We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, but noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barclay Suites Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Tulsa OK
Level Contributor
90 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Convenient, but noisy”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

As many other have mentioned, this hotel is very convenient to everything in downtown Auckland but is also apparently right in the middle of action on weekend nights. I only spend one night here, a Saturday night, and the drunks and noise from outside was constant and loud from midnight until 5am. I had a room on the 5th floor, so higher floors might be better. But I was surprised at how loud and drunk the people outside were all night, even with the windows closed. The room itself was quite nice; clean, with plenty of hot water, with great water pressure. I got the room thru Orbitz, and had supposedly free internet, but they limited it to 200mb. Now a days, you can use that up easily. I had parked my car right next door in a Wilson car park, and it was only $9 for the night. I left early so not sure if that rate goes well into the morning. There was only one person at the reception, and while competent, he was quite busy, and could easily become overwhelmed if more than one group had problems. The reception area itself was very small, adjacent to the elevators. As others have mentioned, getting out of the elevator the concrete walls seems to give a somewhat cold feeling, but again, the rooms were fine. Being on the 5th floor, I had only a view of other buildings and courtyard. I cannot blame the hotel for the noise outside, but it did tend to harm my short experience here. Not sure if the noise is as bad during the week, but surely be prepared for it if you stay on weekends. Otherwise, for what the hotel charged me thru Orbitz, I was pleased with my stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gsx1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback gsx1990

I am pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Barclay Suites is located in the Heart of Auckland city close to everything eg Sky Tower Restaurants, Bars and Public Transport. We do experience the inner city public street noise, however this is out of our control and we are working with local council to get this reduced.

I look forward to welcoming you back in Auckland.

Regards
Franz Staufer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    239
    117
    41
    13
See reviews for
146
225
30
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed here for business. Very close to everything. 200m from Sky City. Had to pay for Wifi, so this is a negative. Several very nice local pubs and restaurants that have free wifi, but are not in range to access from Hotel. The rooms have cooking facilities if you are into cooking while on business/holidays. Elevators slow and the hallways between floors still have cemented walls, like going into a carpark. talking about carpark, no parking at hotel. Wilson parking nearby for $30 a night, quite expensive if you stay 4-5 nights. Rooms are comfortable and clean. Not too sure if it had air conditioning as we used the oil heater in the room as it was one of Auckland's coldest May @ 11 degrees.
Other than that, very central and not bad for the price. ***1/2 to ****

Room Tip: Choose a high floor (I stayed on top floor 2503), very nice view of the harbour and SkyCity Tower. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback Henry R

I am pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay with us.

All Barclay Suites have great views of the City or the Waitemata Harbour especially from your suite on the 25th Floor.

Barclay Suites is located in the Heart of Auckland city close to everything eg Sky Tower Restaurants, Bars and Public Transport.

I look forward to welcoming you back in Auckland.

Regards
Franz Staufer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed at the Barclay during a visit to Auckland to see a concert at the Vector, It was better than expected the room was spacious and clean, with a nice kitchen and lounge area and king bed .The Staff were good and parking was a breeze as they have a deal with Wilson parking for 24 hr parking for $32.00 . It was an easy walk to the Vector and we would stay again , give it a go.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback Angela H

I am pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay with us!

All Barclay Suites is suited for all occasion whether you are going to a concert, shopping or just a night out.

Barclay Suites is located in the Heart of Auckland city close to everything eg Sky Tower Restaurants, Bars and Public Transport.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Barclay Suites on your next trip to Auckland.

Regards
Franz Staufer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South UK
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

We flew into Auckland from Vancouver, a 14 hour overnight flight, arriving at 5am. We booked an additional night so that we could get a room rather than wait for the 3pm check in time. Good move. The room was a self contained flat with fully fitted kitchen, lounge/diner, bathroom with washer dryer, everything the traveller could need. We had lots of sleep to catch up on before moving on with a hired campervan. This enabled us to really chill out, catch up with our domestics. The Suites are situated centrally in Auckland so everything is within easy walking distance. The staff are friendly and helpful. Areally good place to stay, highly recommended for small families, they do two bedroom suites, or two couples.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback MikeyboySouthUK


I am happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us!

As you have mentioned we are located in the heart of Auckland City close to attractions

With a short walk to restaurant and Bars.

Yes we do have spacious well equipped 1 or 2 bedroom suites

I look forward to welcoming you back to Barclay Suites, next time you are down under from the UK

Regards
Franz Staufer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Arrived a couple of days ago, the guy on reception was brilliant and he allowed us to check in a little early.Great customer service :-) We'd booked thru Wotif and got a fairly good rate.

Our apartment was on level 2 but still got a small view of the sky tower but not much else. Apartment was spacious, clean and modern.

Night time wasn't so good. We arrived back after our night out (just after midnight) and a council truck was parked across the road for over an hour with it's engine revving and lights flashing so even though we'd closed the blinds the noise and light made it impossible to sleep.

I know this was out of the hotels control and the hotel is located in the middle of a large city but I feel black out curtains and double glazing at least would have helped.
So consequently got very little sleep which spoils the experience a little.

Otherwise, good location, nice apartments, good price and good service - just bring your earplugs and eye masks!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shoesandhandbags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Thank you for your feedback Shoes and handbags

Barclay Suites appreciates all guests’ feedback.

We have addressed your concerns during your stay.

Thank you for staying at Barclay Suites, We hope to see you again on your next visit to Auckland

Regards
Franz Staufer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2227
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Very clean and well equipped apartment,parking is reasonably close,comfortable beds, and all staff we encountered were friendly and helpful.This is a central city location so comes with advantages and disadvantages of down town city location. We asked to move from the third floor because it was too near the main street.The 19th floor was much quieter and we loved the spectacular views from the harbour one way to the lit up Sky Tower the other way.Reception staff went out of their way to help us,great service and nice guys.

Room Tip: Avoid the third floor unless you are a night owl.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mama2227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback mama2227

I am happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us!

As you have mentioned we are located in the heart of Auckland City close to attractions, sky tower, restaurant and Bars, and with our spacious well equipped suites and our friendly team who are always here to look after you.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Barclay Suites

Regards
Franz Staufer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
92 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

On the last destination in NZ, we stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. On the first night, we got high floor, which offered nice view but my friend could not sleep because of outdoor noise. The next morning we asked to change the room and the receptionist in charge, Brad, was so friendly and helpful. We moved to other side and lower floor, it was perfect. On the same day, the parking gate was out of order and we could not take our car out. Brad was again very helpful and efficient, the technician came not long after he called. The hotel location is really great, very close to the Sky Tower. Overall it was a great experience in Auckland.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mangkoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for your feedback Mangkoe

I am pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you experienced excellent customer service from one of our Suite Ambassador Brad.

All Barclay Suites have great views of the City or the Waitemata Harbour. I thank you for sharing your great photos.

Barclay Suites is located in the Heart of Auckland city close to everything eg Sky Tower Restaurants, Bars and Public Transport.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip down under from Bangkok.

Regards
Franz Staufer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,231 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland
1,746 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#15 of 67 in Auckland
2,025 reviews
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barclay Suites Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barclay Suites Auckland

Property: Barclay Suites Auckland
Address: 74 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 114 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barclay Suites Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Qualmark 4.5 star rated Barlcay Suites Auckland is only 100 metres from Queen St, in the heart of the CBD - and look out for fresh new suite decor in 2014! With an average of 50 sq metres per suite, there are 110 one or two bedroom configurations to choose from. Each suite is fitted with contemporary furnishings, quality kitchen and laundry appliances along with full self catering facilities. A special feature in all two bedroom suites is the inclusion of two bathrooms. We have thought of everything for your stay - flat screen TV, SKY TV, broadband internet access (fee applies), stereo with iPod/MP3 playout to name just a few of our features. Enjoy the sparkle of the Waitemata Harbour from our Harbour View suites or enjoy the fast pace of the city in our CBD View suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barclay Suites Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chifley Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Barclay Suites Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing