We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hostel, spoilt for us by noise problems.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bamber House Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 4, 2009

We were at first impressed by this hostel; set in an old house with good parking. The kitchen was definitely a bit small and not well laid out - two cookers placed right next to each other to make it hard for people to share a cooker.

Unfortunately our stay was spoilt by noise from other guests. Several rooms shared a balcony on which people sat drinking until about 3am, only one metre from my bed. I feel that the other guests would not have bothered me had the area for drinking been slightly further away from where people were trying to sleep.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne72Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 401 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
Thank Ged K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Claire R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank sabrina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suzeontheroad, Owner at Bamber House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
Thank Mario S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaklandsLodge, Manager at Bamber House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
Thank xxnelexxneuseelandxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaklandsLodge, Manager at Bamber House Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
1.2 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#36 of 66 in Auckland Central
716 reviews
1.1 mi away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 131 in Auckland Central
329 reviews
1.1 mi away
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
#2 of 131 in Auckland Central
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
YMCA Hostel
YMCA Hostel
#15 of 131 in Auckland Central
253 reviews
1.3 mi away
City Lodge
City Lodge
#5 of 131 in Auckland Central
529 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oaklands Lodge Backpacker Hostel
Oaklands Lodge Backpacker Hostel
#11 of 131 in Auckland Central
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamber House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamber House Hostel

Address: 22 View Road | Mt Eden, Auckland Central, Auckland 1024, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 131 Specialty Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: $21 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bamber House is a family owned and run backpacker hostel located in beautiful Mount Eden, Auckland, complete with Mars and Clyde our dog and cat. Mt Eden is an iconic Auckland neighbourhood complete with an extinct volcano. Bamber House has a range of accommodation options including traditional backpacker shared and double rooms with shared bathrooms as well as ensuite double and twin rooms. It is about 3.5 kms from the city centre. There is a bus stop really close. We have free off-street car-parking on a first come first served basis (street parking is also free) and spacious grounds. The closest stop for the Skybus is Mt Eden train station which is about a 10 minute walk. We are close to supermarkets, cafes, bars, restaurants, banks, post offices... A longtime favourite of travellers from all over the world. Free high speed wifi is also available in common areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Bamber House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamber House Hostel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing