We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit tatty but comfortable, friendly and very good value”
Review of Yaping House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yaping House
Reviewed February 7, 2014

I started and ended my trip to New Zealand at the Yaping. It's located in a large, rambling house with a lovely view over the city. The house is a bit tatty, in need of redecorating, but perfectly comfortable. The owners are friendly and helpful - they even greeted me with a Christmas present! I slept well in a comfortable bed with no noise from other rooms. Only $36 - an absolute bargain. I'd certainly stay there next time I'm in Auckland.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank D8077SFrichardG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (12)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 12 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

By far the worse place I have ever stayed at in my life way overdue a overhaul in every way ...the toilet was disgusting it was never clean although the other guests were mainly to fault but at the same time the management should of cleaned on a more regular basis and if someone had the washing machine on u had a cold shower the kitchen I can't comment on because I wouldn't use it just passed thru on the way to the washing machine which also wasn't anything to write home about ,the bedroom was crowded with useless furniture and the bed was like nothing I have ever slept in I didn't have a decent nights sleep in the two weeks I stayed there, the only good point was the view from the front door over the city ..... In a word hellhole !!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PNMaher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a few weeks to save a bit if money. Mount Eden is nice and quiet and only a 20 min bus ride into town. Nice walk up the old volcano behind the hostel.

If your in any way fussy you won't like this place, if your happy to make do on a budget then you'll be fine.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunseekers_774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

This place is a long way from Auckland central as stated. Good views and nice English guy on desk. But thats all the good I can say about it. This place has heaps of potential but badly run down. Cockroaches ,mice etc, damp rooms. No heating, when heating is requested as has been done by various guests they are ignored. People sit in lounge in sleeping bags and blankets. Kitchen is totally inadequate and dirty. Bathrooms had band aid plasters in the shower for a several days. Chinese lady owner is very loud as are all her relatives ,is only interested in making money. Place has deteriorated very badly, a shame.

Room Tip: Avoid as things are at present.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kengisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Stayed here with my partner late oct.11. Would not recommend this place to anyone. Cockroaches, rats mice etc. Thin walls where you can hear everything in the next room. Dirty place . Run by Chinese woman a control freak who isnt interested in your complaints. A rude obnoxious person. English guy on desk a pleasant man but thats the only positive apart from the view. Very very noisy.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Albie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights. We were biding time until flying out of Auckland and had run out of steam to keep exploring after 8 months on the road. So, we wouldn't have stayed that long if we were just passing through.

We negotiated a deal over the phone based on the booking deals on one of the hostel booking sites. It was $50/night for the private room. The room was large with a large (but uncomfortable) bed, a single bed, a desk and a wardrobe. The ceilings were very high and the doors opened up to a little sitting area. We were on the first floor, right across from the kitchen. Most of the rooms here seem to be laid out differently as it's an old house that's been made into a hostel.

The building could use some updates (there were cracks in the ceiling/wall of our room). There was lots of fridge space which is rare. The kitchen itself is small for the number of rooms though. The cookware is limited. They do respond quickly to complaints - the toaster broke during our stay and nobody had brought it to their attention for a couple days but when I mentioned it they got a new one within a few hours.

The view of the city is neat because the place is situated on the side of Mt. Eden. You can walk down to the Mt. Eden shops within 15 minutes and over to Newmarket within 30 minutes. There was a bus nearby but we usually drove our car or walked. The parking is off the street, right in front of the hostel. There was usually enough space for all guests.

There is a TV and a free desktop computer hooked up to internet. There is also wireless internet for free which worked from our room (bonus!) but typically just worked in the common area and the front porch from what we were told. The showers were clean enough but could have used some shelves and more hooks/shelves for clothing.

The main owner/manager fellow is very helpful if you need local advice and they provided a map with the hostel marked on it to help. The area was very quiet at night and it just depended on the other guests for the noise in the hostel. I asked people to turn down music as it was late and I didn't want to bother the staff. Not sure if they would have minded though.

There are washing machines and lots of clotheslines. We preferred this hostel to the Bamber House which we stayed in a couple years ago. Mostly because this was a better price and we didn't get much better digs for the higher cost at the Bamber.

Overall, if we had to stay in Auckland we might return if we were on a budget trip again.

Room Tip: The one near the kitchen for good wireless signal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teamBCtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2011

positive,free internet(when works,not if more than 8 people connected at same time).
is a quiet neighbourghhood,and have a free car park,David the co owner is a nice guy that will help you on everything.
negative,safety,3 guys were stolen during my stay,one maori guy was blamed,i´m not sure was him.
Noise,if u plan to take a rest there forget it,the other owner is entering at any time on the rooms making lots of noise,and able to wake you up at 7 in the morning to make the payment,even u paid 1 week in advance.
good for saving money and having internet,not recommend for more than 2 days,quite dirty.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maresdaterra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
2.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
#2 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,930 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#36 of 66 in Auckland Central
716 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 66 in Auckland Central
723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
SKYCITY Grand Hotel
#4 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,580 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#5 of 66 in Auckland Central
2,389 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cordis, Auckland
Cordis, Auckland
#6 of 66 in Auckland Central
4,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yaping House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yaping House

Address: 79 Owens Road, Auckland Central, Auckland 1023, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 131 Specialty Lodging in Auckland Central
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Yaping House Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing