We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bamber House Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

I had some issues with my luggage being lost flying over from mexico, but the assistance from bamber house's staff has beyond expectations. In addition the hostel is centrally located, had great open area space and a good ambience to the place.

I am really glad to have made this my choice for my auckland stay. Thanks guys...

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Anders S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    104
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
5
101
165
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I've been for over 1 month now in Auckland and stayed at 3 different hostels. Bamber House is definitely the best hostel! I haven't stayed at such a cosy hostel for a long time. There is plenty of space and the facilities are good. You can take a bus and get to the city centre or walk up Mt Eden both in 15 minutes. The hostel offers off-street parking and lots of activities. The people are just great and I really enjoy my stay here. I would definitely recommend this hostel to everyone!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxBunsenB19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

It takes a lot for a hostel to impress me, but this one did from the start. Has all the basics you look for in a hostel, comfy beds, great shower, immaculately clean facilities, brilliant kitchen with the added bonuses of having awesome managers (you are brill Steve), a cosy loungeroom to chill and watch movies in or make besties to go out with. Extended my stay for a week as I did not want to leave. Steve was brilliant at advice giving and booking extra activities and most of the guests got involved in group activities which was great for a solo traveller like me. Super close to the city- but without the noise and with cute Mt. Eden bars and cafes a two second walk away. Couldn't say a bad word about the place, am already planning a return trip. OH AND IT HAS A TRAMPOLINE :D

Room Tip: I always choose mixed dorms to meet more people. But all rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caitlin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nzsuze, Owner at Bamber House Hostel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Thanks for the feedback - I know that Steve and his team really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I’ve been traveling around NZ for a few months, and every time I return to Auckland I stay at Bamber House. The senior manager, Steve, is extremely helpful, knowledgeable, and nice. He makes it a point to remember the name of every person who walks through the door! I stayed here last week and met the new weekend manager, Alex, who is also very kind and capable. There are a lot of friendly long-termers here who I’ve become quite close with, and all four times I’ve been back to Bamber I get to see them again .

Bamber is not your typical hostel in that everyone here actually interacts with each other! Steve and Alex arrange a lot of different activities such as Quiz night, Friday night dinner, Movie night, Laser Tag, or just a night out in Auckland. None are mandatory, but all are really fun (and relatively cheap!). The location is beautiful with Mt. Eden literally 2 minutes away, but is still convenient to the city center (about 10 mins by bus).

In short: Great people, comfortable beds, clean kitchen, and wonderful managers. Stay at Bamber House! It’s rated one of the top hostels in NZ for a reason.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rach M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2012

I would thoroughly recommend staying at Bamber House when visiting Auckland. It is located a short bus journey away from downtown Auckland which is ideal if you want to escape the hustle and bustle of the city. I was traveling alone but was made to feel instantly welcome by Steve and the other guests. Everyone is really friendly and on hand to give you info on the area, things to do etc. The place has a really good atmosphere and everyone goes out and does stuff together. It's very clean and the beds are comfy - very important after a day of exploring the North Island. Great place to stay and great people.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Location: Mt Eden next to a lookout spot where you can see the whole city.
Bus: $1.90 bus ride from the CBD and there is a bus stop across the street.
Parking: Available.
Supermarket: Walking distance
Restaurants: Walking distance but further than the supermarket.
Kitchen: Large and cleaned everyday.
Room: I stayed in a dorm room with 2 bunk beds, locker, dresser, cabinet, and desk. Walls are thin.
Bathroom: Cleaned everyday - a little small
Common area: TV room, reading room, dining room, and outside deck.
Phone: LAN line provided. Local calls free.
Internet: Pay for computers, can get free wifi deals
Laundry: $3 wash and $3 dryer
Atmosphere: Friendly staff, events every night to bond, and some people seem to live here because its a good deal.

Room Tip: Free heater and towel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rinda c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

This place is amazing, better than some hotels, and definitely all hostels, I have ever stayed in. The hostel is located in Mount Eden, which is a quite and pleasant neighborhood in Auckland. Although the location is not in the center of the city, it is only 10 minutes away by bus. Downtown Mount Eden is adorable, filled with little shops and restaurants, and we enjoyed it even more than the center. We stayed in a private room which was very nice for the money and quite private. The kitchen was clean and easy to use.

Another bonus to Bamber is Steve, the hostel manager. Steve was incredibly helpful, a wealth of knowledge on New Zealand, and just a great person in general.

Overall, an amazing stay. We wished we could stay longer.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sancho11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
1.2 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
678 reviews
1.7 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,451 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#5 of 67 in Auckland
4,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
1.1 mi away
Verandahs Backpackers Lodge
1.1 mi away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 114 in Auckland
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamber House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamber House Hostel

Property: Bamber House Hostel
Address: 22 View Road | Mt Eden, Auckland 1024, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 114 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bamber House is a family owned and run backpacker hostel located in beautiful Mount Eden, Auckland, complete with Mars and Clyde our dog and cat. Mt Eden is an iconic Auckland neighbourhood complete with an extinct volcano. Bamber House has a range of accommodation options including traditional backpacker shared and double rooms with shared bathrooms as well as ensuite double and twin rooms. It is about 3.5 kms from the city centre. There is a bus stop really close. We have lots of free off-street car-parking and spacious grounds. The closest stop for the Skybus is Mt Eden train station which is about a 10 minute walk. We are close to supermarkets, cafes, bars, restaurants, banks, post offices... A longtime favourite of travellers from all over the world. Free high speed wifi is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Bamber House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamber House Hostel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing