We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good property just a few glitches”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Auckland Newmarket Motel
Ranked #57 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed for one night last weekend and generally found the property to be of good value. The location was very good close to Newmarket and city. Although close to a busy road we did not notice any road noise at all. The decor was pleasant and relatively up to date, the beds were also comfortable and bathroom clean.

Just a couple of negatives - unfortunately the unit above us appeared to have little or no insulation. We were woken by banging, running, tapping and other noises akin to a heard of elephants at around 2pm in the morning which was alarming.

Also the carpet was not particularly clean beds appear not to be pulled out for vacuuming and on the floor beside our bed there were lots of toenail clippings so their cleaning practices could be better.

One final comment/question - why do motels use strong smelling room freshener. It stinks = this is not very pleasant and causes headaches etc.

Overall we would return again to this property as it was good value and managers pleasant.

Room Tip: Id opt for an upstairs room to avoid noise from guests above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Midget539
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 71 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in January in a luxury unit and overall found it to be very good value for what we needed. Upstairs was a double bed with bathroom with shower and bath. Downstairs was toilet and bathroom with shower, kitchen , and lounge with 2 singles. No toilet upstairs. Stairs were noisy. We had to wake the caretaker when we arrived at 2 am as key was not left under mat as it was supposed to have been, but he sleeps on site and did not seem to mind. The staff were friendly and we felt very comfortable. It is not 5 star, but certainly adequate. I would stay again if needed.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussiecruzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

PROS.
large Clean rooms , close to a bus stop, close to auckland CBD, Rooms have tea and coffee makeing facilities along with toaster, microwave and fridge.Off street parking.
CONS.
No aircon. rooms NOT very well insulated as we could hear traffic noise and noise from the room upstairs. In my case request for later check-out ( 2 hours) was denied. Telephone calls from the room extreamly expensive. 27c per minute. ( normally local calls in new zealand is free)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenny009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were good and location was great, we just had problems with checkin. We had booked and paid online but the confirmation was just not processed by the hotel, which caused stress. The same happened at checkout where we were almost charged again because they lost the paperwork.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Had a studio on ground floor for $89 NZD parking included. Hotel is fine - room was dated but clean and most important, the bed was absolutely divine. Have stayed in 5 star hotels where bed is rock hard and cannot sleep or too soft and cannot sleep and this bed was just perfect. If I don't get a good night's sleep, what's the point?
Shower had good pressure, could hear occasional noise outside but not enough to worry about. Staff were extremely friendly. TV had 9 or ten channels with SKY but only SKY MGM movies and not SKY Movies ( SKY MGM are the older movies). Safe in room plus blowdryer and microwaves, kettle and fridge but a few plates, etc. Room on ground floor overlooks back patio that is shared and also shaded. If you like a room with a nice airy bright sunshine feel to it, this is not the place for you.
Handy to Newmarket and other places on Manukau and Market roads. There's a Chinese restaurant on site that looked popular. Happy to stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HollowVictory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Friendly staff willing to help and very clean place! Everything was great apart from maybe a bit of outside noise. Very convenient location near New Market and Parnell (where there is a great French Market on weekends). There is also a Chinese restaurant out front but we did not try it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banana_warfare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed here as we were attending a conference just along the road. Reception was friendly and efficient, and although the hotel is quite old the bathroom was spotless and in general cleanliness was very good (just a cobweb above the bed!). There is parking on site and shops a little way along the road. Manukau Road is a busy road, so I expected some traffic noise, but the doors are poorly insulated so traffic noise was considerable. I had a ground floor unit, so was also treated to creakings and thumpings every time the people upstairs turned over in their bed or got up, and their "bathroom doings" were also unfortunately clearly audible,as were their conversations. The door was secured by a simple knob lock - as a woman on the ground floor in a motel with easy access from the road, I would have felt safer with extra security such as a chain lock or something I could lock with a key from the inside. We missed breakfast as we hadn't ordered the night before, but no matter - on Sunday morning there was a nice cafe open just along the road!

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nzvegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.4 mi away
Alpers Lodge
Alpers Lodge
#56 of 66 in Auckland Central
101 reviews
2.2 mi away
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
Auckland Rose Park Hotel
#34 of 66 in Auckland Central
308 reviews
1.9 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#36 of 66 in Auckland Central
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Crown on Cintra Lane
Crown on Cintra Lane
#46 of 66 in Auckland Central
100 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 66 in Auckland Central
723 reviews
1 mi away
City Towers
City Towers
#39 of 66 in Auckland Central
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland Newmarket Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland Newmarket Motel

Address: 189 Manukau Road, Auckland Central, Auckland 1023, New Zealand (Formerly Jacaranda Motor Inn)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: $74 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auckland Newmarket Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Auckland Newmarket Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Newmarket Motel New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing