We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Room was tired, tiny and had no air conditioning. Staff were hard working but I think they were overwhelmed at times making the wait in the lobby far too long.
At the time I booked, looking at the pictures on line, it felt like we got a good deal but after staying there the "cheap" rate was actually about what the room was worth.
Someone had tampered with the smoke alarm, putting a plastic bag over the sensor, I assume so they could smoke in the room. No smell of smoke but it made me uncomfortable that the alarm might not have been working when I noticed it the next day.
Curtains did not fit so light came in early in the morning waking us up.
Lack of WiFi was frustrating.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cameragod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (583)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

389 - 395 of 583 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2013

we have stayed for about 3 weeks in a large 1 bedroom & 2 bathroom apartment on level 10 of the Tetra Waldorf Complex. It was quite good value as we got weekly rtaes and the location was magic- near everywhere when we had to be during our 2 weeks stay.Good security complex and good cheap internet service. The apartment was fully furnished and with reasonable size kitchen.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank g0lden75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Wish we hadn't stayed here. On the map it looked like a good spot (it is) and online it looked like good value (it is not). Poor value for a run-down apartment which was nothing like what was advertised. Extra mystery charges from the Waldorf have appeared on my credit card after we left Auckland - not cool. I don't mind cheap, but I do mind feeling conned and taken for a ride. This was a poor experience. Stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alfie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WaldorfStadium, Manager at Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

We regret the fact that you have not been satisfied with your stay. With regard to the "mystery charge"- as explained on check in it was a security card deposit which will be refunded to your account by your bank- it takes up to 3-4 days for the refund to be recorded in your staement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stayed here whilst attending a show in central Auckland. For the price you pay, this place is really good value in offering accommodation close to Queen Street with spacious rooms, although the fittings are very basic and alot of the rooms have a view of a stairwell. As long as you're not looking for something fancy, would recommend for space and value.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view (some looks across to the sky tower and harbour bridge), to avoid the bright...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OrangeKiwi14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We made the right choice by staying in Sept 2013 in this lovely place in Auckland Central area.It was very central and within great short access to most of the area that the family wanted to visit. Very modern, secured complex with spacious fully furnished 2 bedroom hotel apartment.We had a reasonable size kitchen, internal laundry, very good WiFi service and great clean accommodation for 4 nights with delicious coffee shop breakfast .in the morning . Very reasonable price for a family of 4 stay in a great location.The hotel staff was very friendly and cooperative

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bargoon00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Visited Auckland for a concert and stayed here. When we arrived the receptionist told us our booking had been cancelled which they hadn't been. It was an error of the receptionist as she did not hear the name properly even when given ref number she continued to tell us rooms had been cancelled. After fixing that muck up we got to rooms, they are very small for 4 people, we stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment. Our toilet seat was broken off the toilet, it was clean but very cramped. Not enough towels were provided for our stay and because reception closes at 9pm when we got back to the room we couldn't get more towels. Beds move around but are quite comfortable. The Tv is extremely small. For the ridiculous price we paid for the room, it is definitely not worth it. Also the apartment is at the top of a steep hill so if you don't feel like trooping up a hill everytime you come back from town I wouldn't suggest staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed while attending a concert at Vector Arena.
A bit overpriced for what they are. Small rooms but clean.
Make sure you get in early as no carparking on-site available. Several carparks immediately over the road & were visible from our apartment.
Noise level ok on a Saturday night as no bars or restaurants in close vicinity, which in it self was a minor inconvenience.
The Waldorf Stadium a better option for the additional $$, not likely to stay again unless a last resort.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Haides76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.3 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#36 of 66 in Auckland Central
715 reviews
1.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 66 in Auckland Central
715 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 66 in Auckland Central
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel
Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Ho...
#12 of 131 in Auckland Central
1,283 reviews
0.6 mi away
Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartments
Waldorf Bankside Serviced Apartm...
#60 of 131 in Auckland Central
386 reviews
0.7 mi away
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hotel
Waldorf Celestion Apartment Hote...
#8 of 131 in Auckland Central
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments

Address: 85 Wakefield Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 131 Specialty Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: $68 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Tetra offers affordable self-contained apartment accommodation in central Auckland. Located within walking distance to Auckland and AUT Universities it is a great location for students as well as tourists, as all of Auckland CBD's main attractions are easily accessible from the Waldorf Tetra. In room kitchenette's allow guests to self-cater with cutlery and cooking utensils provided in room. Guests can purchase groceries from one of the local markets to cook in-room or enjoy experiencing some of the great fine or casual dining options available throughout Auckland City. Conveniently located on the ground floor of Waldorf Tetra is a cafe serving breakfast Monday to Friday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tetra Waldorf Budget Apartments Hotel Auckland Central
Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing