We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stopover”
Review of Off Broadway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Off Broadway Motel
Ranked #25 of 118 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
hamz
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“stopover”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

we stayed overnight with no hassles at all! they were considerate enough to provide us with an extra mattress for a fourth person traveling with us.
the bathroom was big and very clean. i like the idea of the shampoo and soap dispenser - so that people don't take them home afterwards. the beds were comfortable and the heater worked! some of the extra linens weren't clean though and we could hear the heavy footsteps of the upstairs guests and the noisy tele from the room next to ours. but otherwise we had a goodnights sleep!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ela1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    29
    20
    4
    5
See reviews for
20
27
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Badulla, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed for two weeks at this excellent motel in New market while on a holiday to New Zealand. Great friendly service with all the facilities for a unforgettable stay with your family. Big family rooms were spotlessly clean and well maintained with a mini bar, microwave and other essentials for a comfortable stay. Our host Germaine looked into all our needs and went the extra yard to make our holiday a memorable one.

Rohan De Silva

Room Tip: Check the family rooms in the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rohan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights. Arrived to a friendly receptionist and a complimentary upgrade to a big room on the top floor. Neat and clean, and well maintained apart from some water damage to the ceiling in the bathroom. Excellent shower and the bed was really comfortable. We chose this motel for location. A bit of traffic noise during the night but not too bad considering its on Alpers Ave. Noisy fridge didn't help either but apart from that it was a good deal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lazzaNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We stayed here just for one night, while attending a wedding reception very close by at Highwic House. Our room was a decent size, spotlessly clean and we had a nice comfy bed. We were on the second floor found it very quiet. The shower was powerful and the room and bathroom had everything we needed, including a microwave and, amazingly, a foot spa, which we didn't have time to use! The staff were friendly and helpful and the location was perfect - just a short stroll from shops and cafes on Broadway, Newmarket. We thought this motel was excellent value for money and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We asked for a "quiet room" when we booked on line, and that's certainly what we got...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fabtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

I stayed at the Off Broadway for 5 nights in a large studio by myself. The accommodation was fine, although I felt it was far from 4 star.

Although I expected traffic noise, I did not expect to hear the people talking and their tv on in the next rooms. I was also aware of the person above me walking around their apartment, unfortunately this person was an insomniac and I was awoken hourly from 0200 most nights. I also had a small fridge in the room which was particularly noisy clunking on and off all night.

The bed was comfortable, the bathroom clean, although there was a overpowering cleaning product smell every evening I came home along with exterior windows open, making me feel there may have been a sewage problem.
One of the reasons I chose this accommodation over others in the area (and there are a few options) was their claim to having gym facilities. These facilities were far from adequate, it was a small dark room with equipment that did not work at all. I ended up taking strolls around the city.
There is no restaurant and breakfast is overpriced.
Good location close to Newmarket.
I was staying by myself so $157 a night was expensive but as the room slept 3 it could be good value for groups.
Reception staff were friendly.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 11!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marewa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed for three days at the Off Broadway motel. It is conviniently situated in a central new market area close to the shops and restaurents. The rooms were large and clean and the managment was friendly, hospitable, and looked after us very well. We had a viriety of choices for breakfast with adequate portions. Would recommend this motel as value for money stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lalith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed one night in June 2011. We got stuck in Auckland due to change in flight schedule so tried one of the hotel mentioned by Lonely Planet. However, we were disappointed because:
1. The heater was out of order! The staff gave us a portable heater and it's brand new! I don't know whether that implied that they were so aware of the situation.
2. I suspect that the floor slab is too thin! Throughout the night, we could be able to listen the footstep and TV sounds from the units on the upper floor. As we have to leave the hotel by 4am in next morning, you can imagine what a sleepless bad night we had got.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank weslau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auckland
1.0 mi away
The Devereux Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Alpers Lodge
Alpers Lodge
#56 of 67 in Auckland
91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Suites Alexander Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quest Newmarket Serviced Apartments
0.6 mi away
Best Western Newmarket Inn & Suites
2.1 mi away
Greenlane Manor Motel
Greenlane Manor Motel
#2 of 8 in Greenlane
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Off Broadway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Off Broadway Motel

Property: Off Broadway Motel
Address: 11 Alpers Avenue | Newmarket, Auckland 1023, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 118 Specialty Lodging in Auckland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Off Broadway Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star Qualmark rated Apartment Style Accommodation with up to date facilities available in central Auckland Newmarket area. Simply the best location for travelers/business professionals. Fully serviced rooms with private balcony’s, Air-Conditioned comfort with lovely cotton duvets and neutral decor. Wireless broadband and Lan Broadband connection available to all guests. Large Studios with lots of space with private balconies. Bathrooms with bath (shower over). Queen-size bed and King single bed. Small Studios with a queen bed also available. Off Broadway Motel is the nearest Motel to Newmarket shops, cafes, bars, Olympic heated pool, spa, sauna, steam room, Mercy, Starship Hospital and gymnasium. 15 Minutes to Silvia Park Shopping centre, 3km to Auckland CBD and casino, 3.5km to Vector Arena and 3km to ASB Showgrounds. 16km to airport and Rainbows End Amusement park. 8km to Kelly Tarlton’s Underwater World. Close to Parnell and Remuera shopping centres, Ellerslie and Alexandra Park racecourses, university, showgrounds and major Auckland hospitals. On Auckland’s bus route, 3 km to EDEN PARK rugby & Cricket venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Off Broadway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Off Broadway Motel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing