We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay not really a budget accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments
Ranked #25 of 114 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Hamilton Island, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great stay not really a budget accommodation”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

we have a nice midweek stay in Tetra Budget apartments in Auckland.It really more than a budget accommodation.The apartment was very moder,clean and with nice fitout. Very clentral Auckalnd City location near Queen Street and the University. Excellent value for the quality and location of the property.There is a very large selection of local well priced restaurants in the street (mainly Asians) and we found that the breakfast in Tetra Restaurant is a very good value as well.We can recommend this hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fardouck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    174
    112
    64
    41
See reviews for
153
162
37
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

we stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment. It was quiet and clean. Great location near Queen Street and other attractions in Auckland.Bus stops are 2minutes away and the central Auckland rail way station is within easy walking distance from the hotel Our apartment is a of nice spacious size. The kitchen is not huge but decent for making meals for a family. . The beds were quite comfortable, one of the better ones I've been on in a hotel..You can elect to have daily or weekly cleaning service we elect the weekly as it reduced the weekly rate.Very good accommodation value for a 2 bedroom apartment hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nonihurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

During my time there, I stayed in a studio apartment. It was quiet and clean. It is located in central Auckland, close to Queen St. There is also a hospital and pharmacy 3 minutes away! Buses stops are minutes away or you can walk to Britomart, the transportation center, within 15 minutes. A studio apartment is a nice size for one, might be a bit tight for two, depending on how friendly the "two" are. The kitchen is very tiny but decent for making small meals, nothing too fancy or requiring too many appliances should be attempted. The bed is quite comfortable, one of the better ones I've been on in a hotel. The only problem was the cleaning schedule. If you happen to be in your room the day they clean then you are out of luck for the week. You have to call to set up a cleaning schedule that suits your timetable the best.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KarKar_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We found the apartment sufficiently spacious but were on the 'ground' floor which is actually one floor beneath the reception. We had a view of the underground car park and the sound of what seemed a ventilator situated outside our apartment running all night. Needless to say, not very much natural daylight got into the apartment. Compared to other serviced apartments, there were less facilities and appliances e.g. no dishwasher, and other services such as laundry were for an extra cost. The apartment was generally in a neat and clean state but I found that some dishes and cooking items were dirty and needed to be cleaned before use. Aside from the ventilator we did not have other problems with noise, and aside from the other issues, no further complaints about the comfort of the apartment. However I feel that we paid too much for what was pretty basic accommodation and certainly less comfortable than other serviced apartments, including budget options.

Room Tip: ask for a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dawlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapiti
Level Contributor
123 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We wanted somewhere cheap, quiet and handy to Queen St and the Airport Express bus stop. Apart from a reasonably steep walk up Wakefield St, Waldorf Tetra fitted the bill. The room was small but had everything you could want, including bathroom en suite, desk and chair, even a tiny kitchen with microwave, kettle, toaster, etc. The apartments are designed for students, but did for a weekend for a couple. The bed was a double, not a queen, which some couples might find too small. The staff were friendly and efficient at check-in and check-out.
No free wifi, which is a disadvantage these days.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swathi-Kota, Manager at Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Fiona B

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. When booking next time please book our 1 bedroom apartment which are very spacious as compared to studio apartment. We are still working on free wifi system.

I look forward to meeting you in near future.

Kind regards

Ajit Gill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed 5 nights in a two bedroom appartment. The living area was really small but I can't complain as no other 2 bedroom apartments were even close in price to tetra Waldorf. The location is excellent - close to everything and there's a convenience store and reasonably priced cafe down stairs.
I had read previous reviews about the cost of parking through the hotel being too expensive, so we parked at the Wilson car park down the road to get the $6 over night rate. What we didn't know was that you had to get your car out before 6am so we ended up paying $46. The next night we parked on the street accross the road (free from 6pm - 8am) but someone smashed the back window and broke into the car. After that we decided to bite the bullet and pay $20 per night for the hotel car parking which was much more convenient because you can come and go as you please.
Internet is only $15 per week which was pretty good.
We will definitely stay here again. We had no issues with noise and the staff were really friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swathi-Kota, Manager at Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Chillisnap

Thank you for you sharing your experince with us. Sorry to hear about extra charges and your car window smashed. Sometimes parking in Auckland CBD can get very diffcult.

We look forward to welcoming again in near future.

Kind regards

Ajit Gill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Normally, I stay at Celestion Waldorf but thought I would give this place a whirl for something different. I had forgotten that this place was geared towards students when I booked it, and so was hesitant when checking into my 1 bedroom apartment.

The apartment was smaller than what I was used to, and the TV was like a big computer screen. But I gave this place 4 stars for the following reasons:

1. It is incredible value for money! There is no way that you could get this kind of value in Australia.

2. Peng at the front desk is really helpful and accommodating.

3. The room had an ensuite bathroom (in addition to the one off the living room) which makes it easy to go to the loo in the middle of the night.

4. Great view of Sky Tower.

5. Surprisingly quiet. Had a great sleep, and even though I stayed a Friday and Saturday night, I never heard a peep at night (they have a zero party policy).

6. Convenience store and cafe downstairs

7. Access to laundry.

8. Proximity to K Rd without having to walk up a hill.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thetimemachine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swathi-Kota, Manager at Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Imabroad

Thank you for your reveiw . Any reveiw we receive helps to make us better.Our team prides itself in its ability to exceed the expectations of our guests and so it is always very encouraging to learn when they do.

We look forward to welcoming you again in near future.

Kind regards

Ajit Gill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.4 mi away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#33 of 67 in Auckland
1,123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 67 in Auckland
678 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bianco off Queen
Bianco off Queen
#60 of 67 in Auckland
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
0.2 mi away
VR Queen Street
VR Queen Street
#20 of 67 in Auckland
544 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waldorf St. Martins Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments

Property: Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments
Address: 85 Wakefield Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 114 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Tetra offers affordable self-contained apartment accommodation in central Auckland. Located within walking distance to Auckland and AUT Universities it is a great location for students as well as tourists, as all of Auckland CBD's main attractions are easily accessible from the Waldorf Tetra. In room kitchenette's allow guests to self-cater with cutlery and cooking utensils provided in room. Guests can purchase groceries from one of the local markets to cook in-room or enjoy experiencing some of the great fine or casual dining options available throughout Auckland City. Conveniently located on the ground floor of Waldorf Tetra is a cafe serving breakfast Monday to Friday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tetra Waldorf Budget Apartments Hotel Auckland Central
Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing