We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
City Travellers Auckland
Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

Please don't listen to any negative reviews about this hostel, staff are great and if you do have problems they will help you in any way they can. Please remember this is a hostel at the end of the day do to whine about minor details including no hand soap in the bathroom to me is ridiculous!!! It is a hostel and the best hostel I have ever stayed in. If u want to stay for just a few nights or a few months it has the nice feeling of a quieter atmosphere for essential sleep but the option of mingling in with some fantastic people!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GemmalouiseP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranzolin, Manager at City Travellers Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your time to review us and appreciate your feedback and look forward to having you stay with us again.

Regards
Ranz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
There are newer reviews for City Travellers Auckland
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 100 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2012

Really Enjoyed my stay for a bit, all you guys were really helpful and treated me well. It was a pleasure to stay as i made friends and you gave me to have a really good experience in Auckland and NZ. I will come back when i'm in Auckland and am looking forward to meeting the City Travellers staff again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimS1502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranzolin, Manager at City Travellers Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your review and glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we wish you safe travels

Regards
Ranz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Me and my husband received voucher to stay in CT for 2 weeks from his uni prior to the beginning of his study. But within 3 days we decided to search for apartment and move. We can't stand for the bad odor comes from the communal kitchen & bathroom and the dirty bedroom with dirty blanket & linen. Not including some bed bugs bites our friends suffered and some cockroaches we see in the bathroom. The kitchen hobs are not working well-on & off and the microwave is broken. To cook our own meal is a very frustrating job that we decided to buy from outside. CT Management must do something to fix all of these and not misguide people with appetizing pics in your website, which is actually not.

Room Tip: Book online is a bad idea since you will not be able to see the real condition of the room
Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank dianjuwita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 21, 2012

Dear Guest

We appreciate the time taken to review us and am disappointed we did not exceed your expectations and assure you we have fixed all you have written here and as well as having the exterminator in to rid of those pesty bugs and cockroaches which unfortunately are a common threat amongst accommodation suppliers.

We wish you the best in your studies and enjoy your time in NZ

Regards
Ranz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Stayed at City Travellers on two separate occasions for three month stints when I was travelling/working in NZ.

I choose this CT before leaving the UK as it seemed to be the least party/noisy hostel in the CBD as I knew I was staying here for a few months and I would need sleep at some point.
I absolutely loved it. There were 20 of us who did everything together, from rugby games to BBQ's on the patio. Ranz the legend even put together a Christmas dinner which we all attended and had a brilliant evening. no one was home sick as we were all one big family.

My first room I shared with a mate, nice big room with en suite, spot on, good kitchen.

Second time around, again made loads more friends and business as usual, Like I never left!
This time had my own room and loved it!

Massive big up to Ranz, who loves having his head pattered (It's good to do when you check in for good luck on your travels) and Ahmed who is probably the nicest person you could ever meet,

If you want a quiet night sleep or thinking of staying long term I 100% recommend staying here


Cheers again boys and hope to see you soon!

Room Tip: All rooms are good, level 5 is best to meet people, if you do stay level 4 make sure you venture up...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 21, 2012

Dear Guest

Always a pleasure to have returned guests and thank for your review and time taken to send us one and wish you safe travels.

Regards
Ranz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

I strongly disagree with the reviews below due to me and my boyfriend - whom I met at the hostel, having the best time at City Travellers. A friendly-warm, clean, tidy atmosphere along with staff and friends made City Travellers feel like home.

Before staying there, I had stayed at a few other hostels in Auckland CBD, but nothing compares to City Travellers.

Rooms there were very spacious, clean, tidy and well presented, with plenty of storage room. Beds so comfy you couldn't wait to get back into it at night. Kitchens well equiped with all essentials needed, The whole hostel was cleaned every morning by the cleaners and throughout the day checked upon also.

If anything was broken or damaged in any way Ranz was straight on top of things to sort the problem out, as long as he knew about it, if they don't know its not much they can do about it.

Staff were so helpful at all times and would help you out when ever need be. I got to know them all well and had a good laugh and chat with them.

A very high standard of professionalism was displayed by staff at all times. Reception is manned 8am - 6pm daily by either Ranz/Ahmed and the only time it was unmanned was if a quick toilet break was required.

I have and would definately reccommend this hostel to anybody. Its a great place to be, you will feel like you have not left home. Situated in Downtown CBD, close to Queen Street for all your desired shopping needs, close to Britomart Countdown for food shopping, and with a nice Indian, Chinese and Thai take away downstairs you couldn't ask for much more.

I would like to give a BIG thank you to Ranz and Ahmed along with all the cleaners for making our stay a pleasant one.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 21, 2012

Dear Guest

We appreciate the time taken to send us a review and glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Regards
Ranz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

Not been cleaned properly in months. The place was tatty. The bed was so soft my book (paperback) caused it to sag. Terrible sleep as a result. The bathroom was awful and there were loose wires hanging out of where old appliances are something have been ripped out.

For what you get it's overpriced. And there isn't anyone at the front desk ever.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mantles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranzolin, Manager at City Travellers Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Dear Guest

We appreciate your feedback and thank you for taking the time to review us and as stated in previous it is something we are striving to correct and unfortunately we failed on this occasion and do apologise, but we will continually make in roads to making this a better hostel with fond memories for travellers.

Regards
Ranz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Stayed here for too long! Could get over the cochroaches but got bitten by fleas! That was final straw! They were aware of the cochroaches!as I showed them a pic cause I wasn't sure what they were! You go to get a plate could find one dead on it or running around! Cleaning was poor! Didn't clean the bathroom! Just replaced the toilet roll and towel for the floor!never checked food presses when people left! Shower door full of mould! The roof in 3 bed dorm full of mould! Took weeks to replace a bulb! Leak from toilet sink went under the carpet n smelled and eventually someone came to look at but still leaked the smell still was there. The people that brought in the fleas were told to clean there clothes! Nothing else was treated like couch or beds!We were not told n then we got bitten n then were blamed for not telling them we got bitten!! It was our fault! After complained they treated the couch! Too little to late!only changed the sheets in bed! Not the blanket! They damage was done n it could be breading as I write this! I wasn't expecting 4* standards but a basic level of service! Is a clean bed, clean bathroom n a clean kitchen

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranzolin, Manager at City Travellers Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Dear Guest

We appreciate your feedback and review and for bringing all of the above it to our attention as we have worked hard on these and I can safely say all has now been recitified and monitored on a daily basis.

Regards
Ranz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, ...
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
712 reviews
0.0 mi away
Quest on Eden
Quest on Eden
#72 of 130 in Auckland Central
131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Braemar on Parliament Street B&B Auckland
Braemar on Parliament Street B&B...
#4 of 63 in Auckland Central
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Queen Street Backpackers
Queen Street Backpackers
#53 of 130 in Auckland Central
149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jucy Snooze
Jucy Snooze
#11 of 63 in Auckland Central
537 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hote...
#8 of 130 in Auckland Central
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Travellers Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Travellers Auckland

Address: 93 Anzac Avenue, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 130 Specialty Lodging in Auckland Central
Hotel Class:2 star — City Travellers Auckland 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Travellers is designed with the budget traveller in mind. If you’re looking for affordable accommodation in the centre of Auckland that is handy to all the excitement of the CBD, come and stay with us.We provide safe, cheap and conveniently located hostel accommodation for the budget conscious traveller who wants to be close to public transport, the Vector Arena and downtown Auckland. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
City Travellers Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
City Travellers Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing