We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I couldn't find any fault in this hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bamber House Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I couldn't find any fault in this hostel”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

my past experiences of staying in a hostel, I was pretty disappointed with the hostel quality in Auckland city. I knew Bamber house before I arrived Auckland, after spending one night in a hostel in the city, I made up my mind to move to Bamber house the next morning.
I called Bamber house to check on availability and Tim was really helpful and friendly.
The moment I stepped into Bamber house, I feel in love with this hostel. the hostel is amazingly clean and beautiful (those cleaner did very good job as i watched them cleaning the place everyday) and beautiful. big kitchen, spacious movie room, huge chill out area, the room I stayed was cute and mt.eden was just right in front of my window. although there were many long term backpackers, I never encounter any problem with the shower or their friendliness.
Staff were extremely nice and friendly, they knew who you are and always with a smile on their face.
I extended my trip in Auckland because of the atmosphere in the hostel.
I have been telling people this is the best hostel in Auckland and the best I'd ever stayed.
keep up the good job, Tim, Grajuana (sorry if I spell wrongly) and team, you gave me a reason to come back to Auckland.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BettyTio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    104
    19
    5
    4
See reviews for
5
102
170
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Bamber house is a quaint cute place. Its a bit out of reach from the city so it makes sense only for those that have a bit of time on their hands... as a hostel it is perfect but i guess i was disappointed only due to the location. The staff is super friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luktuke-Ashish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suse, Manager at Bamber House Hostel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we really appreciate your comments about the hostel itself. With regards to our location we actually consider it as one of our best assets. The majority of our visitors agree they would never want to stay in the city centre and we offer a secure and quiet environment that is still only a ten minute bus ride away from the town's central attractions. With Mount Eden's beautiful parks on our doorstep and a wealth of great bars and shops we consider our location as a prime reason people choose to stay with us. Nevertheless we're definitely still pleased you chose us for your recent vacation. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singen, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Defenetly the best hostel I've been to in 6 month of travelling oz and nz. Very home-like atmosphere and most friendly staff. Bus stop is just across the road. Takes you five minutes into the city.

Everythings very clean and the whole atmosphere makes you not want to leave

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed in a double room here for a total of 3 nights. The guys who were running it are really friendly and welcoming. The hostel itself is like a big house and has a great kitchen. I there is a supermarket nearby and it's about a half hour walk from Auckland, or you can get the bus.
Set in Mt. Eden, it is well worth a walk up the mountain for either sunset or rise!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sahiedlu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I only stayed here one night in a 3 person bedroom. The room was very small, but it was all clean and comfortable. I liked it even had a tiny fridge inside.
Had an awesome view of the sky from the yard.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlfredoAMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I stayed here on a couple of occasions during my trip, it's a nice comfortable hostel, plenty of room and in a nice quiet part of the city, there're plenty of shops within walking distance.

The staff are very friendly, they helped me book a hire car at the start of the trip. There're activities organised every night of the week or you can just crash out in front of the TV which has a massive list of movies.

The only criticism I have is that there seemed to be a large amount of long term guests using it as their home while they work in the city, the dorm room I stayed in was very cluttered with their bags and they didn't really leave their established groups to talk to new guests.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NoBeachForMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne, victoria
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights on my first trip to NZ, in a 6 bed mixed dorm. Love the fact that there are no bunks! Dorms and ensuite bathroom very clean. Easy to catch the bus to/from the CBD, supermarket within walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophinarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.2 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
684 reviews
1.7 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,474 reviews
1.1 mi away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 120 in Auckland
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
1.3 mi away
YMCA Hostel
YMCA Hostel
#14 of 120 in Auckland
245 reviews
1.3 mi away
City Lodge
City Lodge
#6 of 120 in Auckland
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamber House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamber House Hostel

Property: Bamber House Hostel
Address: 22 View Road | Mt Eden, Auckland 1024, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 120 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bamber House is a family owned and run backpacker hostel located in beautiful Mount Eden, Auckland, complete with Mars and Clyde our dog and cat. Mt Eden is an iconic Auckland neighbourhood complete with an extinct volcano. Bamber House has a range of accommodation options including traditional backpacker shared and double rooms with shared bathrooms as well as ensuite double and twin rooms. It is about 3.5 kms from the city centre. There is a bus stop really close. We have lots of free off-street car-parking and spacious grounds. The closest stop for the Skybus is Mt Eden train station which is about a 10 minute walk. We are close to supermarkets, cafes, bars, restaurants, banks, post offices... A longtime favourite of travellers from all over the world. Free high speed wifi is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Bamber House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamber House Hostel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing