13 of 67 in Auckland
2,270 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quest on Eden
Quest on Eden
#69 of 114 in Auckland
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Travellers Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Travellers Auckland

Property: City Travellers Auckland
Address: 93 Anzac Avenue, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 114 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Hotel Class:2 star — City Travellers Auckland 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Travellers is designed with the budget traveller in mind. If you’re looking for affordable accommodation in the centre of Auckland that is handy to all the excitement of the CBD, come and stay with us.We provide safe, cheap and conveniently located hostel accommodation for the budget conscious traveller who wants to be close to public transport, the Vector Arena and downtown Auckland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Travellers Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Travellers Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
City Travellers Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing