We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waldorf Tetra Serviced Apartments
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Auckland(Auckland Central)
$222
$210
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
SKYCITY Grand Hotel(Auckland Central)
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
CityLife Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$207
$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cordis, Auckland by Langham Hospitality Group(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$136
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
SKYCITY Hotel(Auckland Central)
$125
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Scenic Hotel Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$107
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grand Millennium Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$111
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel DeBrett(Auckland Central)
$193
$182
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$199
$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (619)
Filter reviews
619 results
Traveler rating
170
195
135
71
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
195
135
71
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom apartmentqueen streetwakefield streetbudget accommodationcentral locationauckland cityclose to townground floorlaundry roomconvenience storecar parkingper daysmall kitchenettestayed for nightslounge areasky toweraut
Filter
Updating list...
520 - 525 of 619 reviews
Reviewed April 1, 2011

This will be the last time we ever stay at a Waldorf apartment.

When you arrive, there is no indication where you can park, there is no street parking, so we were in a panic to find out where we could park so we could check in, but we had to take out all our luggage and leave it on the street and then go park in a parkade on another street and then check in.

BTW no one told us we had to pay for parking, so at the end of our stay we were billed $20 a day for parking. WOW how nice! Maybe someone should have told us!

The room we got was in the basement and felt like a prison cell, our window looked into the lower level of a parking garage and was very dark.

The walls are very stark and there is zero ambience in this place. It's like living in an office cubicle, with only the basics, a tiny counter to prepare food and a few pots and dishes. None of which amounted to enough to make a meal for 2 people effectively. It's only good for one person.

You get one towel each and nothing else, no maid service, no new towels, no face cloths... gross.

Oh and there's no night stands so you have to leave anything in the bedroom right there on the floor to step on. Not even a night table? Come on. That's a basic expectation.

I couldn't imagine staying here longer than a day or two, we couldn't wait to leave. It was the worst place we stayed in all of New Zealand and we were at 11 different motels, b&bs and hostels.

It's not particularly convenient to be here or anything either. You still need a car to drive and get some groceries and there's no restaurants nearby.

Oh and the first day we were there the door handle broke in half when we entered the room. That has NEVER happened before, it just broke clean in half and we had to wait until the next day to tell someone because there are limited staff hours.

It's just too much like an office cubicle and not a place for a decent stay in the city. We've been traveling around the world for almost 8 months and few places have disappointed us this much. Next time we'll just stay on the Coromandel coast instead of having to drive out there from Auckland and back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tropicaltravels6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 5, 2011

Thanks for your recent review of Waldorf Tetra.

Please accept our apologies that your stay was not as successful as you had hoped.

We do endeavour to inform drivers both via our website affiliates and our direct confirmations that our parking is off-site and that there is a supplementary cost applicable. To our knowledge there is no site that informs guests that our parking is complimentary.

It sounds like you were housed in one of our new studio apartments on the lower ground floor. These are brand new rooms but they are smaller than the 1- and 2-bedroom apartments available higher up in the hotel. If spacious accommodation is what you are after then we definitely would recommend booking a larger apartment rather than the studios.

Our Tetra property is a budget property but we do have a portfolio of Auckland centre accommodation, including high-end apartments, so we do hope that you would consider an alternative Waldorf property on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

The apartments are really well located, a few minutes' walk from the main Queen St but much quieter. I had a studio apartment which was very comfortable and so sparkling clean that it looks brand new. The owners were really helpful and remembered my name after I met them on the first morning, which makes you feel very welcome.
The studio apartment isn't really set up for lounging around in, no couch or armchairs, so if you plan to spend a lot of time at the hotel then a bigger apartment might work better, but the studio is a good budget option if you're planning to be out most of the day.

Another thing to be aware of - their reception closes around 5 or 6pm so if you're arriving late, make sure you call to get a code to let you in. They may provide this code by email if you book directly through them, but I booked through Hotels.com and didn't get any notification that I'd need a code. I just called them after reading one of the other reviews here. They do provide an on-site number to call, but that could be tricky if you don't have a mobile phone that works in NZ.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank KathrynBMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 5, 2011

Thanks for your recent review of Waldorf Tetra.

Our studio apartments are indeed brand new and we are glad that you found them to be comfortable. You are correct in saying that they are geared more for the nightly stay rather than longer term, simply due to the space restrictions. There are larger 1- and 2-bedroom apartments available for longer stays!

Thanks for your comments regarding the limited reception times. We have endeavoured to inform all of our website affiliates of this and do attempt to either capture an estimated arrival time on booking or contact the guest to determine this prior to arrival. However, some websites do not provide contact details for guests. If in doubt, the best course of action is to contact our reservations team by email and they can advise whether a keysafe entry will be required.

We hope you will return to the Waldorf soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

A very pleasant location, just off the main drag. Units can accommodate a family of 4-5.
Comfy & spacious apartments with all mod cons. Separate living area & kitchen with 2 bathrooms. Auckland is very steep, so any walking will involve a climb up to get home.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank AlanGelder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 5, 2011

Thanks for your recent review of Waldorf Tetra.

We are delighted that you found the apartments to be conveniently located, comfy & spacious.

We look forward to welcoming you back to a Waldorf soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

The only question I have is why the complex is called "budget"!!! I stayed in few Auckland "4 star" accommodation eg Bianco in the past which are not as good and qulaity as Tetra "budget" apartments!!. I stayed in a newly built/refurbished ,modern studio apartment with A/C, nice kitchen ( there is a communal laundry in the complex) for a week for a bargain rate of abour $70 per night ( maybe that why they calls it budget). Very secured and well managed complex with great on site staff that went all the way to assist me. Good & cheap internet service- only $15 per week!. The full breakfast in the cafe was good and chaep- less than $10. Great value and quality in Auckland not to mention the greal centrall location!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank grath99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 5, 2011

Thank you for your recent review of Waldorf Tetra.

We are pleased that you found the apartment quality, facilities and services to be of good quality for the price paid.

Tetra is classed as budget mainly due to the limited reception service hours so we are naturally pleased that you would rate it higher than some city centre competitors who are of higher star rating!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2011

We have a modern Studio hotel apartment on the ground floor of Tetra Budget serviced apartments.The apartment was small but with good design, very modern ,clean and quite suitable for a couple.It has A/C, haeting and the kitchen is fine for 2 persons stay,We loved the location as it was only 4-6 minutes walk to Queen Street main area. The on site coffee shop provides reasonably priced meal and there are quite a lot of othe coffee sops & restaurants within minutes away. The daily rate (NZ$100) was good and the internet high speed service good A& cheap

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank glas8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 5, 2011

Many thanks for your review of Waldorf Tetra.

We are so pleased that you found the accommodation to be value for money. We feel that our new studio apartments are ideal for a city centre stopover so we are very happy that you thought so too!

We hope to welcome you back to Tetra soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews