We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disorganised, rude staff - kept adding extra costs over the quoted price!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments
Reviewed December 2, 2013

The building and decor were good, nice and new(ish) and clean. The location was also fine if you don't mind heading straight up a steep hill on your way back from the city.

However, the staff here were completely disorganised - there were never fewer than about four people waiting every time I went to the front desk - the staff were looking for receipts, recoding access cards, all of this whilst moving very slowly. There was plenty of frustrated sighing as everyone waited their turn in the small lobby.

Next, I openly admit I made an error in my original booking, meaning that I needed to add an extra night to my stay when I arrived. To accommodate this, I was moved from the 11th floor to a room on the ground floor, which ended up being very hot and looked out at a brick wall a couple of metres away. I figured this was ok though as I had made the original error and could put up with an average room because of it. I paid $120 more than my original booking amount, went to my room and forgot about it.

Next thing I know, the day before I am supposed to leave, I got two phone calls from the hotel - telling me I had to get my stuff out because I was meant to check out today - I checked my booking documents and told them that no, I was staying another night. I got another phone call back and was told it was their mistake, not to worry, all sorted.

Of course, that wasn't the end of it. When I came to check out the next day I was told I had another $120 to pay 'for the extra night' !!

I was getting pretty frustrated with their lack of organisation by this time, and explained YET AGAIN what had happened (pretty sure I spoke to the same guy every time, but he never seemed to remember). He then insisted I still owed them the $120, and when I checked the bill it was still only dated for the original number of nights. So the receipt hadn't been updated even though I had paid the extra $120 at the start. Another mistake of theirs. Then, he tried telling me that the mistake was that I hadn't been charged the 'surcharge' for staying when Justin Bieber was in town (the very first night of the trip!). And apparently the price for that one night was an extra $120! How convenient and also ridiculous! $240 a night in a room looking at a brick wall with no airconditioning and no cleaning service at all??

He wouldn't back down and was really quite rude about it, so I had to pay ANOTHER $120 more than I was expecting.

Considering that the original price quoted to me on Booking.com was $103 a night, I was really unhappy with this - could have stayed somewhere much better, nicer, with room cleaning, and closer to town for this price!

I would NEVER stay here again!

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor at all costs - airless and hot, views of a brick wall. Terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (587)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

391 - 397 of 587 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013

My daughter and I stayed three nights in early November 2013 I selected superior one bedroom apartment and we were on the 7h floor, . First impressions were of a very clean, well appointed room. No noise to speak of, helped I am sure by being high in the building and away from the street. We had free internet service.The reception staff were very helpfull, and the .carpark reasonable at $20 per night. Location great and handy to the city. I found the bianco to be very good value at a good price and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dantongary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Room was tired, tiny and had no air conditioning. Staff were hard working but I think they were overwhelmed at times making the wait in the lobby far too long.
At the time I booked, looking at the pictures on line, it felt like we got a good deal but after staying there the "cheap" rate was actually about what the room was worth.
Someone had tampered with the smoke alarm, putting a plastic bag over the sensor, I assume so they could smoke in the room. No smell of smoke but it made me uncomfortable that the alarm might not have been working when I noticed it the next day.
Curtains did not fit so light came in early in the morning waking us up.
Lack of WiFi was frustrating.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cameragod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

we have stayed for about 3 weeks in a large 1 bedroom & 2 bathroom apartment on level 10 of the Tetra Waldorf Complex. It was quite good value as we got weekly rtaes and the location was magic- near everywhere when we had to be during our 2 weeks stay.Good security complex and good cheap internet service. The apartment was fully furnished and with reasonable size kitchen.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank g0lden75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Wish we hadn't stayed here. On the map it looked like a good spot (it is) and online it looked like good value (it is not). Poor value for a run-down apartment which was nothing like what was advertised. Extra mystery charges from the Waldorf have appeared on my credit card after we left Auckland - not cool. I don't mind cheap, but I do mind feeling conned and taken for a ride. This was a poor experience. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alfie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfStadium, Manager at Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

We regret the fact that you have not been satisfied with your stay. With regard to the "mystery charge"- as explained on check in it was a security card deposit which will be refunded to your account by your bank- it takes up to 3-4 days for the refund to be recorded in your staement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed here whilst attending a show in central Auckland. For the price you pay, this place is really good value in offering accommodation close to Queen Street with spacious rooms, although the fittings are very basic and alot of the rooms have a view of a stairwell. As long as you're not looking for something fancy, would recommend for space and value.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view (some looks across to the sky tower and harbour bridge), to avoid the bright...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OrangeKiwi14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We made the right choice by staying in Sept 2013 in this lovely place in Auckland Central area.It was very central and within great short access to most of the area that the family wanted to visit. Very modern, secured complex with spacious fully furnished 2 bedroom hotel apartment.We had a reasonable size kitchen, internal laundry, very good WiFi service and great clean accommodation for 4 nights with delicious coffee shop breakfast .in the morning . Very reasonable price for a family of 4 stay in a great location.The hotel staff was very friendly and cooperative

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bargoon00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#36 of 66 in Auckland Central
717 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
998 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 66 in Auckland Central
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#38 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,154 reviews
0.6 mi away
Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments
Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartm...
#59 of 131 in Auckland Central
387 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel
Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Ho...
#12 of 131 in Auckland Central
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments

Address: 85 Wakefield Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 131 Specialty Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: $69 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Tetra offers affordable self-contained apartment accommodation in central Auckland. Located within walking distance to Auckland and AUT Universities it is a great location for students as well as tourists, as all of Auckland CBD's main attractions are easily accessible from the Waldorf Tetra. In room kitchenette's allow guests to self-cater with cutlery and cooking utensils provided in room. Guests can purchase groceries from one of the local markets to cook in-room or enjoy experiencing some of the great fine or casual dining options available throughout Auckland City. Conveniently located on the ground floor of Waldorf Tetra is a cafe serving breakfast Monday to Friday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tetra Waldorf Budget Apartments Hotel Auckland Central
Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing