We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish rooms with a great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barclay Suites Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Stylish rooms with a great location!”
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is slightly worn but still clean and with very nicely designed rooms. There is a kitchen area and table. This is more of an apartment rental than a hotel. Directly outside are several cafés, restaurants and small convinience stores (dairys). WiFi costs extra but you will get it free at most cafés. Just ask.
It is extremely centrally located and only a few minutes walk down to the harbor. Only 2 blocks from the "Sky Tower".
We stayed in a harborview room on the 24th floor (of 25) and the view was beautiful!
Friendly and helpful staff. Definately worth the money!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D_Julio_Stockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for your feedback d_ julio _ Stockholm,

We are currently going through a soft refurbishment of Barclay Suites with our rebranding.

Barclay Suites are fully self contained as you have mentioned ....and is centrally located in the Heart of Auckland City just minutes away from all local attractions, bars and restaurants.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Barclay Suites

Kind Regards
Franz Staufer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    239
    117
    41
    13
See reviews for
146
225
30
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Now Barclay Suites, its previous incarnation, Chifley Suites, looks like a down market hole in the wall, but.... its anything but.
Always clean, modern, a kitchen, complete with stove, oven, fridge and washer dryer. Perfect.
It's a great place for central Auckland. Everything you need is local, and you can walk to great coffee and food places in 5 minutes. Queen street is just down the hill. The ferry terminal, and the central park are only a little further. Perfectly central.
We always try to get the top floor rooms as there are fantastic harbour views.
OK, so you need to pay for wi-fi, but the friendly desk guy gave me a "try out" pass for 24 hours (it's by individual computer/ tablet by the way).
Friday nights can be a bit rowdy on the main streets beneath, but thats because we leave the huge windows open.
The coffee bar next door is also a memorable experience, but then all coffee in New Zealand is a memorable experience.

Room Tip: after you have book (by whatever means), call the desk and ask for the top floor with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Batsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for your feedback batsmith,

Great to hear that you always stay here with us! And we would like to continue that .....

As you have mentioned we do try our best to have it all....
"Always clean, modern, a kitchen, complete with stove, oven, fridge and washer dryer, central Auckland and Queen street is just down the hill. The ferry terminal, and the central park are only a little further perfectly central"

Thank you batsmith

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Franz Staufer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We had a two bedroom apartment on the 23rd floor, with two bathrooms, so this was excellent for two couples. Room was clean and had everything we needed. Only one hairdryer in the main bathroom and reception were very helpful and delivered a second one without any problems. Only complaint we would have was the noise from bars/nightclubs on the street. It was very warm and with no air con we had the balcony door open for some air and the noise got a bit much at 3 in the morning. Easy walk to the Viaduct, Sky City and Queen Street. Checking in and out was smooth.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CazzNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for your feedback CazzNZ,

I am very happy to read that your recent stay with us was a positive one!

All our suites are equipped with free standing pedestal fans to assist with those hot summers evenings, there are extra fans available on request from housekeeping.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Barclay Suites

Kind Regards
Franz Staufer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stayed here at "Chifley Suites" for 2 days upon arrival and again another day prior to us leaving... Stayed on the 22nd & 24th floors and no problems with noise at all...visited Feb..2013...(forgot to write the review )
We arrived an hr before check-in and they gladly showed us to our room, l didn't pay for a harbour view, but asked if they could give us a room with one and also the sky tower, which they gladly did at no extra cost... (it was only partly harbour) but still they didn't mind.

The one-bedroom apartment we stayed in on arrival was very clean and spacious & modern everything was spotless as you can see from the photos posted, as was the 2 bedroom apt. on departure (we were upgraded at no extra charge as they didn't have any one bedroom available ) the only thing is it has a small balcony, not very wide, but it was more than enough for us to sit and relax , have a drink and enjoy the view at the end of the day or morning coffee.

The staff were great and very helpful, in directions; advising us on place we might want to see , or buses to use
l didn't know how to use the washer/ dryer in the apartment and they were happy to come to our room to show us.

In a great location, not very steep area (Auckland is very hilly ) easily walk to the central shops and restaurants, they is a great indian restaurant ( see another review ) only a few metres from the apartment, and within walking distance to the skytower, casino and the waterfront...

Would gladly stay here again if in Auckland...

Room Tip: don't be shy to ask for a room on a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank toycp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank You for your feedback Aussiecarmen,

Great to read that your stay was positive and relaxing one.

As you have experienced we pride ourselves on our Team, spacious, fully contained and spotless 1 and 2 bedroom suites situated in the heart of Auckland City.

It is great to read that you would stay again.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest Regards
Franz Staufer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

The main thing to know, which I wish I'd known when booking this hotel, is that there is no a/c at all in any room in the building.

The staff are nice, the location is great, the rooms are fine (although no tissues? Very odd), and the view is excellent, but the afternoon sun makes the room incredibly hot. It's also a very noisy street, so you will be woken up ~5:30am if you sleep with the windows open.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank AnotherTraveller12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for your feedback Vision4bg,

Barclay Suites prides itself as you have mentioned "The staff are nice, the location is great" as

Barclay Suites is located in the heart of Auckland City, We do have the usual public/traffic/street noise, as we are 4 minutes walk to Queen Street and 9 minutes walk to the restaurant/bar hub viaduct harbour.

All our suites are fully equipped with pedestal fans and extra fans are available on request.

Kind Regards
Franz Staufer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

When we arrived, there was a dirty towel left behind the bedroom door. We informed the front desk that evening, and for 2 consecutive days before the towel was finally removed. The last time I spoke to the guy on the desk about the towel, he reminded me that we were getting a discounted price on the room. What a deal! We cancelled our last night and found a better place.

Room Tip: I'm sure you can find a better place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julianne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you Julianne T for your feedback,

I do apologise for your recent stay with us.

I can assure you that this is well below our housekeeping standards.

All of our housekeeping team will be retrained to ensure that this doe's not happen again.

Kind Regards
Franz Staufer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Great location and nice suites for 2 couples had everything we needed. My only complaint is that the room 301( do not accept this room) was next to a bank of air conditioners and was extremely noisey also lights from nearby parking shown straight in window all night. We did get a good deal on price but I think this room should be left to storage or something. Should have asked for change but had so much luggage and no trolley we couldn't be bothered. As I said good deal but was paid in sept. And we didn't travel til end February so interest should have covered one more floor up haha staff friendly clean and comfortable just check room first

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chrissie592281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarclaySuitesGM, General Manager at Barclay Suites Auckland, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Good Day Chrissie,

Thank you for your feedback.

My team here at Barclay Suites are always here to assist our guests! If we were advised of the outside noise etc.... we would have accommodated your request for a higher floor.

Chrissie as you have mentioned we pride ourselves on our staff who are friendly, our Suites are clean and comfortable thank you for your feedback.

I do look forward to have you stay with us again.

Regards
Franz Staufer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.1 mi away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#8 of 67 in Auckland
1,233 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Heritage Auckland
Heritage Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland
1,747 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rydges Auckland
Rydges Auckland
#15 of 67 in Auckland
2,026 reviews
0.2 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 67 in Auckland
2,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barclay Suites Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barclay Suites Auckland

Property: Barclay Suites Auckland
Address: 74 Albert Street, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 114 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Barclay Suites Auckland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Qualmark 4.5 star rated Barlcay Suites Auckland is only 100 metres from Queen St, in the heart of the CBD - and look out for fresh new suite decor in 2014! With an average of 50 sq metres per suite, there are 110 one or two bedroom configurations to choose from. Each suite is fitted with contemporary furnishings, quality kitchen and laundry appliances along with full self catering facilities. A special feature in all two bedroom suites is the inclusion of two bathrooms. We have thought of everything for your stay - flat screen TV, SKY TV, broadband internet access (fee applies), stereo with iPod/MP3 playout to name just a few of our features. Enjoy the sparkle of the Waitemata Harbour from our Harbour View suites or enjoy the fast pace of the city in our CBD View suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Barclay Suites Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chifley Suites Auckland Hotel Auckland Central
Barclay Suites Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing