We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value but noisy and dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Auckland Newmarket Motel
Ranked #57 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for five nights in a studio and was given a very cheap rate ($80 per night) if I only had one service.

The room is basic (as expected at this price point) but I had to ask that the room be re cleaned as there was visible dust and cobwebs in quite a few areas. The staff were obliging and did a good clean straight away.

The property is double storey and not very well insulated for noise. I stayed downstairs and footsteps and creaks are very loud. Book upstairs if you can!

All in all a very good value for money option near town, but room could have been tidier and be prepared for a bit of noise

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
Thank jjswlg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 71 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

We thought we would try this property again having visited in April. The staff are friendly and helpful however they just don't seem to really understand the concept of value for money and attending to maintenance.

It was a cold night however the wall heater was very old and did not work, the electric blanket in the single bed had no extension cord to reach the plug which was on the other side of the room, there was a toaster but no plate for the toast, the heated towel rail did not work, noise from overhead unit (& a number of other small things).

This accommodation is well located and well priced however I don't think we will be giving it another try as there were just too many 'little' things wrong as with last time. What a pity.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room - downstairs sounds like you are living under a herd of elephants
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Midget539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We arrived on Sunday planning to stay 6 nights while I received some medical attention locally. This motel was recommended because it is close to the Gillies Hospital which is well within walking distance - approx 6 minutes.
This is a very good motel and we have really enjoyed our stay here. Others have mentioned the staff and so must we. They care; and they show that best by ensuring our room was serviced every other day despite advertising that the weekly rate does not include that level of service. The rate we got was for 6 nights and thereby cheaper. We found the insulation between the floors wasn't very good and sometimes it was noisy with people walking about above us. The shower in our room is excellent - good pressure and nice shower pattern and plenty of hot water.
As well as their close proximity to the medical centre they are right beside a very good Korean restaurant, an Italian restaurant, an Indian and a Hell's Pizza. I'm going to write up the Italian one ; its really good.
Despite being quite basic we'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElectricalInspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I arrived early and the staff prepared a room immediately. The TV channels weren't properly programmed and the staff made efforts to rectify and gave additional wifi time. While the wifi needs to be paid for after the first free hour, I feel the hotel would do better to provide a free wifi service. The hotel is basic, clean and provides simple facilities: microwave, kettle, tea, coffee, milk. The TV channels do have quite a limited range of choice, some quite strange and of little broad interest: live Parliament debates as an example. The location is very good: ready access to the airport, central city and a number of reasonable restaurants in walking distance. Street noise is not an issue.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We just needed 1 night's accommodation in Auckland and this property suited us with it's location being close to family. There was nothing really wrong with the motel nor was there anything special that would make it a recommended stay. We were advised by other reviewers to ask for an upstairs room and this is very good advice. The operators charge quite a bit more for an upstairs room but we managed to negotiate a reasonable rate. Good job we did because there was a deal of coming and going during the night and the floor to floor insulation is not the best. All in all an average place to stay but the shower was great!

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room and haggle for a good price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chakola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We needed a motel for just one night handy to a medical place we had to attend.
It was extremely well positioned for where we had to go & easy to find the motel.
But the shower in room 16 was less than useless, hardly any pressure at all.
There were cockroaches in the bathroom & in the sleeping area.
We ordered a breakfast the night before but they forgot to do it. In the end they did give us free 2 pieces of bread to toast, one small pack of jam & one small pack of butter that was "off".
The milk & our meal in the fridge was frozen solid overnight, when I checked the thermostat there was a missing dial so couldn't be altered.
There was a lot of road noise but that was to be expected as it was near a very busy road. The beds were lovely & comfortable so had a good sleep.
The staff were quite friendly & helpful though & the room was reasonably clean.
I don't think we will be staying there again though.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delton486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed for one night last weekend and generally found the property to be of good value. The location was very good close to Newmarket and city. Although close to a busy road we did not notice any road noise at all. The decor was pleasant and relatively up to date, the beds were also comfortable and bathroom clean.

Just a couple of negatives - unfortunately the unit above us appeared to have little or no insulation. We were woken by banging, running, tapping and other noises akin to a heard of elephants at around 2pm in the morning which was alarming.

Also the carpet was not particularly clean beds appear not to be pulled out for vacuuming and on the floor beside our bed there were lots of toenail clippings so their cleaning practices could be better.

One final comment/question - why do motels use strong smelling room freshener. It stinks = this is not very pleasant and causes headaches etc.

Overall we would return again to this property as it was good value and managers pleasant.

Room Tip: Id opt for an upstairs room to avoid noise from guests above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Midget539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.4 mi away
Alpers Lodge
Alpers Lodge
#56 of 66 in Auckland Central
101 reviews
2.2 mi away
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
#34 of 66 in Auckland Central
311 reviews
1.8 mi away
Crown on Cintra Lane
Crown on Cintra Lane
#42 of 66 in Auckland Central
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#36 of 66 in Auckland Central
717 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 66 in Auckland Central
725 reviews
1 mi away
City Towers
City Towers
#39 of 66 in Auckland Central
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland Newmarket Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland Newmarket Motel

Address: 189 Manukau Road, Auckland Central, Auckland 1023, New Zealand (Formerly Jacaranda Motor Inn)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $73 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auckland Newmarket Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Auckland Newmarket Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Newmarket Motel New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing